We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sussex's Secret Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is by far the best hotel that I have ever stayed in the UK. This is the 5th time we have stayed in the last 12 months, and such is the quality that we have now chosen this charming family run hotel as our regular retreat from the hassle of City life when we need to recharge our batteries.

Harcourts Restaurant is of a very high standard, as is the quality, choice and freshness of the food, which is complimenetd by the attentive service.

The rooms all seem to have been recently redecorated, and the Karma in the hotel is excellent.
All of the staff are so pleasant and obliging, and nothing seems too much trouble.

This is an excellent base for exploring the lovely Sussex countryside, and a walkers haven.

James and his Team are to be congratulated.

We look forward to our return visit, next month.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel seem airier and quieter, although we have never been disappointed by...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 737David737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
There are newer reviews for Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

We generally stay here when going to Glyndebourne Opera. It is a lovely hotel with friendly staff and good food (though the buffet breakfast - plus eggs to order not as good as Crossways). There's an outdoor pool and lovely garden. The rooms are of a good size (we book a superior room) and quiet(ish) - the floors creak and the firedoors tend to wake a light sleeper.

Room Tip: See review, rooms 23 & 24 have a good view over to the country.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikehandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed 4 nights last week. Great time walking and sightseeing. The pool looked inviting. Meals very good. Staff friendly and very helpful. Gardens are very nice. Will be back. Alan lives in Hertfordshire.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alanherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We have spent 3 nights whilst attending a friends wedding, our room was spacious the venue is stunning, the bar and service was amazing...
The gardens and patio areas are beautiful and perfect for weddings.
The breakfast buffet was eye opening with the section and the choose.

Room Tip: We choose the deluxe room the bed is large and the shower accommodates my 6.5 tall boyfriend... But...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in early May mid week. Had a smallish but good room overlooking the pool and the Downs.(Room 25 I think?). Very quiet - slept really well. Lovely view from the room and as the weather was good, the view was especially pretty. Negative? the windows were 'shot' in that they were a little old and steamed up in places and the room is quite 'old fashioned' in style but perfectly clean.The hotel is pretty sort of country house feel with well maintained gardens and if you go out the back it joins the walking path near the river that is a couple of minutes to the the village.
The staff are really good and make you very welcome. We ate in the hotel 2 nights and the food was excellent. Again the restaurant staff were very efficient.The first morning at breakfast all hot dishes had to be ordered - we made the mistake of ordering 'Full English' - which was massive - one order would have done for 2 of us! The next day they started doing a hot buffet breakfast which was more manageable.
The village if Alfriston is very pretty with a beautiful village green and immaculately kept. Tried 2 of the pubs for meals and they were both o.k., but nothing special. The food in the hotel was far superior, though admittedly more expensive.
We had a wonderful stay andf would recommend and return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the Downs if you want a view and are quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ALEXANDER _123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear ALEXANDER_123
Thank you for sharing your experience with our other Tripadvisor Users and glad you had a lovely time and enjoyed dining with us. We are currently refurbishing our bedrooms and I thank you for pointing out the issue with the window in your room.
Our gardener Stephen will be delighted that you enjoyed his gardens while you were with us.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for one night, meeting friends. The hotel is very comfortable, with attentive staff,very good food.The service in the restaurant was a little slow ,but it didn't matter we weren't in a hurry and it was worth waiting for .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Gill c
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry the service was a little slow, but I am glad this didn't spoil your visit. We would like to welcome you back anytime to Deans Place.
Best wishes,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Three-night midweek break. Hotel frontage antiquity really picturesque. Gardens well laid out and kept in good order. Room [43] smaller than expected, with views over a flat roof to the Cuckmere valley. Furniture repro old, generally in good order except for water marks on the main table. Two armchairs, quite comfortable. Beds comfy, with crisp white bed linen - blankets rather than duvets, which wouldn't have been my preference. Windowless bathroom with good-sized bath, shower over, small washbasin and undersized electric towel rail [this was operated via reception rather than in the room, which seemed bizarre, especially as the weather wasn't the warmest]. A nice hospitality tray with biscuits and a range of Twining teas was provided. Plenty of storage was available, although the hanging rail in the built-in wardrobe was frustratingly set too close to the carrier board to make easy use of our own hangers - a decent supply of the hotel hangers were provided.
Room was superficially clean, but closer inspection showed quite a few areas that needed attention. This was identified to the staff on leaving, as we had hoped housekeeping would address it during our time there.
Food was of very good quality, both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast plates were piping hot from the plate warmer by the buffet, but much less so if you ordered eggs from the kitchen resulting in food cooling down far too quickly. I learnt the trick of transferring the eggs to a plate from the warmer! Restaurant manager seemed a bit odd - a bit too zealous in some areas and inattentive in others. Dinner was either a chef's special, vegetarian or a limited a la carte. Prices were, I think, £27 for 2 courses or £35 for 3, with supplements for some dishes. The food, like breakfast, was tasty, well-balanced and well-presented. We would have eaten here more, but the chef's special wasn't on view early enough, and the choice of the a la carte was a bit beyond my preferred options. Wine was reasonable, though overall, dinner was not the best value for money.
Staff were in the main really friendly although a little more capability, enthusiasm or application to detail in some areas would have paid dividends. A number of recommended walks ranging from a short walk around the village to a day's outing were available from the front desk, and copies of these were handed out to help get the best of the local walking routes.
Quite a few foreign staff were present, and I would not have been surprised if the hotel had a regular turnover.
From my viewpoint, i wouldn't come back, but could easily see how this would be ideal for many.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LemurLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear LemurLes
Thank you for your comments. We are so sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay at Deans Place. We are particularly sorry to learn that you found there to be issues with our housekeeping. This is unusual to hear and your comments have been shared with the whole team as we are so disappointed to learn about your experience.
We are currently refurbishing a number of our bedrooms. We have 36 rooms in total at Deans Place, and few that are the same as you would come to expect with a building of our age. If you had any problems with the room, we would much rather hear your comments during your stay to allow us the opportunity to put things right, rather than afterwards.
We do have a variety of nationalities that work at Deans Place which I do not think should be viewed as a negative. We have links with various catering colleges around the world, this allows their students to spend a few months with us gaining first hand experience of working in a busy hotel, alongside our team of full time staff. Much like many students from the UK who travel and work abroad during gap years. We do not discriminate when hiring staff ; We advertise for a position and select the best applicant. Many of our foreign staff have trained their whole careers in hospitality and should not viewed by the public as lesser employees. As you can see from the majority of our reviews, we receive fantastic comments about our staff and I am very proud of them for this.

I do hope that you will give us another chance in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
James Dopson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
223 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
81 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#5 of 8 in Lewes
820 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
98 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Seaford Road, Alfriston BN26 5TW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Price Range: £70 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its origins in the 14th century this hotel is situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, set in extensive gardens with a stunning backdrop of the South Downs. An ideal retreat when visiting Glyndebourne, walking the South Downs, or visiting the attractive towns, villages and stunning coastline of East Sussex. The hotel has a heated swimming pool available from May to September and has direct access to the South Downs way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deans Place Alfriston
Deans Place, Country Hotel And Restaurant Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing