We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit pricey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverdale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alfriston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverdale House
Ranked #2 of 7 Alfriston B&B and Inns
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Excellent views, nice spacious, well equipped and comfortable bedroom. Friendly hosts though no one in when we arrived. We paid £110 but bathroom (very small and poor quality - shower head did not adjust, grouting dirty and hand basin chipped and cracked) was on the landing. A curtain separated it from the rest of the landing!

Room Tip: Check that you are booking an en suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrmanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
58
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

A warm welcome from Richard on arrival, superb breakfasts from Judy and great local knowledge from both helped make our short weekend away to the South Downs a real success. Beautiful setting and only a short walk from Alfriston - they even give you a torch to guide you on the dark evenings!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlaneSpeaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting for our friends' wedding. Could not have picked a better place! Extremely helpful and welcoming hosts, absolutely lovely room (attic suite) which was perfect for our needs. Slept brilliantly and breakfast was lovely. We would not hesitate to recommend Riverdale House to anyone and will definitely stay again if we are in the area. Many thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathp184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Staying at Riverdale House felt like visiting old friends, we were lent a map of the area & a rucksack complete with a first aid kit as we had forgotten to bring one for a lovely walk along the coast.
Richard & Judy were extremely helpful & hospitable letting us use their house phone as ours couldn't get a signal & suggesting restaurants & local taxis we could use.
The cooked breakfast was the best we have had anywhere & freshly prepared for each guest.
Easy to walk to Alfriston-they even give you a torch for the evening return trip!
My only criticism would be that some of the electrics in the room were a bit tired, the bedside lamp was very wobbly & the plug was held together by tape, but the room was clean & relaxing & as with old friends it's easy to overlook the small issues when overall you enjoy the company!

Room Tip: Views are better at the front of the house, but the back looks out over the garden & fields so l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AYHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Set in an idyllic and tranquil location with stunning views of the South Downs this B&B offered great hospitality. The beds were spacious and very comfortable and rooms tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. Our stay was thoroughly enjoyable and we’d have no hesitation in recommending Riverdale.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Beautiful bed and breakfast with gorgeous views and superb hospitality. The owners, Richard and Judy, truly think of every detail. Our cozy room was furnished with tea facilities and delicious home made cookies, a very comfortable bed and a lovely view of the garden. Breakfast options are hearty and delicious (great coffee), a delightful way to start the day. The house sits picturesquely atop a hill surrounded by beautiful countryside. A short walk from the village, we were supplied with a flashlight for returning after dark, which we often did after an evening at the village pubs enjoying locally sourced fare which pleasantly surpassed our expectations. My boyfriend and I stayed here over a weekend and hiked from Alfriston to Eastbourne, along Beachy Head. We enjoyed every moment and would certainly return!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

My family stayed in the Litlington attic room and adjoining room (sharing a shower room between the two rooms). Perfect for a small group like ours. While the rooms will not win any major swanky design awards, we found them clean and comfortable and well stocked with delicious home baked biscuits (tracked down by my 5 year old within 0.001 seconds of entering the room). A touch chilly in winter perhaps- big old houses like this are hard to heat when it's trying to snow outside- but extra blankets and hot water bottles available and heaters on request so no problem for us. Pack your fleecy pyjamas. Breakfast was delicious- for example, little details like offering a choice of smoked or unsmoked bacon. Really welcoming of small children, in small ways such as being happy to clean bibs for us and put them on the table again for breakfast. There is a swing hanging from a tree in the garden, and we saw rabbits and pheasants in the grounds. A short walk from the pretty village, with an excellent old pub "The George" (we didn't eat there but wished we had) and not far from the coast. While we went out Judy babysat our five year old and baby (£9/h). When the baby unexpectedly woke up and wouldn't settle, she took her downstairs and kept her on her lap for half an hour or so till we came back. Very caring and sensible. Really really impressed and happy parents. Thank you.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.3 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale House

Property: Riverdale House
Address: Riverdale Seaford Road, Alfriston BN26 5TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Alfriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Riverdale House Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing