We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country house hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely country house hotel”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Lovely hotel. Great character with an incredibly relaxing atmosphere. Service was friendly and efficient. The restaurant was well managed. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, extensive, fresh and delicious. Service was impecable. The room was traditionally furnished and very comfortable, with a wonderful four poster bed

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel44_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    211
    75
    30
    5
See reviews for
120
309
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel with a group of friends on a walking trip.
The service is very friendly and personal, which makes such a difference!
We enjoyed the food very much, both the very extensive breakfast menu and the dinners in harcourts restaurant. The menus for vegetarians are particularly impressive.
Plenty of nice, comfortable places to sit, both inside and outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpletreeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We enjoyed a very comfortable weekend with friends with great service.

The hotel is just outside the charming village of Alfriston with the National Trusts first property, he medieval Clergy House which we would have visited had we remembered our NT cards and not spent all our time walking in the glorious surrounding countryside.

Deans Place itself is a very attractive ancient house in origin, brought reasonably up to date, more on the characterful than the ultra luxurious but none the worse for that. The room we had was quite big with sofa and chairs and lovely views.

There is lots of space downstairs in comfortable lounges and bars. A wedding being held while we were there was quite discretely separate and did n't intrude in the way that I have sometimes experienced elsewhere. There are nice terraces and gardens and a good size heated out door pool which was still warm enough in late September.

Our large party enjoyed very attentive and friendly service and we drank and dined very well for a very reasonable price. The breakfast was great too.

Overall a great base for either a lazy relaxing weekend or some good walking, or near enough to visit Eastbourne, Bournemouth or Glyndebourne; the service was excellent and we plan to return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking garden would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfromhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had our wedding at Deans Place Hotel on the 1st of September this year. We can honesty say our experience right from booking the venue to the actual day was a pleasure. Nothing was too much for the staff. Deans Place is clean, tidy, well managed and such a beautiful setting.

We had a small intimate wedding and felt like we were the only guests in the hotel, by this I mean we were made to feel so special. We had 19 friends and family who stayed the night. My whole family were treated extremely well and every single one of them have said they will be going back to Deans Place!

James the manager is not afraid to get his hands dirty, he helped with everything. A very professional Manager, yet approachable and friendly. A big thank you to James, Rachel, Jo, Charlie (although you have left!) and all the team.

We knew from the moment we walked into Deans Place we wanted to get married there. The outside space is fantastic and the team work so hard to make the day magical, from getting the tables just how you want them, music, candles, absolutely everything!

The rooms were fantastic and the breakfast is fabulous.

I would recommend this hotel 100%. I would recommend getting married here 110%!

Perfect wedding venue, perfect staff, perfect Management, perfect food! Perfect, perfect perfect!!

Enjoy! :-)

Room Tip: Get an upgade room on first floor with views over the garden and surrounding countryside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I had our Wedding reception at Deans Place Hotel in July 2011, where we had a fantastic day. The Hotel was a perfect venue and the staff were all extremely friendly. We frequently visit the Hotel and always find the food and service really nice. We also enjoy sitting outside in the peaceful garden, where our dog is also welcome.

We visited the hotel last weekend with friends visiting from Canada and had gorgeous afternoon tea and scones. We would defiantly recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSM123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed on a good value bed and breakfast deal. The room allocated was immediately above a kitchen extractor fan and on hearing the hum from this we asked for a move which fortunately was possible. The rooms are well furnished - ours was quite small but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and generous - self service with lots of choices including extras such as kippers and smoked salmon on request. The hotel has a pretty garden and outdoor space to sit. We didn't eat lunch or dinner there so can't comment. The bar area looked very comfy. Clientele seemed to be predominantly middle aged couples but it was Sunday and Monday. Country house touches such as a complementary turn down service add to the genteel vibe (if you like that sort of thing!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamCurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed one nite at this hotel for my wife's birthday, the booking was done over the Internet with another company. I emailed the hotel to say my wife was a vegetarian, they sent a reply with a menu separate for vegetarians, that was a very good start. On arrival reception staff were efficient and told us everything we wanted to know, on arrival at our room 24 we entered and found a fantastic room every mod con you needed and a most wonderful view over the river and fields. The room was clean and tidy as was the e suite toilet and shower/ bath.
We had per booked dinner at its resturant, the staff again were very helpful and non obtrusive, service was just right. A really good experience. Even I chose a vegetarian meal as it seemed a great selection, when they both came it was fantastic, the sweet selection was also good. Really well done to the waiting staff and also the chefs etc behind the scene.
Off to bed in the biggest bed we have ever slept in, comfortable and an experience. No light pollution or noise. Morning only birds twittering and the gardener doing his thing. The gardens were lovely to see and walk around.
Breakfast was reall tasty and lots to chose from. Again the waiting staff were very good. All the food in the self service section was really hot and just right, you could have odered a la carte if you so wished. On leaving the reception staff were efficient and asked us to check the bill, all was correct.
We both had a good experience and would stay and eat at this hotel again. Well done to all he staff.

Room Tip: Room 24 , lovely view, huge bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knocker874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
199 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
767 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
71 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
821 reviews
9.7 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Seaford Road, Alfriston BN26 5TW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its origins in the 14th century this hotel is situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, set in extensive gardens with a stunning backdrop of the South Downs. An ideal retreat when visiting Glyndebourne, walking the South Downs, or visiting the attractive towns, villages and stunning coastline of East Sussex. The hotel has a heated swimming pool available from May to September and has direct access to the South Downs way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deans Place Alfriston
Deans Place, Country Hotel And Restaurant Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing