We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, excellent service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights while attending a funeral in Sussex. The hotel was very comfortable, the service first class and breakfast excellent. Staff were very attentive, for example offering to carry cases, offering an umbrella to go to the car when it was raining. We were very impressed. Sitting by the wood fire in the evening with a pint of Long Man Bitter is my main memory! Some of the bedroom doors are low BUT it is an old building and nothing could be done about that! All in all a lovely stay during a difficult couple of days. Alfriston is an interesting village too with some unusual shops (eg the music/CD shop) which are great.

Room Tip: We had room 8 which overlooks the front garden and has a 4 poster bed.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lagabaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
There are newer reviews for Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We called in at Alfriston on our way between Lewes and Eastbourne. We thought we would renew our previous experience at Deans Place. Although we were eight people just wanting a pre-theatre late lunch, we were looked after with exceptional care. They made up a small side room for us. The food was excellent, the service was efficient and polite. We left there feeling very happy and satisfied. We will try and return for a residential stay later in the year. Thank you Deans Place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOSCOW_PETE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have stayed at this Hotel many many times over the last twenty or so years and I`ve never been disappointed.In fact under current ownership I believe its at its best.
The food is particulary good and the staff all friendly and helpful
It`s only a short walk in to the village with a few good/cosy pubs

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here for one night for a friend's wedding at the local church. Great location for that, but a beautiful spot overall too. The hotel was great, clean, with character, friendly staff, lovely fluffy towels, heated bathroom floor and comfy beds - perfect! The only thing to note is that phone signal and wifi is non-existant in Alfriston - makes it very peaceful but good to know up front!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dee1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed a weekend with my wife still very good value but the restaurant staff need some training and grooming ! It is basic knowledge in a fine dining restaurant that one does not clear plates until both of the guests have finished. All in all quite a pleasant stay

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank harper18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

England was suffering the wettest winter for 100 years but it did not put a damper on our stay.
The hotel is situated just a short walk from the centre of Alfriston. There was flooding all around.even the front lawn and swimming pool area was flooded but it didn't matter at all.We received a warm welcome at this hotel. The room we stayed in overlooked the swimming pool area and had distant views of the Cuckmere valley. The room was very well presented although a bit country for our liking. The hotel has a nice lounge area/bar with a roaring fire.The restaurant service was excellent. The staff were very attentive and the food we both had was a delight. The restaurant was a little on the large and lacked intimacy but otherwise was excellent.

Room Tip: Request a room in the older part of hotel for character rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyg632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We Were on a Living Socal Deal in rooms 20 & 21 so comfortable & cosy, with tasteful furniture, Comfortable bed and a good bathroom.The Evening Meal was first Class it was so nice NO Mobile Phones Ringing in the Restaurant Poor Signal .We Finish the Evening by the Open Log Fire & a Few Drinks.The Staff were Excellent at all times nothing to much trouble, to make your Stay Enjoyable. Thanks To You All.

Room Tip: Alfriston is such a Lovely Village on the South Downs & Deans Place is on the South Side of The...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRIAN w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
223 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
80 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#5 of 8 in Lewes
820 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
98 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Seaford Road, Alfriston BN26 5TW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Price Range: £70 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its origins in the 14th century this hotel is situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, set in extensive gardens with a stunning backdrop of the South Downs. An ideal retreat when visiting Glyndebourne, walking the South Downs, or visiting the attractive towns, villages and stunning coastline of East Sussex. The hotel has a heated swimming pool available from May to September and has direct access to the South Downs way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deans Place Alfriston
Deans Place, Country Hotel And Restaurant Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing