We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for getting away from it all”
Review of Wingrove House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wingrove House
Ranked #1 of 6 Alfriston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect for getting away from it all”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at this wonderful B & B. We arrived early but Nick showed us straight to our room. A lovely room with a view of the grounds and facing out to the South Downs, the room also had a balcony which we made good use of, there was even a heater in case it got chilly.
The hotel is on the edge of the town and a perfect location for peace and quiet. Breakfast is served in the restaurant either inside or out and we chose to sit outside the first morning. There is a wide selection to choose from, fresh fruit, croissants, cereal, yogurts, and of course a full English breakfast. We could see the Church and the green and people out enjoying the sunshine, even a family out early enjoying a game of cricket. The whole feel of the place was one of a "village" with a really community spirit.
After breakfast we were off on a walk when Nick appeared and offered us fresh fruit and water for our adventure which we accepted.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening and had the three course meal. Delicious freshly prepared food. So good that we decided to eat in again the second night.
The décor throughout has been carefully chosen and is a little dark and masculine for my taste but all works well. I would definitely recommend this hotel especially if you need to get away from it all and just relax. I'm sure we will return.
Thanks to Nick and his staff for making our weekend so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Have a room with a balcony, its definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    37
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
167
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

The other reviews have said it all. Nick is a great host and is backed up by very willing and capable staff. The food is delightful, authentic and local, stylish but not fussy. The setting is lovely and it's very easy to feel at home right away. Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is the second time we have visited and both times we have been impressed by this friendly and quality small hotel set on the edge of the charming village of Alfriston

Our double aspect room had a view over the very english village green with its gothic church facing us. The guestroom was large and decorated in a sumptuous modern manner, if a little on the masculine side. The room is well fitted out with quality furniture. The bathroom was good if not fully thought out, with things not always placed handily (a fault in many smaller individually owned hotels). The fan was very loud and lasted a long time.

The owner is obviously interested in giving the very best for his guests and has incorporated innovations which may delight or annoy such as the internal wooden horizontal shutters instead of curtains. He has gone for all singing, all dancing TV, DVD and satellite equipment. The installer geek may know how to operate the three controls in tandem but we couldn't, nor could the young girl at the desk who came straight up that evening to help and nor could the owner next morning. Hopefully the installer who arrived the following morning as we left could sort it out. To us this didn't matter, as who wants to watch TV or a DVD when you have the delightful village and surrounding area to enjoy?

This time we didn't use the restaurant as we had had a meal at nearby Glyndebourne (very convenient if you do not want to travel back to London in the evening after the Opera). We remember our first meal as being very good. The breakfast was more than excellent.

The owner is happy to spend time chatting and gives excellent advice of places to visit, drink and eat. A walk across the water meadows is a must and you have so much to visit including nearby Charleston. Do not miss the nearby church at Berwick where Vanessa Bell and Duncan Grant painted the whole of the inside with murals. Wonderful hidden gem.

This is the sort of hotel you love and easily forgive its idiosyncrasies for the joy of its quality and location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just back from a lovely weekend. We had room 2 and it was spacious, quiet, with lovely views and a very spacious bath. The staff were lovely, the food excellent, the wine reasonable, and the location brilliant.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad one, we had a sneaky look in the rooms that had been cleaned and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stormy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

What a gem - Everything was perfect, the room dinner in the evening and breakfast. Everything was done for the guests comfort - there was even a heater and comfortable chairs on the balcony. It was spotlessly clean, beautifully maintained, the owner and staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This old colonial-style guesthouse/hotel (only six rooms) in the gently rolling Sussex downs provides a wonderfully friendly and comfortable stay. Situated in the medieval village of Alfriston - a picturesque place of tearooms, restaurants and guesthouses in ancient buildings that lean precariously over the winding narrow main street. The owner, a local man, is present most of the time as a genial and ever-helpful host, conducting his young staff like someone who has invited you to stay in his country house for the weekend. Altogether a charming experience.

Room Tip: We would have preferred a room with a verandah, but ours had a good view of village green and the ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biblioswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The most comfortable, luxurious and individual house that I have come across to stay in; the rooms and restaurant are fabulous and there is a beautifully kept garden. The staff are extremely accommodating and Nick Denyer ensures that the high standards are maintaned throughout. Even in this cool summer they take the trouble to light the wood burner in the sitting room.

No big screen 'lounges' or hostess trolleys here, thank goodness...

We can't wait to return.

Sinclair

Room Tip: Book well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinclair12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
219 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
804 reviews
6.6 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
987 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingrove House

Property: Wingrove House
Address: High Street, Alfriston BN26 5TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Alfriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingrove House. Originally built as a family home in the mid 19th century, this recently refurbished colonial-style house offers restaurant and rooms within a relaxed and stylish destination in the beautiful and historic village of Alfriston, East Sussex. Run by a small team, offering a personal and friendly service, with airy verandas, candlelit bar and brasserie and pretty rooms, it's a real antidote to the rush and bustle, yet just over an hour from London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wingrove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingrove House Hotel Alfriston
Wingrove Hotel East Sussex
Wingrove House Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing