We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

The second time we have been here for christmas (Boxing Day) and once again another enjoyable stay. Thank you for the free upgrade it really was appreciated. Graham the Manager is really charming and so attentive to his guest (as are the other staff).

The Boxing Day buffet was just as expected, we had (once again) a lovely buffet and all in all a great stay.

The room we were upgraded to was lovely, what a lovely view over the downs. Did not really want to leave. Can't wait until next December!!!!

This hotel really is worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomthumb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    209
    72
    30
    5
See reviews for
118
304
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed in this hotel in Nov 2010 because it was my wife's birthday. Two other couples were with us - daughters and their men, plus my wife's sister. We had already book a place to eat in the village so we can't comment about the restaurant though everything at Deans Place was just right. They set up the birthday drinks perfectly - in a room off the main bar so we were on our own. Everything about the service was excellent - afternoon tea, morning coffee and the breakfast was super. They made up a nice round table to serve all 7 of us. Thank you Deans Place!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

My wife took me here as a surprise for our wedding anniversary – we quite often stay in very modern chain hotels, so it was a nice change to stay in an older property with large grounds. We were met, and greeted warmly by, the manager and his reception staff. We were staying in the old part of the hotel, in a corner room. The room was very clean and furnished well, with a mix of the old (a lovely four poster bed) and the new (LCD TV and DVD player). The bathroom, although completely functional and with great toiletries, could have done with a little updating.

We decided to have dinner in the village on our first night, but had a great cooked breakfast the following morning in the hotel. We were given good advice by the hotel staff about suitable walking routes in the area, and followed one of those to Exceat – a very pleasurable walk along the river. Dinner in the hotel was included, and both my wife (who is vegetarian) and I had a really tasty meal. There were a couple of large groups, as well as a wedding reception, but this didn’t seem to impact the quality or speed of the food. We had coffee in the lounge afterwards (nice touch) and had a nightcap before borrowing one of the DVDs from reception – I’d recommend bringing your own DVDs as the selection isn’t huge.

Breakfast on Sunday was a buffet affair, which worked well given that the hotel was close to full. After that we took a leisurely stroll into the village (less than 10 minutes) and visited the 14th Century Alfriston Clergy House, the first National Trust property. We spent the rest of the morning browsing in the shops before returning to the hotel and checking out. We were glad that we had left the car in London as there is more than enough to do within walking distance of the hotel. However, you’ll need to book a taxi in advance to/from the train station (we went to Berwick) and it was more expensive than London taxis (£9 I recall for a five minute drive.

Having looked at some of the earlier reviews I can only say that the new manager and owner must have worked hard over the last couple of years since they took over to get the place to what it is today – an oasis in the Sussex countryside with comfortable rooms, good food, and efficient, friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at this fantastic gem of a hotel, in the quant village of Alfriston. Fantastic scenery of the fields and gardens from our room 26. The food and service was incredible, first class hotel! Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gembows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

The restaurant is fantastic and the gardens are beautiful. They were generally very family-friendly and had some good deals for getting money off local attractions. We stayed in one of their family rooms - a double for us and adjoining room for the kids. The rooms were absolutely beautiful, but tiny.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoSmallBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

We managed to get the last two rooms after going down to the South Downs to walk and wanting to stay. I think we will still feel relaxed for many months to come! We had superb food, enjoyed breakfast and slept very well in our comfortable beds. The swimming pool was lovely and we had many hours of fun and exercise in it. Even though we had no smart clothes with us, there was no sign of this being a problem or 'sniffed at' at all. Our dog was allowed anywhere except the dining room which was exactly how it should be, and rarely is. It was such a pleasure watching or playing croquet on the lawn, sitting relaxing for hours in the comfortable sitting room reading. The evening bar food was lovely as was the 'Deans Place' afternoon tea. Guest and visitors alike were welcomed to this lovely country house hotel. Do try it if you are in the area - Alfriston is a wonderful country village with beautiful scenery, bookshop and tea rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaTurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

We decided to do a walk of the South Downs over 2 days so chose this hotel to stay over at. Very well presented with a very posh receptionist who was very professional but lacked any sincerity or warmth.
When we got to our room it was terribly hot, we couldn't stay in there long, no air conditioning, an open window might have been a good idea before we arrived!
Their restaurant offered very little in the way of vegetarian options especially if you don't eat fish, very traditional menu. There was a bar & restaurant menu, neither suited so we went to the hotel next door which was expensive with poor service but at least had food we could eat.
Breakfast was a huge dissapointment, once we found where it was hiding (maybe some signage would be useful) It offered a buffet of soaked fruit, cereals, juices etc but there was no bowls available & no glasses. The milk for the cereal was just left on the buffet table & not kept chilled. The cooked breakfast menu further disappointed, no vegetarian option, when I enquired they offered the full cooked just without the meat items - mushooms, tom, egg. I declined as I don't eat eggs or like mushrooms. Could I suggest the hotel considers a potato option eg hash browns,baked beans & vegetarian sausages as options in future? And also supply a popular breakfast staple of Marmite!
The bed was uncomfortable (2 twins pushed together). The bathroom was very basic with a sink which has a shelf you hit your head on when you try to get near the sink to wash your face.
We decided to use the bar in the evening after dinner & we had to enquire with the barman (9pm) if it was open as it was empty. It furnisher was reminisent of a rest home but comfortable.
All in all the place looks very pleasant from the outside & its location to walking the South Downs area is very convient but it lacked any style, atmosphere or modernity & the majority of the staff seemed unsure when we asked any question which made me uneasy.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegetarian_hoteluser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
19.0 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Seaford Road, Alfriston BN26 5TW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its origins in the 14th century this hotel is situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, set in extensive gardens with a stunning backdrop of the South Downs. An ideal retreat when visiting Glyndebourne, walking the South Downs, or visiting the attractive towns, villages and stunning coastline of East Sussex. The hotel has a heated swimming pool available from May to September and has direct access to the South Downs way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deans Place Alfriston
Deans Place, Country Hotel And Restaurant Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing