We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I had our Wedding reception at Deans Place Hotel in July 2011, where we had a fantastic day. The Hotel was a perfect venue and the staff were all extremely friendly. We frequently visit the Hotel and always find the food and service really nice. We also enjoy sitting outside in the peaceful garden, where our dog is also welcome.

We visited the hotel last weekend with friends visiting from Canada and had gorgeous afternoon tea and scones. We would defiantly recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KSM123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed on a good value bed and breakfast deal. The room allocated was immediately above a kitchen extractor fan and on hearing the hum from this we asked for a move which fortunately was possible. The rooms are well furnished - ours was quite small but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and generous - self service with lots of choices including extras such as kippers and smoked salmon on request. The hotel has a pretty garden and outdoor space to sit. We didn't eat lunch or dinner there so can't comment. The bar area looked very comfy. Clientele seemed to be predominantly middle aged couples but it was Sunday and Monday. Country house touches such as a complementary turn down service add to the genteel vibe (if you like that sort of thing!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamCurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed one nite at this hotel for my wife's birthday, the booking was done over the Internet with another company. I emailed the hotel to say my wife was a vegetarian, they sent a reply with a menu separate for vegetarians, that was a very good start. On arrival reception staff were efficient and told us everything we wanted to know, on arrival at our room 24 we entered and found a fantastic room every mod con you needed and a most wonderful view over the river and fields. The room was clean and tidy as was the e suite toilet and shower/ bath.
We had per booked dinner at its resturant, the staff again were very helpful and non obtrusive, service was just right. A really good experience. Even I chose a vegetarian meal as it seemed a great selection, when they both came it was fantastic, the sweet selection was also good. Really well done to the waiting staff and also the chefs etc behind the scene.
Off to bed in the biggest bed we have ever slept in, comfortable and an experience. No light pollution or noise. Morning only birds twittering and the gardener doing his thing. The gardens were lovely to see and walk around.
Breakfast was reall tasty and lots to chose from. Again the waiting staff were very good. All the food in the self service section was really hot and just right, you could have odered a la carte if you so wished. On leaving the reception staff were efficient and asked us to check the bill, all was correct.
We both had a good experience and would stay and eat at this hotel again. Well done to all he staff.

Room Tip: Room 24 , lovely view, huge bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knocker874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Wasn't staying at the hotel, just a meal in the restaurant, food was good quality, nicely presented and everything was nice. Will be going back, next time in the area. The hotel was nice looking, with easy free parking.

Because the restaurant was so good, next time will possibly book a room and stay the weekend for a relaxing break.

The manager of the restaurant was also very good, first class from start to finish. Just how things should be.

Location is very nice also, interesting place to visit and lots of nice places to walk around, which is on my list to do next time when not so busy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mediawatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Clean, comfortable. Our standard room was big enough and in excellent condition. The property has been extended so many times it is hard to see where the original part might be. It is mostly very tasteful: I specially liked the corridors, which were many, in pale paint with very dark woodwork and large gold numbers painted on the room doors.
Attractive grounds, including a croquet lawn, with equipment: anyone know the rules? Right on the edge of Alfriston village.
Breakfast was buffet style. Good ingredients but keeping them hot does no favours to scrambled eggs.
Tea, included in our deal was plentiful and fresh with real clotted cream but otherwise not specially interesting. Dinner was very generous (especially considering the age of the diners: i am retired but was one of the youngest) but short of finesse.
Excellent value on our deal.

Room Tip: Our room, 48, had some bit of electrical equipment droning under the window. A cowl or secondary gla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oncewasgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

...my wife and I enjoyed a relaxing night here, leaving our little one with Grandparents overnnight for the first time. Comfortable nights sleep, good food in the restaurant at dinner and breakfast, and all the staff we met......fantastic

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJWJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights last week. Have stayed at Dean's Place three times over last couple of years. Return because of fantastic all round experience. Rooms comfortable, food wonderful - vegetarian menu excellent, staff friendly and helpful, gardens beautiful, public areas very nice. All very well kept. Couldn't fault it. Left some toiletries behind by accident and they posted them on to me promptly. They offer very good value. Will be going back soon. Well done everyone at Deans Place! Thank you very much! (Dog friendly too!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maire64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
227 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,645 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#4 of 8 in Lewes
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,470 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
525 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Seaford Road, Alfriston BN26 5TW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Price Range: £74 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its origins in the 14th century this hotel is situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, set in extensive gardens with a stunning backdrop of the South Downs. An ideal retreat when visiting Glyndebourne, walking the South Downs, or visiting the attractive towns, villages and stunning coastline of East Sussex. The hotel has a heated swimming pool available from May to September and has direct access to the South Downs way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deans Place Alfriston
Deans Place, Country Hotel And Restaurant Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing