We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The perfect location for my partners 40th Birthday party! The staff were superb, food was delicious and the setting idilic. We were made to feel extremely welcome from the moment we walk in until the moment we left. I would recommend Deans Place to anyone! Enjoy!

Room Tip: The room over looking the terrace and Croquette lawn was wonderful
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
There are newer reviews for Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Having stayed at many hotels around the world - and eaten at some of the worlds best restaurants - I found it truly refreshing to spend an evening at a boutique hotel - which retains the individuality missing from most corporate chains. Quintessentially English, full of quirky charm. The location is stunning. Our executive room offered far reaching views of the South Downs. The rooms were extremely comfortable. All this is eclipsed by the polished service - delivered by real staff - with their own personalities. With regards to the food - all we can say is amazing. Better than many internationally recognised restaurants. Our nights stay there left us wanting to return in the very near future. It's nice to know that gems like this still exist. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddieseld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Terribly tired decor. Lounge furniture needed a good deep clean. Food pretentious in a way that a sweaty business man would think was classy but was actually poorly executed. Staff in all areas very well trained and helpful, But let down by truly sad furnishings ..dirty couches chipped tables. However that as they say pales into insignificance when greeted by the standard room. Appalling cheap linen topped off with what appears to be a horse blanket which they must have got in bulk from some army and navy store specialising in WWII memorabilia. What can I tell you about the mattress that truly conveys the ironing board like rigidity and sheer uncomfortableness of this tiny bed. To be fair it had to be tiny to fit in the tiny room. The bath also made for someone height challenged came equipped with one of those nasty plastic shower curtains that once wet wraps round your legs and threatens to trip you over and result in a trip to the ER. I cannot say how much iI despise these blasts from the past. The minimum requirement of a hotel is a good bed and this was not even close to it. The place was heaving and apparently fully booked so perhaps the people of Sussex are easily pleased. Given the buoyancy of the occupancy rate perhaps some of the profits could be invested in to updating and refurbishing starting with a bonfire of the beds and bedding.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

An Easter weekend in the Cuckmere Valley promised so much and we were thrilled to be staying at was was billed as one of the finest hotels in the area. It wasn't. On checking in to a family room with son and Labrador, we found that the website pictures and suggestions of comfort were misleading to day the least. Paint peeling from the windows - which wouldn't close properly - offset the surprisingly dated, worn and frayed furniture and fittings, and the drabness of the decor left us feeling deflated and requesting an "upgrade". The second room was larger (the first allowing one person to move past the bed at a time) but the view of the fire escapes and cobbled-together rear end of the hotel was a perfect contrast to the Sussex country setting which we were hoping to enjoy. We decided to make a go of it (being too late for our eight year old to head back to London) and booked in for supper at their "celebrated" restaurant. A Holiday Inn lobby has more charm than the conference room with tables we sat in. The menu, though, was diverse and imaginative and things seemed to be looking up. The staff were delightful: friendly, attentive and helpful, and tried really hard to ensure that we enjoyed our meal. They were a credit to the hotel. The food was ok; my wife enjoyed her fish and my son loved his chicken strips. My duck, though, was tough and bordering on tasteless.

The following morning the breakfast was pleasant and the buffet offerings were varied and plentiful. Unfortunately, we were not in the mood to stay too long and left as soon as we'd eaten.

The setting for the hotel is exquisite and the staff were lovely, but the place is tired, dated and very short of the expectations promised on the website. We won't return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Jocol71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and went walking in South Downs. Alfriston is a very nice village to stay in and has a few nice pubs, restaurants and tea rooms. The hotel was good, rooms were compact but nice. Our room was above the kitchen and the extract fan and early morning cooking smells were not ideal, but they happily moved us to another room for night 2. Both breakfast (which was included) and dinner in their restaurant were excellent. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank OrbitXL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were recently guests at a wedding here. Deans Place is a lovely old manor house with large peaceful gardens with views to the Downs. The arrangements for the wedding all went smoothly and the reception room was beautifully decorated. All the staff were attentive and ready to make changes along the way to make the day go well. My son and I have the Coeliac condition which means we have to avoid food containing wheat barley or rye because of the gluten in them. Normally this is a nightmare when eating out because of the lack of control over what happens in the kitchen. At Dean's Place this wasn't a problem at all. They had been forewarned and knew exactly who needed the gluten-free meals and paid particular attention to serving my son and myself separately with our 'special' meals. The gluten-free food was excellent, imaginative, tasty and well presented and even drew admiring looks from others on the table with 'normal' food. We would have no hesitation in trusting their restaurant or bar food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Petenbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Just decided to have a night away on my own and booked for that night. Arrived and was upgraded from a single to a small double which had wonderful views (although the dressing table mirror obscured them which was a shame). Spent over an hour relaxing in the garden enjoying the views with it all to myself. Dinner in the bar was lovely and breakfast in my room in the morning at no extra cost a real treat. The staff were extremely nice and very helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Got a better price booking on their website than was quoted over the phone. Really liked it there. I can imagine it quite noisy and busy on wedding weekend though so would check unless your part of the party!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
5  Thank ibizachicanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
223 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
81 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#5 of 8 in Lewes
820 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
98 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Seaford Road, Alfriston BN26 5TW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Price Range: £70 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its origins in the 14th century this hotel is situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, set in extensive gardens with a stunning backdrop of the South Downs. An ideal retreat when visiting Glyndebourne, walking the South Downs, or visiting the attractive towns, villages and stunning coastline of East Sussex. The hotel has a heated swimming pool available from May to September and has direct access to the South Downs way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deans Place Alfriston
Deans Place, Country Hotel And Restaurant Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing