We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smugglers inn”

Ye Olde Smugglers Inne
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Olde Smugglers Inne
Ranked #5 of 6 Alfriston B&B and Inns
brighton east sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“smugglers inn”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed for one night at smugglers inn and had the best time we live in brighton just down the road but love alfriston and it was a lovely birthday treat my birthday is today but celebrated on the friday our room was fantastic and the food and hosts great just wished we cld have stayed longer wish the owners well hope to great back in the summer

Room Tip: Fantastic big room at the front cldnt have asked for a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    25
    9
    11
    4
See reviews for
6
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My boyfriend surprised me with a 2 night stay at this wonderful little Inne for our anniversary.
We stayed in the cosy room and it really was cosy!
Facilities were spot on. Warm friendly atmosphere and welcoming staff. The food was incredible! Gorgeous home cut rustic fries and an amazing smoked duck that the landlord had smoked, that day, himself!

The breakfast was of a very high standard, just the perfect way to start the day before exploring some of the local attractions. Take a walk up to the Long Man of Wilmington or to Berwick Church before relaxing back at the Inne by the huge open fire with a local Sussex Ale.

We were so impressed we are already planning our next stay.

Thank you to the new owners who made us feel like part of the family. We wish you the best of luck with your new home and business :)

Room Tip: The Cosy Room is larger than it looks in pictures. It has a basin in the room and a "Secret doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCHowlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and wow what a great time we had!!
Simon & cath the owners are 2 of the most nicest accommodating friendly people we have ever met, we were made to feel welcome the second we entered the inn.
The bar staff are wonderful and charming the food is excellent, the presentation was just beautiful and the taste was wonderful everything was perfect.
We spent the evening in the inn sitting in front of the open fire and chatted to some of the regulars who were also as charming and welcoming as everyone else , we will definitely be returning to this wonderful place. We had a fantastic time.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tinaraines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titchfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We recently had a couple of nights stay here.
Pub was full of character and charm. The Landlord and his family were very welcoming and friendly. The food was very good value for money, freshly cooked homemade food especially the breakfast was outstanding. Would recommend this pub to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cosy Room it is what it says on the tin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobanmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here overnight for our wedding anniversary. We were made to feel most welcome, our evening meal was delicious as was the Italian prosecco that accompanied it! Our room was clean, brand new bedding and towels. A good nights sleep was followed by a fabulous cooked breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble, I wish the new owners the very best of luck and would like to thank them again.

Room Tip: We had the cozy room, which was small but the bathroom is just outside and there is a sink in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boobska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Yesterday we enjoyed a delicious roast lunch at The Smugglers in Alfriston. The roast of the day was beef (nicely pink), accompanied by perfectly cooked vegetables and excellent gravy. All freshly cooked, this was great value at £9.95 for two courses. We were made to feel most welcome and we wish the new owners every success.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed for the second time at Ye Olde Smugglers Inne and had a superb time. Staff great, food great, accommodation great, and a fantastic atmosphere. What more could I ask for? They also have some traditional pub games and the landlord Simon is a force to be reckoned with. A couple of years ago it featured in a TV programme called "Pub Digs" with Rory McGrath and they found historical items dating back 10,000 years. Not many places can compete with that!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_Brown65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.0 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
6.5 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Smugglers Inne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Smugglers Inne

Property: Ye Olde Smugglers Inne
Address: Waterloo Square, Alfriston BN26 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Alfriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building on the site dates back to 1358 and is Grade II listed, and is located in the centre of the Mediavial village of Alfriston which itself is in the South Downs National Park. It originally went by the name Stone Cross Beer House, as the beer was brewed in the Barn at the back of the pub. The name was then changed to the Market Cross and then to its present name Ye Olde Smugglers Inne. Traditioanl pub food is served along with a selection of real ales and fine wines.There are currently three letting rooms which share two bathrooms between them as due to the age of the building the opportunity to provide en-suite facilities is not available, but still provide comfotrable and clean accommodation in what is the second oldest building in the village. Whilst there is no parking facilities at the pub there are two public carparks within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ye Olde Smugglers Inne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Smugglers Inne Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing