We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable”

Ye Olde Smugglers Inne
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Olde Smugglers Inne
Ranked #5 of 6 Alfriston B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Acceptable”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We had a pleasant stay - probably not our first choice - the double room shared 'a bath (no shower) with another room which wasn't occupied fortunately. Room had a wash basin in it which we used rather than the bathroom. we did not stay for breakfast. The noise from the pub wasn't bad at all and anyway stopped at 10.30-11ish . Bed was comfortable and it was clean
On the plus side there was living room adjacent with large TV and tea and coffee making facility which we had all to ourselves

Room Tip: Parking down the road in town car park - is a few minutes walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zorrothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    25
    9
    11
    4
See reviews for
6
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The room was basic not en suite and the sink was dirty, The price was extortionate. £70 + £5 for breakfast .I asked twice for the heater to be changed. It didn't happen. I had to ask twice for towels.
The noise from the pub below was horrid and did not stop till 11.30. The landlord suggested I have another pint when I asked if I could have somewhere quieter to stay. The lack of soundproofing meant that I was woken by people in the street below. I am no stranger to B&B's and this is the worst I have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alfriston hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Would not recommend either room as there is no respite from the noise from the pub below the rooms. The sheets were clean but in the lounge there were dirty glasses and a used nappy in the bin.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

B&B accommodation is very basic. Shared bathroom between Slanting Room and the Cozy Room is VERY basic. Noise from the pub is immediately below and is very noisy until closing time at 11pm.
Breakfast is served in the Bar.
Price is crazy at around £75pp single occupancy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Nice comfortable room, comfortable bed and friendly staff. The bathroom wasn't en-suite, but it was clean and everything was generally in order. Totally quiet and peaceful at night once the pub has closed.

Alfriston is an expensive village, and the Smugglers charge an average price for the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkHolidaygirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

The bar is just how you imagine a country put to be, open fire and very cosy with a good selection of beers and charming service.. My double room was comfortable and nicely furnished and there was a residents lounge with TV, DVD's and books.

Breakfast was substantial and the lady cooking was happy to accommodate any off menu requests.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliceanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.0 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
6.5 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Smugglers Inne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Smugglers Inne

Property: Ye Olde Smugglers Inne
Address: Waterloo Square, Alfriston BN26 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Alfriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building on the site dates back to 1358 and is Grade II listed, and is located in the centre of the Mediavial village of Alfriston which itself is in the South Downs National Park. It originally went by the name Stone Cross Beer House, as the beer was brewed in the Barn at the back of the pub. The name was then changed to the Market Cross and then to its present name Ye Olde Smugglers Inne. Traditioanl pub food is served along with a selection of real ales and fine wines.There are currently three letting rooms which share two bathrooms between them as due to the age of the building the opportunity to provide en-suite facilities is not available, but still provide comfotrable and clean accommodation in what is the second oldest building in the village. Whilst there is no parking facilities at the pub there are two public carparks within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ye Olde Smugglers Inne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Smugglers Inne Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing