We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely scones”

Badgers @ The Old Village Bakery
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to our historic tea house! Alfriston was granted its market charter in 1406, and the house at Badgers dates from 1510 – over 500 years old! We know it was the village bakery for 200 years until 1933, and proprietor Michael Luttig and manager Lynn Attfield continue the tradition of exceptional baking on the premises. “Dissenters” from St Andrews Church met here in the late 18th Century until they built their own independent church (now the United Reformed Church) in 1801. We even have a Standing Stone in the pavement outside the front door…
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“lovely scones”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Came here today with my parents and sisters for afternoon tea. Its a lovely, quaint tearoom in a beautifully picturesque village. Overall the afternoon tea was delicious but there was a few niggling details. There wasn't enough choice in sandwiches (only smoked salmon or egg) so if you don't like either of them, then you'll not enjoy it. Also 2 of my sisters don't like tea so they had coffee instead but got 1 cup compared to the 3 cups the rest of us got of tea. However despite there being no choice of a "chocolate cake" (which for a chocoholic like myself is anabsolute crime) the cakes were delicious and the scones were to die for and they definitely didn't scrimp on the clotted cream like some tearooms do.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicite C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    53
    17
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful tea house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Back for our second visit (from Chichester) - inside this time as weather did not permit sitting in the garden. Lovely food (not cheap by any means) and traditional pot of tea with boiling water to top up. Just as I like it. Please keep this up. Makes such a pleasant change from the awful coffee house chains and in beautiful Alfriston. The only improvement I would make would be to the loo otherwise it would be 5 stars. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Samuelsausage2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Badgers in Alfriston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Alfriston is a wonderful place and Badgers is a wonderful tearoom. We have been to Alfriston many times, among other things to visit the fantastic bookshop Much Ado Books. Almost opposite the bookshop we found Badgers' delightful back garden. The very pleasant staff, the good quality tea, the delicious light meals, the great cakes, the fascinating old building, everything makes the visit a very pleasant one. Lovely old fashioned, quiet and relaxing(noisy people are discouraged), it offers the sort of atmosphere that is becoming rarer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not disappointed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Went to Badger's last week after reading the TripAdvisor reviews. It was great. The porcelain tea set,the silver plate teapots....all lovely touches. Attentive staff and good food only added to the experience. Pricey?I suppose it is but you get what you pay for.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
241 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Good quality breakfast but . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I'd like to start by stating the positives about this place.

Good quality sausage
Good quality bacon
Good quality eggs
Gorgeous bone china crockery
Cute teaspoons
Friendly service

Unfortunately there are also some negatives.

No fried/poached egg options with the breakfast
No smoking in the garden
ONLY well behaved children and dogs (how insulting is that sign!!!)
Overpriced breakfast

So, all in all a wonderful good quality breakfast albeit overpriced for what you got and super friendly service from the waiting staff but please try to find another way of making sure that parents (your potential customers) are not insulted by that riduluous sign. It's the sort of sign that makes you want to take a bus load of children in there just to scramble their heads! Lol

Total cost for 2 breakfast inc tea/coffee & orange juice was approx £19.00. And as good a quality as all the components were I'm not sure if this price tag is justified.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pollenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Badgers @ The Old Village Bakery also viewed

 
Alfriston, East Sussex
Litlington, East Sussex
 

Been to Badgers @ The Old Village Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing