We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed an opportunity to be great”
Review of My Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
My Brighton
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We don't usually stay in a modern hotel, this one was recommended. It is very modern and the reception and bar look great, there is a slide show on the wall showing wonderful rooms we got quite excited! Our room was so disappointing, large with huge windows, weird decor, green and yellow swirls and industrial flooring, but a tiny bed, tiny washing area with a very impersonal shower and toilet open to the room. The glass shelves around the sink were sloping and too small for personal things. No heated towel rail, one piece of soap and shampoo etc for one. One plastic chair and one easy chair, it seemed to be a single room, very similar to those French motorway hotels but this cost nearly £ 180!
Yes we should have asked to change but we were there for just one night or we would have. Breakfast was a buffet on the bar, the cold cuts warm and sweaty under the bar lights, the selection poor and worse of all huge mugs to drink the coffee or tea you make yourself.
Plus points the room has huge towels, robes and slippers, there is parking and you are close to everything.
Please warm up the rooms and put in big beds and maybe two comfortable chairs there is room.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wisebirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,255)
There are newer reviews for My Brighton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,812 - 1,818 of 2,255 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

Lovely hotel - very funky anf great lighting in rooms. Comfotable,large bed.Great idea to have floor to ceiling window however as our room looked onto a busy street (Tesco Express opposite) you couldn't have much privacy without the blind being drawn which resulted in poor light in room. Great location in middle of everything. Reception staff very proficient but it would't hurt to give their customers a smile or 2. Buffet breakfast good however dodgy toaster (only toastet one side of bread) and orange juice from a carton! I know as the staff were waiting to top it up as I poured a glass for myself. The breakfast staff should also try to smile. Good mini bar reasonabley price. More tea,coffe and milk in room would be good as minimum provided

Room Tip: Aroom without street view however have read other reviews re rooms without street view and the view...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izonions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Brighton is a cool city, my hotel is a cool hotel. Funky rooms, lovely staff, fab bar and superb restaurant (Chilli Pickle). It is located in the heart of the city, everything is just a short walk away. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading as standard rooms are a bit small
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Excellent Hotel, Excellent position, very clean, comfortable beds, very helpful staff booked direct for a sunday night stay only £69!! parking for £15 per night in underground car park (limited spaces) £25 in nearby NCP

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the bar, they are open quite late
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Booked to stay for one night in a superior double room. Upon arrival I was told that the car park was full and only available on a first come first serve basis and that I could park in the NCP around the corner. When I did come back to the hotel I was told there was space in the car park..great, what they forgot to mention the next morning on checkout is that they charge for parking!!! It would have been cheaper to stay in the NCP. The reception staff need education in customer service.

The room was nice and clean, a bit tired looking in places and certainly not worth the "superior" title or cost associated.

The only thing going for this hotel is the bar - great choice of drinks and good service even when busy.

I have stayed in other smaller boutique hotels in Brighton for the same cost, which are defintely better.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0la78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We got an upgrade to suite and it was a cool room with a massive bed, integrated sound system and a bath tub in the room (although the windows were dirty). Other reviews will have outlined the benefits of the hotel in terms of location, breakfast and friendly staff. The only negative would be the riff raff that throng the bar at night when it becomes a loud and noisy location for hen and stag parties (we were there on a Saturday night, might be chilled other evenings). Check out the local restaurant "Bills" for lunch.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews for my two year anniversary.... And have to say I was quite disappointed.

The underground car park is a joke and an absolute rip off at £25! When we got to reception we were told that we had been upgraded.... However not sure what the upgrade was as we ha already booked a superior room. We were told that our room rate did not include breakfast which made it an expensive stay and not good value for money.

The rooms are very basic and the bed/desk set up is strange. The bed was very small and there are no bed side tables. On a positive, the chaise-long in the window is lovely and the shower is great.

The hotel bar is really nice... Delicious cocktails and lovely ambience. It is open to the public so does get really busy after 9pm.

Wouldn't stay here again but would definately go to the bar for a drink.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmymack1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Brighton

Address: 17 Jubilee Street, Brighton BN1 1GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#6 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#6 Business Hotel in Brighton
#7 Family Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £76 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — My Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Celebration of Brighton's Renegade Creativity Head into the heart of Brighton's beachside cultural life, the buzzing North Laine, and you'll find us - the naughty little brother of My Hotels. Inside we've combined the aesthetic ideas of New York designer Karim Rashid with cool artist studios created by local artisans to offer a futuristic and native flavour. Outside, the welcoming warren of creative independent shops, bars and eateries will have you dreaming about moving here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your My Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myhotel Brighton Hotel Brighton
Myhotel Hotel Brighton
Brighton Myhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing