We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood and great setting.”

English's of Brighton
Ranked #41 of 1,113 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$100
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great seafood and great setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

For great seafood and quality this restaurant is well worth trying. The variety is good and portion are large enough to satisfy but not to make it uncomfortable. Wine selection is good and prices keen. Location is right near the Lanes and also has looks of street activity going on. Service is good and the staff helpful. Seating both inside and out make it good for all weathers.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesh0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    295
    124
    36
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty and sickening”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Although the clientele looked posh and the decor wonderful, my experience here was horrendous. The table we sat at was dirty, the wait staff was very slow, the salad we had had a layer of DIRT on it..... literally, soil.. the salad was comepletely unwashed. my friend and i had 2 course meals.. and then ended up staying in the hotel room all night because we were sick from the food. i would NOT recommend this restaurant at all. We paid a lot of money to stay in our hotel rooms sick.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nithya_r12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Style and excellent value on Sussex Square, Brighton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

One of Brighton's best restaurants for the finest seafood and wines. Go to this cosy restaurant tucked away in the corner of Sussex Square, at the border of the lanes of Brighton for a tremendous treat - starched linen, discreet service and a glorious menu of fresh seafood treats. You can eat for a relatively low price - just look at their special menu (£15.00 per person) or you can go up-market and enjoy fresh oysters and Champagne - go on, treat yourself. In summer there are cool umbrellas on the square where you can dine in comfort with maybe a gentle breeze to cool your pleasure; or climb to the first floor up the narrow stairs and enjoy the bay-window bench overlooking the square below. The ambiance is quiet, reserved and ideal for couples, friends, business or dining solo, as I enjoy doing now and again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time at English's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Ate at English's restaurant on Saturday - outside in the Sun with the live music alongside. Food was wonderful - as usual - and the hot seafood platter is even better than the old menu. Great service. All too good for words. Worth a trip to Brighton by itself. Well done English's.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GandC_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
147 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A lovely Sunday afternoon sat outside eating the finest fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Today I visited English's Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar in Brighton and oh what a lovely surprise.
It was a beautiful day and we sat outside at this very special fish / seafood restaurant.
The table were beautifully prepared and the terrace full of clients all seemingly enjoying their lunch.
We were a party of 6 and very much looking forward to the fayres of this wonderful restaurant and we were not disappointed.
The staff were so polite and friendly and the food quite exquisite, we had a varied range of Seaford including the hot sea platter, lobster salad and a varied arrange of fresh fish, all accompanied by some really excellent wines.
Being a sunny afternoon in Brighton made this visit even more enjoyable and we sat there eating and drinking the afternoon away.
Well done to those who served and cooked for us, a must if you are visiting this seaside town

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RKHKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed English's of Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to English's of Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing