We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Alfriston is a classic unspoiled Sussex village which attracts campers, walkers and tourists. There are a number of tea shops and pubs. Deans Place is at the edge of the village with well kept grounds and plenty of parking. It is likely to attract a large number of weddings and other celebrations and there is a diverse selection of guests. Like many olde world hotels it has it's disadvantages and if you are tall you may leave with a bruised head! Our room was above the entrance and did not have a good view of the south downs. We heard the occasional suitcase being dragged but this did not disturb our sleep. It was comfortable with a large double bed and there is a turn down service which is welcoming. There is not much space in the room and the bathroom was very small and uninspiring but quite functional. The furnishings all over the hotel are rather tired but well in keeping with the general old fashioned atmosphere. The bar is a pleasant intimate place to drink or relax on the settees and is certainly needed when it is raining (boots are provided if you go outside). We did not have dinner there but the function room seems to be used as a dining room sometimes and it is a rather boring area. The reception staff are efficient but not over friendly (there were no "Good Mornings" as we passed staff in the corridors) however it is at breakfast that the hotel exceeds expectation. The staff, and particular Luis, are very attentive and you will not wait long to be served. There is a full extensive breakfast and also included are various items by order such as waffles. The quality of the food was high and the dining room was light and spacious. The rooms were cleaned daily with polite and happy staff. Overall it was a good experience and would be a great place for a peaceful week-end away. There are 3 pubs in the village all of which serve food so you are not confined to the hotel and they are all within walking distance. We paid £140 per night including breakfast for a double room at the weekend.

Room Tip: Two aspects of the hotel look out over the car park. Ask for an unrestricted view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluebellplasnewydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

It's good to find a hotel in which all the staff are cheerful and helpful, as well as having clean and well-equipped rooms at reasonable prices. The only slight disappointment was with a couple of the items on the dinner menu in the attractive restaurant, which were over-complex and rather bland. We would suggest the chef should not try quite so hard to produce "clever" combinations of ingredients, and should let good quality ingredients, simply cooked, speak for themselves.
But overall, a good hotel in wonderful countryside.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We enjoyed our Afternoon Tea at Deans Place via a Groupon offer. We sat at a table overlooking the gardens which looked beautiful in the sunshine. The sandwiches and various cakes were excellent, they tasted fresh and moist. The staff were superb.
We will visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikedixon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have stayed here on 4 occasions, travelling on my own, they are always very welcoming. Whilst some of the rooms are rather tired and in need of serious updating, the food is really good and not too expensive and what the hotel lacks in exclusivity is made up for by the really friendly and approachable staff. I would recommend this hotel if you are travelling on your own or want to use it for a base to explore the area from. Just pick your room carefully, some are lovely especially in the main part of the house.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the older rooms in the main part of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rafharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This was a LivingSocial deal but we were made to feel just as special as if it had not been.
The finger sandwiches were delicious, ham, egg, cucumber and smoked salmon. The fruit cake was so moist, the scones as light as a fairy served with homemade jam and clotted cream.
Plus really sharp lemon mini tartlets, choux buns oozing with cream and finally chocolate dipped strawberries. All served with copious amounts of tea.
This was really lovely sitting in the fantastic gardens and enjoying the sunshine. The hotel looked lovely and traditional and one I would love to experience.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank bbbbb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I had booked this as a treat for my friend and I via a voucher on a daily Internet offering.
It was a perfect day so we sat outside having a drink before we went in for our tea.The grounds and ambience are just lovely; placed in a relaxed and idyllic setting.
The prescribed tea was very good value and for the most part enjoyable and delicious.
The 2 things that let the hotel down were a lack of attentive or speedy service and dreadful scones . A new recipe needs to be tried as these were hard and difficult to cut/chew.Such a shame as the rest of our experience was good and well worth what we had paid .With more training and motivation the staff could really make the afternoon tea special.For example a pot of tea arrived and then we waited for 30 mins for the food to appear.This was despite me ordering our sandwiches some time before as I needed some without spread.
All in all good value for money but very disappointing re the service experienced.

Room Tip: Did not stay in hotel as live fairly locally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SouthCoastBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Booked last minute, which in hindsight was a mistake, as they only had one room left but the price was good so we took it. Room was clean but bed cushions on the floor, made me think someone had checked in and changed rooms. It was very small and hot although a fan was provided, it would have felt bigger if there had not been so much furniture in it. The bed was too long/not big so you were not able to open the wardrobe door fully. Glad we were there for only one night.
Breakfast was lovely plenty of choice and fresh and plenty of room in the car park.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tannerwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
243 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,932 reviews
6.7 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
246 reviews
6.5 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,695 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Seaford Road, Alfriston BN26 5TW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Price Range: £77 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its origins in the 14th century this hotel is situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, set in extensive gardens with a stunning backdrop of the South Downs. An ideal retreat when visiting Glyndebourne, walking the South Downs, or visiting the attractive towns, villages and stunning coastline of East Sussex. The hotel has a heated swimming pool available from May to September and has direct access to the South Downs way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deans Place Alfriston
Deans Place, Country Hotel And Restaurant Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing