We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel..apart from one member of staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed the night 01/02/14 and had an absolutely lovely time.We were on a living social deal which was a bargain.We had a basic bedroom which was pleasant.Lovely hotel bar with log fire.Great gin selection! We had a gorgeous meal in the restaurant and excellent breakfast in the morning. Our only disappointment was the male receptionist who,on our arrival offered no greeting of any sort,merely saying "name?" then proceeded to tell us that as we were booked to eat at 8 p.m. and to expect slow service.I asked if they were short staffed in the restaurant,he replied "no,too many people eating"! He then told us our room number but gave us no information e.g.breakfast times..and then turned his back on us! He turned out to be the exception as all the other staff we encountered were exceptionally helpfull and friendly...bar staff,restaurant staff and the female on reception in the morning.
This is a wonderful hotel and we hope to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
There are newer reviews for Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay at the Deans Place Hotel at Alfriston and had a superb time. Every aspect of this hotel is absolutely brilliant. The location is stunning; the food high quality and the staff are so attentive. It is really clear from our stay that a lot of effort is placed into the detail of making your stay so fantastic.

Even the local flooding difficulties couldn't spoil this break for us. This is certainly one hotel we will be actively looking to visit again. Needless to say it comes as highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the gardens - the views out into the Sussex countryside are lovely!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

As previous reviewers have stated, a well managed hotel, with superb staff. Also stayed with a Living Social Deal, and was amazed at the value for money. Log fire, cream tea, delicious evening meal (my only reason for not 5 Stars was the lack of vegetables with the meal, but am now wondering if there was a veggie menu that I did not see), After returning to our room after dinner, was delighted to see our bed had been turned down. (No chocolate on pillow however)! Delicious breakfast and the friendliness of the staff was such a positive. Comfortable bed, and beautiful view from our upgraded room. Pillows a little too firm for my liking but that is a personal thing.

Grounds delightful, my husband actually saw a blue heron capture a fish from the river and what a rare sight that must be. Noticed primroses in flower on the banks of the car park, and then a quick walk through the grounds into the village, and what a beautiful village - even in January it was bursting at the seams with visitors, and why not it certainly deserved them. Shops were interesting and very reasonable, galleries as well, something for everybody. in the summer with all the other reviewers I too would like to return to enjoy the swimming pool and bbq.

Room Tip: Room 25 had a superb view, with a marvellous sun rise, no need to pull curtains, apart from one far...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WOWOSHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Is this a 3 star hotel??...Well it certainly shouldn't be. The exec room was excellent....the bed very comfortable. The staff friendly and attentive. The food was very good in the evening (calves liver was the best I have eaten) and an excellent breakfast in the morning.

Thanks our friendly and helpful reception gentlemen, Luis our excellent waiter. The thoughtful housekeepers and accommodating bar staff.

We will return later in the year for BBQ and a dip in the outdoor pool!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Twin aspect exec room very comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband and I bought a special deal through Living Social for cream tea, b & b and up-graded by also having a 3 course meal. We arrived early and were greeted warmly by the receptionist who directed us on a short walk through the lovely gardens into the village as our room was not available for a little while. On our return we were again greeted with friendly smiles and offers of help with our luggage. We discovered our room overlooking the car park and were immediately impressed with its cleanliness and cosy atmosphere. We had everything we could possibly need on the tea tray but housekeeping came later to replenish with whatever we wanted which was most impressive. Each member of staff proved to be as friendly as the first with ready smiles and always offering their assistance.
Lounge and bar areas were comfortable and welcoming with well placed furniture so that you could be with others but not feel crowded. Cream tea was delicious with home-made scones and generous amounts of jam and cream which kept us going until the evening meal. And what a feast awaited us. As we had ordered a meal too, we were given a free bottle of wine which we were able to choose from the house wine list, a very good Merlot although the waiter was knowledgeable enough to give us a recommendation. Our meal was sumptuous with a good selection of meat, fish or vegetarian available. Another delightful touch was the inclusion of small titbits from chef to whet our appetites.
We enjoyed a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed and then breakfast proved to be just as good as the previous meals. Everything you could possible want and more with staff ever-present to serve your requirements. Our only small niggle was that we were a little too far from the main computer router so my tablet did not work in our bedroom and mobile telephone coverage is a bit patchy but sometimes it is nice to be 'out of contact'.
Dean's Place is ideally situated for walking and sight-seeing between Eastbourne and Brighton with the promise of peace and quiet, The local village of Alfriston has some extremely interesting history and homely pubs as do several other nearby villages. Also, it is an ideal stopping place if you want to combine a wonderful hotel with game of golf on a lovely course at Seaford. We will certainly be looking forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfanatic20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Six of us stayed here on a wet January Friday night on a groupon deal. The rooms were very nice with comfortable beds and everything you would expect from a hotel of this standard. The bar was very cosy and we decided to eat there rather than venture out in the rain. The staff without exception were really friendly and accommodating and we especially enjoyed the lovely breakfast and afternoon tea. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Another quiet, relaxing, peaceful stay. Deans Place, 'surrounded by water', is perfect for a post festivities break and with the surrounding area offering so many choices of beautiful countryside and interesting towns, with Alfriston on the doorstep and Lewes a short drive, who could ask for more? However, beware, the cliffs at Birling Gap are now three metres closer!

The staff couldn't be more helpful, in particular the youngsters (and not so young) in the restaurant - all a credit to the hotel management. The dinner menu, although limited, was fine for at least a couple of nights, especially with the freedom to mix-and-match from the separate veggie menu. Can recommend the 'pink' lamb, in particular, which was cooked to perfection. Breakfast was an excellent start to the day, the poached eggs come highly recommended. Our room (3), although maybe getting a little tired, is spacious and homely, with a lovely view of the 'water garden'. We even 'missed' the early morning calls from the resident cockerel this year – perhaps a lack of chicken wellies or a visit from Mr Fox?

The ‘Winter Warmer’ rate of £59.50/head (based on two people sharing a room), represents excellent value for money, in a splendid location – check it out for yourself.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiChappy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
223 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
80 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#5 of 8 in Lewes
820 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
98 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Seaford Road, Alfriston BN26 5TW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Price Range: £70 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its origins in the 14th century this hotel is situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, set in extensive gardens with a stunning backdrop of the South Downs. An ideal retreat when visiting Glyndebourne, walking the South Downs, or visiting the attractive towns, villages and stunning coastline of East Sussex. The hotel has a heated swimming pool available from May to September and has direct access to the South Downs way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deans Place Alfriston
Deans Place, Country Hotel And Restaurant Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing