We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but not great site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alfriston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alfriston Camping Park
Hythe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, but not great site”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at this campsite over a hot weekend in July. The site is in such a great location, Surrounded by wonderful woodland and just a short walk from the village. The field for tents is spacious on a slope. The toilet block in the field is not good especially if it has been hot( very smelly and not cleaned regularly enough for the amount of people). Several times I went there with no toilet paper. The shower block with more toilets ( which was a short walk away in another field) was better, hot water and everything you would need, except very tired and in need of refurbishment. One problem we found was the site is run like organised chaos, except not that organised. People can pitch wherever they like and this can be problematic with vehicle access, on the whole on our visit most people were respectful but still some ruin it for others with loud music which not everyone wants to hear. This was dealt with briefly before the volume rose again. This obviously can happen anywhere, so no real detriment to the site. The campfire set up is good, plenty of drums and bricks for evening campfires. Would I return here ? Yes, but only for a night and I will have a shower when I get home. Would also be good to have a bit more of a pitch area layout.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krambo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    11
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

As other reviews have said the location is great, only a few minutes walk from the middle of the village, hence the average rating. However, whilst the water is nice and hot I doubt it can kill all the bugs in those toilets, sinks and showers! The facilities really let this place down. All they need is regular i.e. daily cleaning. Some of the sinks definitely had not been cleaned properly for some time. A statement saying that the facilities are going to be improved next year does not justify £7 per adult this year!
As for the owner's relaxed attitude he can afford to be relaxed when everything is cash in hand and no receipts! Relaxed means that with no guidelines/rules other campers are inconsiderate and noisy late at night and early in the morning. Pity, the whole experience could be great!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stopped at this location for a few nights. Poorly signposted at the entrance as the signs are covered by vegetation. Nice field to park on and hardstanding with EHu.

What lets this place down are the run-down facilities which are badly in need of upgrading. Not the worst we have come across but when you stop at some of the new sites on the West Coast of Scotland they put this place to shame.

Alfriston is a lovely little town and the surrounding area is lovely. Roy was very laid back and genuinely friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arrachogaidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

The campsite is in a beautiful location with great access to Seaford and Eastbourne. The site has all the basics that you need (extremely hot showers - fantastic!! The village of is not very far away to get all your groceries. I really liked the low key way that Roy runs the camp site - he is a genuinely friendly guy
Would I go back - absolutely!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PaulSimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Fantastic, just the kind of campsite we like. Welcoming owner, relaxed attitude, informal, spacious but with good amenities and a lovely village within easy walking distance. Beautiful scenery and we had some good walks despite the rain!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.3 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
218 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
941 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
96 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rathfinny Wine Estate – The Flint Barns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfriston Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfriston Camping Park

Property: Alfriston Camping Park
Address: Pleasant Rise Farm Cuckmere Road, Alfriston BN26 5TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Alfriston
Also Known As:
Alfriston Camping Park East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing