We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A shock”
Review of The George Inn

The George Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A shock”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Having eaten here before I recommended it when a friend offered to treat me. The smoked duck was sliced too thick, chewy. The staff cheerfully offered a replacement of the ham hock terrine - thankfully. The Thai curry bore no relation to Thailand. I ordered a steak cooked medium. It arrived well done, the chips were sodden and oily. When the bill came we asked if service was included and were told "no" so we handed over extra cash. On leaving we looked and the bill had included service. What is happening here?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank woottonwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland C, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
I am so sorry that your experience at The George was not a good one. I was glad that the staff replaced the duck promptly for you. We get a lot of positive comments regarding our steak and Thai style curry, obviously on this occasion we did not deliver to those standards, for which I am very sorry. As for service charge we only ever put an optional service charge on large parties, which clearly you were not. If this was the case please contact me in person and I will fully reimburse you. You kindly said you had eaten with us before and that it was good, I do hope you can try us once more and we can show you that your poor experience was a one off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    146
    51
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Picturesque old Coaching inn, lovely food”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We met with family for a lunch on a Saturday, having booked first. Lovely menu, we all enjoyed our meals - mains around £12-16. Staff were helpful and friendly and the service was good. Nice relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sueberry12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The George in Alfriston is the place we choose to take our visitors when they come to see us as its standards are consistently high; the food is delicious, and the service is very good and feel it is the best pub/restaurant in Eastbourne. Try the duo of lamb - it is a triumph.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccsunshinecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Welcoming Pub”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Visited as part if a large group. Nice atmosphere, open fire, pleasant beer garden. And great value champagne :)

I believe the beers were good but I don't drink beer...

Helpful?
1 Thank RachelCockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Mmmm...Mother's Day”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Delicious Sunday Lunch on the busiest day of the year for any decent restaurant. Our meals were wonderful, cooked beautifully and a really good choice for a set menu. The service was very good and there is always a lovely atmosphere at The George, a proper family run business. Look forward to coming back soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hairnohair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

 

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing