We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of George Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alfriston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
George Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Alfriston B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Just driving through and see this pub. Wow its wonderful.
The food is amazing, a great menu, beautifully presented and good value.
The old beams are still in tact and the service us excellent.
The village is so quaint, so this pub is well worth a visit

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliepocock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    37
    10
    12
    10
See reviews for
25
62
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Popped in here for a lunchtime drink but were a trifle peckish too. A bar snack, suggested by the publican's daughter, proved to be the perfect solution, a Mediterranean platter of olives and fresh bread. The atmosphere was buzzing and although busy, we were served promptly with ready smiles and banter. A lovely welcoming place to go on a windy, wet, winter's day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfanatic20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We booked for a family party and were not disappointed. Our last minute changes were well accommodated for and the staff were friendly and positive throughout. We had a large number of small children with us who were made to feel very welcome. Most of the food was great, apart from a rather unfortunate goats cheese starter that was pretty unpleasant! All other starters and mains went down well. Nice puddings and excellent cheese board. The atmosphere created was very 'Christmasy' with great decorations etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the oak-beamed Red Room which was a lovely size, with plenty of room for a 6ft sleigh bed, two easy chairs and table and a wardrobe and sideboard. It had an ensuite with a bath with shower over which was all absolutely fine. The food served in the restaurant side of the pub downstairs was very, very good. With my husband I shared a whole, oven-baked camembert served with crudities and bread - delicious! The rest of the meal was excellent both in quality and presentation. The wine list was varied and had a good selection from pricey to reasonable. The breakfasts were stunningly good with fresh juice and all the daily newspapers provided. Service was discreet, charming, friendly and prompt. What's not to like? We would love to return there one day soon.

Room Tip: Can recommend the Red Room for its size and charm although road noise an occasional issue during day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linpet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Dinner Saturday evening. Nothing to write home about here. Rather over priced and poor pub food. Just a shame as the village deserves better than this. Staff are nice enough but rather casual but the starter and mains we had were very uninteresting.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Went into Alfriston, on the way to Eastbourne. What a pretty village, Have a look at the Clergy House,on the village green. Full of History. We popped into the George for a pint and a sandwich. Lovely old pub, friendly staff. Roaring fire. Enjoyed it

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here as a group for two nights during Glyndebourne. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and the breakfast, with all the weekend newspapers provided, was delicious. Lots of cooked options from full flat fry up through to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or kippers. I had kippers and they were great.
The rooms are quite quirky and the showers not great, but they have lots of character and they are very clean and comfortable. I was in a single room which was a reasonable size for a single room and had tea / coffee, hair dryer, quality white sheets (which they changed after one night, even though I was only staying two nights - impressive).
My room was £70 a night, the larger rooms are more but I have to say I thought this was great value. Much nicer than staying in a B&B.
I would definitely stay here again... Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missbloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.0 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
73 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Inn

Property: George Inn
Address: High Street, Alfriston BN26 5SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Alfriston
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
George Hotel Alfriston
George Inn Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing