We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Alfriston Clergy House
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
149 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stumbled upon this National Trust property during a visit to the beautiful little village. It is the first property that the National Trust bought and as a member of the National Trust of course I was going to pop in for a quick visit and I am pleased I did.

The house is well maintained with plenty of information about what each room was used for etc. It was very interesting and I would say worth a visit if you are a National Trust member. The gardens are beautiful and full of colourful flowers. Unfortunately the garden has in parts been damaged by flood water but they are working hard to fix this.

The staff there were more than friendly and willing to explain more about the history. I would say if you are in the area it is worth a visit, especially when the sun in shining as the surrounding green and church is also stunning.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nattybg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    78
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Where did the milk for the floor come from?!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

It is very difficult to "rate" the Clergy House as National Trust properties come in varying forms: grand houses, less grand properties but of interest due to a well-known person having lived there, woodlands, coastal areas. Any member of the National Trust would surely be interested in viewing the very first property it purchased (for £10). If not a NT member, and visiting Alfriston, curiosity would surely lead one across the green to view the little house. Others will undoubtedly share my view that it could so easily have been left to decay but we are so fortunate that someone had the foresight to rescue this lovely little cottage for an enjoyable and rewarding visit. Don't forget the milk floor! Worth a visit to see something pretty unusual.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doreen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“A gem worth saving”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Clergy House was the first of the National Trust's purchases and it has since gone from a dilapidated building to a lovely place worth visiting. Children are given an incentive to visit , with costumes to wear and on this occasion, a hunt for hidden animals. Adults can enjoy the well written explanatory material. The gardens are delightful, at this time of the year, the tulips making a magnificent display and the vegetable garden in preparation for interesting crops.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cindylou45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“The first National Trust property”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

After parking at the public car park in the village and a coffee at one of the little cafes walked through the village to the Clergy House, where we haven’t been for some twenty years! It is a 14 century Wealden “hall-house” and was the first building to be acquired by the National Trust, in 1896. We were pleasantly surprised as on our last visit, some time in the 1990s, there was only one room and the floor was being refurbished. Hence the time lapse between visits. There was far more to see and we thoroughly enjoyed it, part of the garden has been damaged by flood water, which was still evident along the edges.
There is now a little shop selling NT wares.
Its a little gem and well worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank woodie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sweet place to while away a little time”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Essential to committed NT visitors. The first property purchased by the Trust.

Warm welcome. Lovely timber and thatch property. Small with a pretty garden. Would have liked to have been able to go upstairs. Recommend having a tub of local ice cream whilst sitting in the garden and enjoying the views.

Helpful?
Thank RachelCockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alfriston Clergy House also viewed

 
Lewes, East Sussex
 

Been to Alfriston Clergy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing