We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“South Downs way hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“South Downs way hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for a walk on the South Downs Way. It was well placed and Alfriston is lovely itself. The service at the hotel was absolutely first class and the manager was friendly approachable and very willing to help on any little thing. We were given a slightly inferior room to start with by mistake but I didn't have to even ask for recompense or upgrade because we were immediately moved to a room with a view and the next night given a complementary executive room. The food was lovely and the atmosphere of the hotel and general standard of cleanliness, service and facilities was all in all first class. I would happily stay again and am planning to.

Room Tip: Make sure they give you a room with a view as some at the back look onto a rather uninteresting cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    209
    72
    30
    5
See reviews for
118
304
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting Deans Place since our marriage there in 2011 and have been to a number of different functions from weddings, Christmas & New Year Eve functions to family meals in the Harcourts Restaurant along with bar meals and 'just dropping in' for a glass of wine.

We have never had a bad meal or poor service, even when there has been a wedding on. We have always found the restaurant and bar staff to be well presented and attentive. The rooms are always clean and the hotel is simply a brilliant place to visit.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RPTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear RPTaylor,

It is always great to hear from guests who have experienced the full spectrum of all the services that Deans Place has to offer from having a glass of wine in the bar all the way to having your wedding with us!

Myself and the team thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we very much look forward to seeing you again at the Hotel in the near future.

Best wishes,

James Dopson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went last Wesdnesday for 2 course lunch and highly informative historical talk on Alfriston. Food excellent, hot and served by very willing and able staff. All tickets sold out and very glad that I went. Will go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Wrightblue,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed our talk and lunch on our village, the medieval village of Alfriston. Kevin's talks are always informative while remaining fun and light hearted. We have future topics including "Sussex in the War" and a talk about the Houses of Parliament due over the next few months so do make sure you book your tickets.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Deans Place.

Kind Regards,
James Dopson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD DO NOT VISIT FOR LUNCH IF YOU SEE A WEDDING IS ON !

I did.

Hmmmmm

So . We sat and we waited and waited and waited....
We went to the bar in the end and ordered our food.
We waited and waited and waited ... Yawn...
And waited .....
Then I asked one of the many staff rushing about and I mean many ! If my lunch was actually coming ?
It came. Missing most of it. About 3 different people finally collected together our order and got it to the table.
Kudos to the chef because my food was lovely. Very well priced and lovely.
As for the rest of the place don't bother . The staff think they are perhaps working at The Ritz. They are not . The chefs sat smoking out the back of the kitchens a tad un classy . The ignoring of paying customers because of a function needs to be addressed . It's simple really. Dedicated 1 member of staff to deal with lunch so service can be of a quality . I was happy to sit in amongst the wedding but not happy to be ignored because of it.
Oh and the vase of flowers on the table in reception is stunningly beautiful !
Shame.
Lovely building, great surroundings, nice food but oh so totally let down by staff who don't give a toss. Swanning about ignoring customers is so boring. Try some simple customer service. After all surely you need our money through your tills ?
Approach with caution.
You have been warned.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dollyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel, situated in an area of great beauty could be excellent. Sadly our stay was mired by unpleasant waiters forbidding us to sit near a window, unhelpful reception unable to allow my wife who became sick from food, possibly eaten in the hotel, to stay in our room for a few hours after 11.00 and zero sympathy. It could be a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid weddings and rooms near the discotheque
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lausiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Lausiers,

I am sorry you feel your stay was not up to our normal standard, and if I felt my staff had genuinely gone out of their way to make you feel unwelcome, I would certainly be extremely apologetic.

However I do feel there are a few inaccuracies in your comments which should be highlighted.

Unfortunately we were unable to allow you to stay in the same bedroom for a late checkout as we had back to back weddings with all but one of our bedrooms booked. To help you and your wife, my reception staff and assistant manager offered you our only available bedroom, complimentary, for 2 hours which you accepted and thanked them for. Therefore I feel the statement that we offered “zero sympathy” to be rather appalling.

We are always willing to offer complimentary late check outs or early check ins when we can, but unfortunately, this is not always possible. We only have 36 bedrooms, and when we have busy weekends it is very difficult to accommodate these requests.

We do not appreciate the slanderous suggestion that our food in any way caused your wife to become unwell. We have a very good hygiene rating and have not had any reported incidents of food poisoning in the past but more specifically at the time of your booking.

With regards to your comment of “unpleasant waiters forbidding you to sit near a window”, unfortunately, all the tables by the windows were already pre-booked by other guests. We do have plenty of nice areas to dine at Deans Place. Many of our guests enjoy dining out on the terrace or enjoy taking breakfast in the gardens on a warm sunny morning. Our staff are incredibly professional, and, will do their upmost to give you the best service they can.

I really do hope you choose to visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,
James Dopson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Germain Des Pres
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

There are hotels and then there are a few hotels like Deans Place. It is not simply a stay, but rather an experience of indulgence at an affordable price. The restaurant offers a menu of the highest quality and the chef is a genius.You can wander through the gardens or swim in the pool. The sofas in the lounge that you sink into and the staff to whom nothing is a trouble make your stay a most enjoyable one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sallepenche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

stayed one night, my last night of the South Downs Way. They said they gave me an upgrade - well I wonder what the other room was like. Faded splendour, clearly not enough money around to renovate the place. Sheet was ok, no duvet but a rather used blanket on the bed, peeling wall paper, rusty appliances in the bathroom - the worst was that just below my room was an events room and there was a wedding reception going on. It was very loud spilling out onto the terrace and I was very tired. But I had the most delicious meal absolutely exquisite vegan option, an appetizer (mushroom pate), superb presentation and taste, - I am not a vegetarian but I have rarely eaten so well. That's what I would go back for but not to stay.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank entian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
19.0 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Seaford Road, Alfriston BN26 5TW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its origins in the 14th century this hotel is situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, set in extensive gardens with a stunning backdrop of the South Downs. An ideal retreat when visiting Glyndebourne, walking the South Downs, or visiting the attractive towns, villages and stunning coastline of East Sussex. The hotel has a heated swimming pool available from May to September and has direct access to the South Downs way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deans Place Alfriston
Deans Place, Country Hotel And Restaurant Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing