We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would highly recommend”
Review of Riverdale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alfriston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverdale House
Ranked #2 of 6 Alfriston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed in the large family room, which was really comforable and very clean. Fantastic views from the windows. So nice to have delicious biscuits , fresh coffee and tea in our room, which was much needed.There were comfortable sofas and good magazines to read in the room. The towels and linen were also good quality and clean. Breakfast was delicious,and very good quality of produce.Richard was really friendly and made the children feel really welcome too , they really loved staying there. Lots of local places to eat out locally in the evening . We all really enjoyed our visit and would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pip092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed for a week and had the largest room which was ideal for our family as it had dividing doors between our room and our children's room. Judy and Richard, our hosts, thoroughly spoilt us. Beautiful breakfasts, with special effort made for our youngest daughter who is gluten-free. Our bed was extremely comfortable. Home-made bickkies were refilled everyday! Couldn't fault the place at all. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pling5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We were delighted with our two night break and felt very comfortable in this friendly b&b. Our room (Cuckmere) was spacious and comfortable, and had an amazing view over the lovely countryside. We slept well which is always a sign to me of a good place. The quality of ingredients of breakfast were what made it extra special - good coffee, bread, pots of jam etc, not silly little plastic portions, plus superb bacon with waffles and maple syrup - what a treat! We had read the reviews and knew about the walk into the village, which at night is a bit of a challenge, but actually we felt better for the fresh air after a big meal (don't miss the restaurant at Wingrove House) and had supplemented the little torch provided by the owners with a larger one brought from home, so it was fine. We also appreciated the well-stocked bookshelves and magazine selection in the lounge and the cafetiere with real coffee on the room tray and fresh milk in the mini-fridge. Although Afriston is a small village, and we had chosen it as a base to visit Battle and other Sussex destinations, we spent a very happy time browsing (and buying in) the outstanding bookshop (new and 2nd hand mixed up), and also a visit to the Clergy House, the first house that the National Trust bought, well worth the time. We would certainly come back if we visit this part of Sussex again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatheruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We were immediately put off by the difficulty of getting to this inn, particularly since the host mentioned how much they liked catering to walkers from the South Downs Way; on foot, we needed to traverse a busy highway over a half mile, making our way along a badly-maintained elevated sidewalk, and then trudge up a steep, confusingly-marked driveway. (There is also no taxi service or public transportation readily available here, and we had to walk back to the inn after dark after dinner in town, since the inn does not offer an evening meal.) Though the large, quite splendid home was attractively situated high above this highway, our room affording a lovely view of the valley, that room itself was offhandedly decorated with mismatched furniture and even a bare hook where once a picture had hung. (By the time we arrived at the Riverdale, we had stayed in eight other B and B's so we'd come to expect much more thoughtful decor.) Our host, though clearly an experienced hotelier, initially seemed rather ill-at-ease with the task of greeting visitors, and though he eventually kindly offered us a ride into town for dinner, and by the next morning, became a bit more chatty, he never reached the level of warmth we'd also come to expect from B and B owners. The breakfast room was quite clearly inadequately sized for more than a few occupants, and we shared it with a young family with several small children -- well-behaved, for sure, but crowded! The breakfast was adequate, but certainly not memorable. Given that we had paid as much or more for this lodging than any of the others in which we stayed, we were rather disappointed. It looked far better than it felt!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CapeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

My fiance and I stayed at Riverdale this weekend past and were very impressed.
The B&B is about 2 minutes drive out of Alfriston - about a 5 minute walk by day - or a 10 minute very giggly walk by night (there is no street lighting but the B&B thoughtfully provide a small torch attached to each room key !)
The B&B has a lovely communal area - a living room in deep reds with a fireplace, fresh flowers, comfortably sofas and lots of magazines and newspapers.
Breakfast was delicious - one morning I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, and the next, a full English with lovely local ingredients. There is also a serve yourself buffet of cereals, yoghurt, grapefruit, fruits.
We stayed in the Rathfinny room and although we missed out on the lovely view across the Cuckmere Valley, our room was so comfortable. Lovely soft clean sheets and big fluffy pillows, and so much peace and quiet. There was a little fridge in the room which held the fresh milk for your cafetiere coffee or tea, which was stored alongside some chunky hobnobby biccies.
Richard and Judy were a pleasure to talk to and very available to help, but not in the least bit pushy or overbearing.
We will definitely return.
PS Forgot to mention the big contented bunnies hopping through the garden!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexiloola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed at Riverdale House with a group of friends and it was the perfect place for us to chill out together. The owners Richard and Judy are the perfect hosts, they couldn't do anything more for you. The rooms are beautiful as is the view. My favourite part of the stay was the breakfast, a delicious feast of local produce. Oh and the homemade cookies in the room!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Struckmanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Beautifully decorated B&B - very clean with lots of thoughtful touches (including a cafetiere, fresh milk and homemade biscuits in the room alongside the usual tea etc and a dvd library for the TVs). We had a wonderful breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the hills. This b&b is about a 5 min walk into the village so maybe not suitable if you find walking difficult and would rather not drive into Alfriston (v pretty and a great starting place for a walk along the South Downs way to the coast) but otherwise highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Hotel-truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.2 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
227 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
525 reviews
6.6 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,025 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wingrove House
Wingrove House
#1 of 6 in Alfriston
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale House

Address: Riverdale Seaford Road, Alfriston BN26 5TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Alfriston
Price Range: £80 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Riverdale House Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing