We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Took my friend for her 40th. It was not busy but the service was non existent (despite many staff) and I had to go up to the bar to order. I did eventually get an apology from the water who had forgotten us!

The afternoon tea was disappointing - dirty tea pots and plates. A limited range of cakes. The scones were like rock cakes!

Polite and smiling staff do not make up for slow service surely the waiting staff should notice the dirty crockery before taking it out?

We sat in the garden (well kept) but there was bird poop al over the tables and seat pads. Living by the coast I have the same issues but this poop had clearly been there a while - why are the tables not cleaned at the start of the day?

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank Sydney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
There are newer reviews for Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay at Deans Place to attend a family wedding and overall a wonderful stay and excellent wedding venue. Staff were all courteous, friendly and very helpful and the wedding ran without a hitch. The food at the wedding breakfast was excellent, very nicely presented and beautifully cooked. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant as we walked into the village on our first night for a meal, it is a really quaint and unspoilt village with 3 pubs and lots of tea shops, well worth a visit!
Our double room overlooked the reception car park, not the best view but was nicely furnished and of a good size. If I had to make any negative comment it would be that the whole place would benefit from air - conditioning as our room and bathroom and all those of our wedding party were exceptionally hot as were the public rooms, that said I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family and hope to stay again when next visiting the area.

Room Tip: Not sure as only saw our room No 49
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Happyjan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We came to Deans place when they had Robbie Williams Tribute act on it was fabulous, we stayed the night and had breakfast next morning. Food FAb Entertainment Fab Staff lovely and friendly Hotel clean and comfortable very impressed cant wait to go again

Room Tip: Not sure we have only stayed once our room looked out onto the garden which had suffered from the fl...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimmywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I would like to say how fantastic the customer service team are at deans place, friendly, kind & attentive. I would recommend this hotel... They handled my complaint with such care, my husband & i are staying there again as an apology free of charge in the executive suit with dinner bed & breakfast.. I am a very happy customer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lisaw w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stumbled onto this hotel and were very pleased we did. The staff were exceptionaly helpful and friendly. It is in a quaint village and looked liked there was plenty of rambling. Very clean and hearty breakfast. To be recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here after being let down by another hotel in Lewes. They couldn't have been more helpful. We had a family room and added another bed as there were four adults. It was clean, oldie worldy and charming good value with a lovely setting in a pretty village. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ciaomha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is the third time staying at this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We have always stayed as part of a special offer and I would not feel this hotel was good value if I had to pay the full room price. One cannot fault the staff and their enthusiasm and effort to make you feel welcome however, the rooms in the hotel are a bit dated and have a "tired" feeling to them with produce at breakfast not being as fresh as we would have expected, hence my last comment. Excellent location in a fantastic Sussex Village and I would recommend dinner at the Wingrove (just across the road).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank UkWowzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
224 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,623 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#5 of 8 in Lewes
820 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
98 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Seaford Road, Alfriston BN26 5TW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Price Range: £71 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its origins in the 14th century this hotel is situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, set in extensive gardens with a stunning backdrop of the South Downs. An ideal retreat when visiting Glyndebourne, walking the South Downs, or visiting the attractive towns, villages and stunning coastline of East Sussex. The hotel has a heated swimming pool available from May to September and has direct access to the South Downs way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deans Place Alfriston
Deans Place, Country Hotel And Restaurant Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing