We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we could have stayed longer.”
Review of George Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alfriston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
George Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Alfriston B&B and Inns
Havant, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wished we could have stayed longer.”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Went into Alfriston, on the way to Eastbourne. What a pretty village, Have a look at the Clergy House,on the village green. Full of History. We popped into the George for a pint and a sandwich. Lovely old pub, friendly staff. Roaring fire. Enjoyed it

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    37
    11
    12
    11
See reviews for
25
64
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here as a group for two nights during Glyndebourne. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and the breakfast, with all the weekend newspapers provided, was delicious. Lots of cooked options from full flat fry up through to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or kippers. I had kippers and they were great.
The rooms are quite quirky and the showers not great, but they have lots of character and they are very clean and comfortable. I was in a single room which was a reasonable size for a single room and had tea / coffee, hair dryer, quality white sheets (which they changed after one night, even though I was only staying two nights - impressive).
My room was £70 a night, the larger rooms are more but I have to say I thought this was great value. Much nicer than staying in a B&B.
I would definitely stay here again... Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missbloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We found without a booking and were pleased with the reasonably priced, though somewhat small, room with a comfortable bed, a good shower with amenities, and excellent food. The building reflects its ancient provenance and is a bit quirky, but reassuring that fire plans are well laid out. Slight down side is parking on the street a couple of blocks away, but then medieval pubs were not meant for cars, were they? Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed at the George Inn over New Year and was really pleased with it. Stayed in the Red room which is even nicer than it looks in the photos. It's traditional, cosy and welcoming. The staff worked incredibly hard and were extremely attentive and friendly. Lovely fire in the pub downstairs and great food too (especially the Venison). I would definitely stay here again and would definitely recommend to others. You wont break the bank and you're bound to enjoy your stay here if you like traditional style and relaxed surroundings.

Room Tip: Red room is great and I think one of the quieter rooms if you want to avoid noise from the pub downs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Excellent service on a busy Saturday lunch
Very efficient, smiling and friendly staff, all of them.
Food was excellent and large portion.
Very cosy atmosphere, in a very pretty village.
Worth the 18 miles from Brighton!!!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisTraveller1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

My husband and I had our wedding reception at the George on the 15th December and it really was everything we hoped for and more!
We chose the George because we both wanted a traditional medieval location for the celebration and begun planning with Roland and Cate in January 2012. Right through to the day before they were a delight! We hired the restaurant room for 52 guests; the room hire charge was very reasonable and the food price quoted was far less than we were expecting - our guests all commented on the excellent quality and quantity of the food - everybody was delighted and nobody left hungry! My fiance and I wanted a relaxed winter wedding properly done and in the months, weeks and days before Roland and Cate were quick to reply to emails, very considerate, and on the day itself, we couldn't fault them or their staff. The room was tastefully decorated and Cate was very helpful with our own desires for table decorations, the cake and music. We also hired the bedrooms for the wedding party and they were clean, very comfortable and continued the theme of the rest of the inn; it was a real treat to stay there. Breakfast the next day was superb. Though we have no intention of marrying again (!) we would happily book the George for family events or for a good meal in the future, and would recommend for a visit of any description!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bob Hall room, which has beautiful medieval wall paintings and a fantastic fireplac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Oh dear...what a couple of miserable and unfriendly people. In today's climate of income versus expense these two did not deserve our custom. OK the place is old and exciting from the outside and it has a very welcome log fire but, where was the atmosphere? It had nothing for us. We had made a planned visit to Alfriston with the intention to eat here as we were here this time last year. Last year we were greeted by lively, happy staff and we had ham, eggs and chips. We had yearned to repeat our time in this beautiful high street 'village' and to have the same meal as we did last year. The difference this time was; no welcome Hello from the Bar, in fact, no speech at all. Even a grunt would have been nice but there was nothing at all other than a glaring look from the man and the woman standing behind the bar. Why behave like this towards customers? Do they not want custom? There was certainly no atmosphere here. We ordered our ham, eggs and chips and a bottle of sparkling water which was served by the Mr Miserable who had obviously got out of bed the wrong side that morning, unless he is always like this. The food was average. The chips (oven chips) were over done as were the two eggs. The ham was nice though and the small clump of salad leaves were fresh and tasty. But, the cost was way too high for what we had especially as we were not offered any condiments other than the salt and pepper on the table. How can you enjoy ham egg and chips without Ketchup? Not even any vinegar! Come on proprietors, how can you charge £25.40p for a poor meal like this? If you were more cheerful, welcomed your customers, said something to them and smiled occasionally maybe your pub would be filled with customers. I saw you stirring your 'cuppasoup' and eating it believing nobody was watching you. You don't deserve to have such a super building in a beautiful, pretty little village. It's not too late to make a New Year Resolution.....Be Happy! For sure you've lost two excellent travellers. We won't return. We'll go to The Ship on the opposite side of the road to you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.0 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
96 reviews
7.8 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
804 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rathfinny Wine Estate – The Flint Barns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Inn

Property: George Inn
Address: High Street, Alfriston BN26 5SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Alfriston
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
George Hotel Alfriston
George Inn Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing