We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50th birthday celebration.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Inn

The George Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Sussex
Level Contributor
139 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“50th birthday celebration.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

...and what a lovely meal to celebrate. Seven of us shared two sharing platters (one veggie, one meat) which were ample for us. Main courses included trout on lentils (tasty and succulent), beef, aubergine and filo pastry and veg Thai curry. All were enjoyed, Then crème brulee which was delish. We shared 3 bottles of wine and the bill came to £32pp (more than I usually spend on a meal but it was a special occasion!). Service was excellent and the building is absolutely beautiful. In fact last time I ate here it was with my hubby (to be!) on my 21st birthday, the night we got engaged! (a long time ago!)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FairsWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    134
    49
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We ate at The George twice over our 3 day stay in Alfriston. The first night we had: Duo of Lamb (Pan roasted loin with a braised shank parcel served with cabbage, chestnuts and red wine jus) and Filo parcel filled with aubergine, spinach and pine nuts with roasted new potatoes and red pepper sauce - both amazing. The Lamb was cooked to perfection!
Second night had the Whole baked camembert studded with garlic and rosemary with toast and crudités for two to share, Courgette, quinoa and feta fritters with autumn tomato chutney and Fillet of Trout on red lentils, vegetables and chorizo, with braised fennel, saffron sauce - again all very good.
The Lemon mascarpone Cheesecake with berry coulis is a must!!
Good selection of wines and fantastic service!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline_4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
162 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Dog and human friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stopped here for drinks and starters as were staying opposite we were going to have a roast but had sold out boo hoo as looked good instead had Camembert and dips which were nice.

Doggy friendly lovely inside and a garden if the suns shining.

Staff really friendly makes a difference!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soliver1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Lunch here was a great experience as we booked a table in the bar and had great food with very good service.
A sea food platter for two was excellent and Lesley had mussels and I had the best roast pork in a very long while.
Good efficient service and a reasonable bill for a super lunch..
Book and come early before the walkers take up every inch of space including the super garden.
Then walk down the road and have 2 scoops of home made ice cream and then go home an sleep whist the Grand Prix is on.. PERFECT DAY OUT

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rodders123637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“By George ! May 14”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is an historic pub in a beautiful village.
It has bags of atmosphere and very friendly staff.
We visited as a family group of nine to celebrate a birthday.

My beef is the quality of the food.
The menu is interesting and varied with Thai influences.
The raw materials are fresh and the presentation very good.
Unfortunately when we visited no-one finished their meal.
We all felt that something wasn't quite right.
Mussels not fresh; ham that felt processed unappetising potatoes and something that resembled a heart in amongst some lamb.

I hesitate to be so damning as the staff were so pleasant, however the price charged and the service delivered made for poor value.In my view the menu was too ambitious in comparison to the ability of the kitchen staff.

I hope that the criticism will be taken constructively as I feel that the George is run with a positive attitude.

I hope to return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

 
Milton Street, East Sussex
 

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing