We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just wanted a short break and so chose this hotel for a night away. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the village of Alfriston. Lots of lovely walks nearby especially when the weather is good. The rooms are in need of upgrading but the bar and restaurant areas are very pleasant and the grounds are beautiful. I was pleasantly surprised to find that they had a separate vegetarian menu with three choices of starters and mains!!! What a luxury for a vegetarian. I sent my compliments to the chef via the charming waiting staff as it is such a novelty to feel treated as somebody that matters rather than an afterthought. The breakfast was buffet style and a little on the cold side but there was plenty of choice. They have an outside pool which was not open yet but would be lovely to use on a hot summer day. Would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Nice to get a room with a view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeenyBognorRegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for a brief half-term overnight escape - very nice village nestled in the midst of the South Downs and only a 90 minute drive for us from NW Kent - some really good walks from the door of the hotel.

We liked:

- location - on the edge of Alfriston (very nice village) within soem lovely rolling countryside
- quick and efficient check in
- larger sized 'executive room'
- large comfortable bed
- friendly and welcoming staff
- quirky old building with a few creaking floorboards and nice gardens and grounds
- dinner in the restaurant (food, cooking and presentation was generallyvery good)
- good value for what we paid

We were not so keen on:
- the rather dated decor and furnishings/ fittings (flat screen TV in our room looked out of place)
- the stuffiness of some of the other guests
- service a bit hit and miss at breakfast (although we appreciated the bottomless tea pot)
- only being able to stay for one night

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return if we decide to make another visit to the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sub_three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The perfect location for my partners 40th Birthday party! The staff were superb, food was delicious and the setting idilic. We were made to feel extremely welcome from the moment we walk in until the moment we left. I would recommend Deans Place to anyone! Enjoy!

Room Tip: The room over looking the terrace and Croquette lawn was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Having stayed at many hotels around the world - and eaten at some of the worlds best restaurants - I found it truly refreshing to spend an evening at a boutique hotel - which retains the individuality missing from most corporate chains. Quintessentially English, full of quirky charm. The location is stunning. Our executive room offered far reaching views of the South Downs. The rooms were extremely comfortable. All this is eclipsed by the polished service - delivered by real staff - with their own personalities. With regards to the food - all we can say is amazing. Better than many internationally recognised restaurants. Our nights stay there left us wanting to return in the very near future. It's nice to know that gems like this still exist. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddieseld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Terribly tired decor. Lounge furniture needed a good deep clean. Food pretentious in a way that a sweaty business man would think was classy but was actually poorly executed. Staff in all areas very well trained and helpful, But let down by truly sad furnishings ..dirty couches chipped tables. However that as they say pales into insignificance when greeted by the standard room. Appalling cheap linen topped off with what appears to be a horse blanket which they must have got in bulk from some army and navy store specialising in WWII memorabilia. What can I tell you about the mattress that truly conveys the ironing board like rigidity and sheer uncomfortableness of this tiny bed. To be fair it had to be tiny to fit in the tiny room. The bath also made for someone height challenged came equipped with one of those nasty plastic shower curtains that once wet wraps round your legs and threatens to trip you over and result in a trip to the ER. I cannot say how much iI despise these blasts from the past. The minimum requirement of a hotel is a good bed and this was not even close to it. The place was heaving and apparently fully booked so perhaps the people of Sussex are easily pleased. Given the buoyancy of the occupancy rate perhaps some of the profits could be invested in to updating and refurbishing starting with a bonfire of the beds and bedding.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

An Easter weekend in the Cuckmere Valley promised so much and we were thrilled to be staying at was was billed as one of the finest hotels in the area. It wasn't. On checking in to a family room with son and Labrador, we found that the website pictures and suggestions of comfort were misleading to day the least. Paint peeling from the windows - which wouldn't close properly - offset the surprisingly dated, worn and frayed furniture and fittings, and the drabness of the decor left us feeling deflated and requesting an "upgrade". The second room was larger (the first allowing one person to move past the bed at a time) but the view of the fire escapes and cobbled-together rear end of the hotel was a perfect contrast to the Sussex country setting which we were hoping to enjoy. We decided to make a go of it (being too late for our eight year old to head back to London) and booked in for supper at their "celebrated" restaurant. A Holiday Inn lobby has more charm than the conference room with tables we sat in. The menu, though, was diverse and imaginative and things seemed to be looking up. The staff were delightful: friendly, attentive and helpful, and tried really hard to ensure that we enjoyed our meal. They were a credit to the hotel. The food was ok; my wife enjoyed her fish and my son loved his chicken strips. My duck, though, was tough and bordering on tasteless.

The following morning the breakfast was pleasant and the buffet offerings were varied and plentiful. Unfortunately, we were not in the mood to stay too long and left as soon as we'd eaten.

The setting for the hotel is exquisite and the staff were lovely, but the place is tired, dated and very short of the expectations promised on the website. We won't return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Jocol71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and went walking in South Downs. Alfriston is a very nice village to stay in and has a few nice pubs, restaurants and tea rooms. The hotel was good, rooms were compact but nice. Our room was above the kitchen and the extract fan and early morning cooking smells were not ideal, but they happily moved us to another room for night 2. Both breakfast (which was included) and dinner in their restaurant were excellent. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank OrbitXL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
238 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,805 reviews
12.6 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
530 reviews
9.7 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,268 reviews
6.3 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Seaford Road, Alfriston BN26 5TW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Price Range: £67 - £1,013 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its origins in the 14th century this hotel is situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, set in extensive gardens with a stunning backdrop of the South Downs. An ideal retreat when visiting Glyndebourne, walking the South Downs, or visiting the attractive towns, villages and stunning coastline of East Sussex. The hotel has a heated swimming pool available from May to September and has direct access to the South Downs way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deans Place Alfriston
Deans Place, Country Hotel And Restaurant Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing