We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic quality food served here”
Review of The Tudor House Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Tudor House Restaurant
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“basic quality food served here”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I've just had a very poor lunch at this restaurant. Cheap plastic ham and a dull basic salad of leaves, cucumber and tomato! It is a pity because it was lovely sitting in the garden enjoying the sun until the food arrived. It cost £8.95.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArtemisHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tudorhouserestaurant, Owner at The Tudor House Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to the Tudor House Restaurant. Although we welcome all responses, good and some bad I feel it necessary to respond to such a negative comment. I remember your visit well as not only am I the owner of the restaurant I am also the head chef and produced your meal. You asked the waitress for a ham salad, which is not on our menu, and she had no hesitation in saying yes. Your salad was made from leaves picked by our local veg supplier, served with de-seeded cucumber, tomatoes and yellow peppers dressed with a homemade balsamic dressing with "cured ham" (as stated on our menu) and it is by no means "cheap" or "plastic" and is supplied by our local meat supplier. This ham works well with the ham, egg and chips dish (which is on our menu). That said, if you had a problem with the meal, all you had to do was say. It seems that some people find it more convenient to hide behind the computer than facing the problem at the time. If your meal was that awful why not say so and allow us the opportunity to rectify the problem and offer you an alternative. I pride myself on having very approachable staff, and know for a fact, if you had mentioned the problem, we could of found a solution and hopefully given you a more joyful experience.
What I do find hard to understand, and what prospective customer reading this might want to take into account, is that for such an awful meal you managed to eat everything. When clearing your plates I expected to find most of it left after what you had said to the waitress, but nothing, all gone! If I was out and eating a meal I felt was awful I would personally STOP eating it and tell a member of staff. When given the opportunity to talk with me at the time, you declined finding easier to be detrimental to my business online. Well I have had our restaurant for 12 years and despite the economic climate we are still surviving today by offering our customers wonderful service coupled with excellent food from local suppliers. I understand we cannot please everyone but I wish customers would talk about any problems with us rather than jumping on the nearest website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    2
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awful lunch, avoid!”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

No tabasco for tomato juice. At lunchtime, ordered a ham and cheese pannini, the bread was lowest common denominator industrial pap, despite a thriving bakery in nearby village, which the excellent Alfriston shop stocks, the ham was also lowest possible quality, wringing wet and tasteless. Cannot imagine what more expensive things on menu were like but will not be returning to find out!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tudorhouserestaurant, Owner at The Tudor House Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment with regards to your visit to our restaurant. From what I remember you also came into the restaurant and sat at the same table with the previous person who wrote a comment. Once again, I remember your visit well and not wishing to repeat myself too much and bore the readers, I will respond in fairly the same way. Your tomato juice beverage is well remembered as you were very particular, even down to the glass (which I certainly do not have a problem with) your waitress even checked that it was ok for you to which you replied "fine thank you". I find your use of language towards our panini's quite offensive and completely inaccurate. We use, and have been using, Italian flat bread (as described on the menu) for our panini's for the last 9 years and it would make no sense in doing that if customers were not enjoying them or ordering them. As for the idea of serving "wringing wet ham", I refer back to my previous response that our ham is supplied by a local supplier and if you didn't enjoy it why not say so at the time so we can rectify the problem, and offer an alternative.
Again, what I find hard to understand, and what prospective customer reading this might want to take into account, is that for such an awful meal you managed to eat everything. When clearing your plates I expected to find most of it left after what you had said to the waitress, but nothing, all gone! If I was served what you described in your comment I would personally STOP eating and tell a member of staff, I certainly would not go on to clear the plate. When given the opportunity to talk with me at the time, you declined finding it easier to be detrimental to my business online. Well I have had our restaurant for 12 years and despite the economic climate we are still surviving today by offering our customers wonderful service coupled with excellent food from local suppliers. I understand we cannot please everyone but I wish customers would talk about any problems with us rather than jumping on the nearest website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Recommended Place!”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Been visiting this restaurant / cafe for many years mainly because its in my favourite walking location! 95 % of the time it's great food and decent service in a pleasant welcoming environment. 100 % of the time, it's a lovely place to stop. Food is good quality, and the chef / proprietor is always concerned that you walk away satisfied. For nearly all visits we have enjoyed the food but there have been odd exceptions. This is usually when someone else has been in the kitchen, but I too have had mediocre sunday experiences. I really want this restaurant to improve consistency to 100%.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good quality food with excellent service”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We had an excellent meal at the Tudor House last night. The staff were very welcoming and attentive. All four of us enjoyed our meals. The menu includes some well chosen local produce, I had the Chorizo Roasted Local Cod with Calcannon Mash and it was delicious,

Helpful?
Thank ThisEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Poor service and awful coffee”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The waitress was very unfriendly and the late coffee - was it the instant variety that you pour boiling water on? It tasted awful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank taiters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tudor House Restaurant also viewed

 
Alfriston, East Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing