We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and high quality food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and high quality food.”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Wasn't staying at the hotel, just a meal in the restaurant, food was good quality, nicely presented and everything was nice. Will be going back, next time in the area. The hotel was nice looking, with easy free parking.

Because the restaurant was so good, next time will possibly book a room and stay the weekend for a relaxing break.

The manager of the restaurant was also very good, first class from start to finish. Just how things should be.

Location is very nice also, interesting place to visit and lots of nice places to walk around, which is on my list to do next time when not so busy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mediawatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    211
    74
    30
    5
See reviews for
119
307
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Clean, comfortable. Our standard room was big enough and in excellent condition. The property has been extended so many times it is hard to see where the original part might be. It is mostly very tasteful: I specially liked the corridors, which were many, in pale paint with very dark woodwork and large gold numbers painted on the room doors.
Attractive grounds, including a croquet lawn, with equipment: anyone know the rules? Right on the edge of Alfriston village.
Breakfast was buffet style. Good ingredients but keeping them hot does no favours to scrambled eggs.
Tea, included in our deal was plentiful and fresh with real clotted cream but otherwise not specially interesting. Dinner was very generous (especially considering the age of the diners: i am retired but was one of the youngest) but short of finesse.
Excellent value on our deal.

Room Tip: Our room, 48, had some bit of electrical equipment droning under the window. A cowl or secondary gla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oncewasgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

...my wife and I enjoyed a relaxing night here, leaving our little one with Grandparents overnnight for the first time. Comfortable nights sleep, good food in the restaurant at dinner and breakfast, and all the staff we met......fantastic

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJWJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights last week. Have stayed at Dean's Place three times over last couple of years. Return because of fantastic all round experience. Rooms comfortable, food wonderful - vegetarian menu excellent, staff friendly and helpful, gardens beautiful, public areas very nice. All very well kept. Couldn't fault it. Left some toiletries behind by accident and they posted them on to me promptly. They offer very good value. Will be going back soon. Well done everyone at Deans Place! Thank you very much! (Dog friendly too!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maire64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent 4 days in Alfriston as a base for our Southern England trips. It is a wonderful area, quiet place, nice countryside. Hotel itself is nicely furnished, excellent service and food. We plan to go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I didn't know what we had been booked into until I had arrived as someone else had booked for us. Had I known it was a very old quaint property I probably wouldn't have booked there as in my previous experiences what this type of property has in spades is a history, oak beams, creaky floorboards, quaint pots and pans on display etc etc. I was right, all that was missing was Mrs Overall from Acorn Antiques waddling in with a tray of tea. We arrived late 12.45am and even though we had informed them of this the night porter said no one had told him and that they had all just gone without a word to him.... Alarm bells were just starting to ring in my head. He asked me to sign in and gave me an electronic key card, maybe I was wrong I thought, maybe this premises had moved with the times. After sending us on our way pointing into the distance we eventually found our room which was no bigger than a broom cupboard, my wife had to lay on the bed to enable me to move around the room and visa versa. The Television was a flat screen 14 inch model and had to be unplugged every time my wife used the hair dryer. When the plug was removed it then fell behind the furniture and had to be hooked back to where I could plug it back in. Breakfast was of the highest standard, the choice and selection was superb and was one of the best I have ever had. My wife complained about the size of the room and after a little while we were told that they would be upgrading us and could we please collect our belongings and were given the room key for the bridal suite. This was much bigger and was the standard of room I was expecting however my brother in law had also complained as he had problems with noise outside his room with anyone who walked down the corridor sounding like it was the changing of the guards inside his room only to be compounded by the stomping of the staff delivering the room service, banging on the neighbours door and bellowing room service all morning. He wasn't impressed and reported the incidents. They apologised said that they would inform the staff not to do it again and refunded one of his nights stay. In conclusion, it wasn't cheap €110.00 a night for bed and breakfast and they don't pretend to be a Marriott or Holiday Inn and they can only work with the building they've got, but I won't be in a rush to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for one that's not a postage stamp size
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The new vegetarian menu is the best I have seen in a long time, and the food was excellent. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a very nice 48 hour stay at Deans Place, and would go there again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
19.0 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Seaford Road, Alfriston BN26 5TW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its origins in the 14th century this hotel is situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, set in extensive gardens with a stunning backdrop of the South Downs. An ideal retreat when visiting Glyndebourne, walking the South Downs, or visiting the attractive towns, villages and stunning coastline of East Sussex. The hotel has a heated swimming pool available from May to September and has direct access to the South Downs way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deans Place Alfriston
Deans Place, Country Hotel And Restaurant Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing