We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tea & Scone” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dining Room

The Dining Room
Ranked #8 of 12 Restaurants in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$47
Cuisines: British, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We look forward to welcoming you to the Dining Room at Deans Place, our newly refurbished restaurant. Our menus change monthly along with daily chef's recommendations so that we can offer the best of Sussex's wealth of local produce wherever possible. During the week, we have our more casual food offering with our Terrace & Bar menu, which is available from midday until 9:30pm. At the weekends, lunch is served in The Dining Room on Saturdays and Sundays from 12:30pm and last orders are at 3pm. Our traditional Sunday Lunches are extremely popular and are available in both The Dining Room and in the Terrace & Bar. The Dining Room is open every night for dinner from 6:30pm and last orders are taken at 9:30pm. Non residents are always welcome. All menus found on our site should be treated as sample menus. If you are interested in knowing the current month's menu, or would like to discuss dietary needs, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel. We do reserve the right to make amendments to any of our menus at any given time, however, they will always be in keeping with the style and quality that we are known for.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tea & Scone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is for the bar area with beautiful garden views and great service - the tea was very nice and the warm fruit scone, jam and lashings of clotted cream were exquisite. A wonderful place to while away an hour with cake indulgence.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Living social afternoon tea deal.
Lovely terrace setting, sandwiches, scone, fruit cake, choux bun, chocolate strawberry and a small lemon tartlet. Choice of teas, and a glass of bubbly, all served by friendly staff. What more could you wish for on a lovely sunny, Sunday afternoon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Afternoon Tea On The Terrace!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just returned from having afternoon tea on the terrace at Deans' Place Hotel, and have to say the whole experience - apart from the rather grim looking staff and bin accommodation on the way in - was super from start to finish.

Lovely greeting from 'Front of House' team, served a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace overlooking the croquet lawn, no hurry, plenty of food and tea (more of both than we could finish) and all in all a lovely Sunday afternoon in great surroundings with attentive staff.

A real winner - we will return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“one nights stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

wasn't overly impressed with the £150 a night room, we asked for a double room & we was given two single beds pushed together with the added bonus of stained sheets, we weren't informed about the moth mortuary in the bathroom either. Have to say though really beautiful surroundings the staff were extremely friendly & helpful....But wouldn't pay £150 again!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lisaw w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Eceptional food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The food was exceptional with a good wine list at reasonable prices. The service was very good. We had a delightful waitress called Raquel. Some of the bedrooms are a little small but comfortable and room 49 has no wifi but the staff are all so lovely and helpful that they make up for any niggles.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dining Room also viewed

Alfriston, East Sussex
Alfriston, East Sussex
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing