We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good”
Review of My Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
My Brighton
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Standard double room was pretty good, clean, modern. Nice tv, nice bed. On-site parking (And it wasn't as expensive as £25 a day that seem to be advertised online. All good at the right price. Location is great, unless you want a sea view.

Room Tip: Even standard rooms are nice and cosy.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S7AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,253)
There are newer reviews for My Brighton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,805 - 1,811 of 2,253 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

I'm still feeling mixed on this hotel. After so many positive reviews I was quite surprised that very few people mentioned the pitfalls of this hotel.

We arrived early (after getting up at 4am for flights etc) and we not given a very friendly introduction. We literally could not check in until 2 on the button. Many other guests were arriving 15 mins before check in and also being turned away. Also, the bed is so small in our standard double I actually slept on the floor onE night. I'm 162cm tall and slim
build as is my partner and we were so squished in this tiny tiny bed. In Australia we call this a king single. I actually think our room is a single room (shampoo for one etc). No door in the bathroom is terrible too. Privacy in non existent.

To me, a great hotel has good service, comfortable and private. This had average service and terribly uncomfortable. Great location though, lots of great restaurants and bars nearby. Also, the bar downstairs is a rip off! Plenty of other better value places near by. I've seen open plan modern hotel rooms done well and then I've seen this hotel who do it tacky.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This hotel is super colourful with amazing rooms. The bed is very comfortable and bouncy but the pillows are a little soft. The mood lighting is a great feature but would work better if you could select a constant colour.

We needed a late checkout which they provided free of charge.
The mini bar was well stocked with a great selection.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat86b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed for 2 nights for husbands 40th. A fabulous location, the best really. Booked a superior double room which was on the 3rd floor overlooking the library square. The room itself was a great size, big wardrobe, very comfortable kingside bed, great shower and loved the integral speakers although you will need an mp3/iPhone etc to supply the music, a lead was supplied when we checked in. The blinds, 3 in all over the large wall to wall window, did not meet each other so the room got light early in the morning, and we had to close them often as privacy was lacking due to the 2nd floor of the library which was pretty much level with us. Decorating could do with a touch up really, if you want white walls you need to be prepared to keep them spotless, and they were not. Very stark styling, husband commented it was quite 'studenty'. Didn't really have a problem with the toilet and shower doors, although they are glass they are not see through. Free toiletries were really lovely, good quality products, the shower gel smelled divine. Some issues with noise from the outside over the two nights we were there, turned out the door part of the window unit had had it's lock damaged so the unit wasn't sealed, the hotel clearly knew this was an issue as it had been wedged shut from the outside with a piece of wood! It was White night on the Saturday so there were hundred of people in the square and some hung around till 4am! Luckily we had earplugs, thank god, or we wouldn't have slept a wink! When this was mentioned to the manager we were offered a free night so it was handled really well. We liked it enough to come back. Don't bother paying through the nose for breakfast, carluccios across the road is fabulous and if you can try aguadulce, a Spanish bar and restaurant nr the thistle hotel on the sea front, just fabulous :) parking is obscenely expensive, £50 for 2 nights in the ncp, don't think the hotel is much cheaper. All in all though a good place to stay if you're happy to pay for a more superior room :)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hestie-booble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

we picked my hotel because of it's competitive rates and central location within Brighton.
the room was great, although very little hanging space as with all boutique hotels, and the bar was great! highly recommend the white russian cocktail!
the location was great, close to all amenities.
the only downfall, which is a Brighton downfall, parking is very expensive so recommend getting the train.
lastly, i left a necklace in the room and when i called the staff were fantatic. promptly finding the necklace and sending it onto me.
all in all a great hotel!!

Room Tip: pay a bit more and go bigger!!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margatemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We don't usually stay in a modern hotel, this one was recommended. It is very modern and the reception and bar look great, there is a slide show on the wall showing wonderful rooms we got quite excited! Our room was so disappointing, large with huge windows, weird decor, green and yellow swirls and industrial flooring, but a tiny bed, tiny washing area with a very impersonal shower and toilet open to the room. The glass shelves around the sink were sloping and too small for personal things. No heated towel rail, one piece of soap and shampoo etc for one. One plastic chair and one easy chair, it seemed to be a single room, very similar to those French motorway hotels but this cost nearly £ 180!
Yes we should have asked to change but we were there for just one night or we would have. Breakfast was a buffet on the bar, the cold cuts warm and sweaty under the bar lights, the selection poor and worse of all huge mugs to drink the coffee or tea you make yourself.
Plus points the room has huge towels, robes and slippers, there is parking and you are close to everything.
Please warm up the rooms and put in big beds and maybe two comfortable chairs there is room.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wisebirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Lovely hotel - very funky anf great lighting in rooms. Comfotable,large bed.Great idea to have floor to ceiling window however as our room looked onto a busy street (Tesco Express opposite) you couldn't have much privacy without the blind being drawn which resulted in poor light in room. Great location in middle of everything. Reception staff very proficient but it would't hurt to give their customers a smile or 2. Buffet breakfast good however dodgy toaster (only toastet one side of bread) and orange juice from a carton! I know as the staff were waiting to top it up as I poured a glass for myself. The breakfast staff should also try to smile. Good mini bar reasonabley price. More tea,coffe and milk in room would be good as minimum provided

Room Tip: Aroom without street view however have read other reviews re rooms without street view and the view...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izonions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,691 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,240 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Brighton

Address: 17 Jubilee Street, Brighton BN1 1GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#6 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#7 Family Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £74 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — My Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Celebration of Brighton's Renegade Creativity Head into the heart of Brighton's beachside cultural life, the buzzing North Laine, and you'll find us - the naughty little brother of My Hotels. Inside we've combined the aesthetic ideas of New York designer Karim Rashid with cool artist studios created by local artisans to offer a futuristic and native flavour. Outside, the welcoming warren of creative independent shops, bars and eateries will have you dreaming about moving here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your My Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myhotel Brighton Hotel Brighton
Myhotel Hotel Brighton
Brighton Myhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing