We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wingrove House
Nearby Hotels
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
212
45
11
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
45
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolonial stylesouth downspretty villagequaint villagedouble aspectfresh fruit saladfillet steakpre dinner drinksopen firereceived a very warm welcomeovernight staylocal producelounge areasmoked salmoncooked to perfectioncooked breakfastbeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Fed up with Indian and Chinese meals for celebrations. Wanted somewhere with a bit of class and quality We found it at this lovely, restful place. Food was very good, highly recommend the cheese cake. Service was helpful and not intrusive. £35 for a three course meal with coffee. Well worth it..

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank l0l60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saci B, Public Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Brilliant review, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a small romantic hotel to stay at for our 9th wedding anniversary and came across Wingrove House whilst trawling the internet. What a great find! On arrival we were given a warm welcome, some information about the village and local area and shown to our room which was on the top floor. The bedroom and bathroom were lovely-a super kingsize bed, stand-alone bath and large monsoon shower (with lovely Temple Spa products). We had a pre dinner drink in the lovely 'snug' area in the hotel and ate dinner in the hotel restaurant. The food was delicious and very reasonable. 2 glasses of champagne, a quality bottle of wine and a very tasty 3 course meal with coffee/tea cost £100. We had a great night's sleep in the comfy bed and it was very quiet (rarely can I say that when staying in a hotel). Breakfast was superb! All the food for breakfast (and dinner) is sourced locally and included everything you could think of! The village is very picturesque and definitely worth a wander around. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and will definitely return.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jodiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saci B, Public Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

I think your title "delightful stay" sums up your time with us well. We are very grateful you chose us out of others to spend your special day at and even better to hear every bit of it was up to a high standard. Thank you for the review, we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Two of us stayed here half way through a walk along the South Downs Way and it was perfect. Didn't bat an eye when we showed up soaked and muddy, very friendly welcome. The room was pretty, clean and bright with a lovely bathroom. There's a really nice terrace to have a drink before dinner (amazing gin selection) and the restaurant is stylish with a great fireplace. Food was really excellent and reasonably priced. Breakfast was amazing, the staff were all friendly. And Alfriston is a charming town with some great country pubs (we liked the George best). Recommended! Would love to go back

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank windupbird2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saci B, Public Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Oh wow sounds like your stay was as charming as the village is! Great to hear you enjoyed yourselves, we look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the near future. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Stayed for two nights last week to celebrate my wife's birthday. The balcony room was lovely and the whole house had a nice feel to it. The staff were very thoughtful and attentive, and we had an excellent meal in the restaurant. Would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: Balcony room was very impressive.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saci B, Public Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Lovely to hear we helped your wife celebrate her birthday in style. Its always nice to hear the Wingrove played a part in a special celebration, thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

An amazing dinner (filet of beef was exquisite) followed by overnight stay in Room 4. An ample sized room with beautiful balcony. Double drencher shower and Nespresso coffee machine were highlights. Enjoyed a very chilled out breakfast with very attentive owner. Would most definitely stay again in this beautiful boutique hotel.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Frannee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saci B, Public Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

What lovely words, thanks for the review. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews