We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite hotel in Brighton” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of My Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
My Brighton
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel in Brighton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I spend a fair amount of time in Brighton and we've tried a number of different places but we've finally found Myhotel and I'm really pleased we have.

I would describe Myhotel as "different" but I mean that in a good way. It's not a huge hotel but is in the middle of the North Laine area of Brighton which is perfect for eating and drinking in all the great places around Brighton city centre.

By different I mean that it's not your normal run of the mill mainstream hotel. There is a quirky style to the place which makes it feel more boutique than corporate and the staff are always friendly and helpful.

The rooms address my needs perfectly - mainly that I want air-conditioning that works well, a comfy bed and peace and quiet. In the normal rooms there isn't a wardrobe and the room is very slightly more compact than you would get in a Holiday Inn but it also is a lot more stylish too. Anyway, what do you care about the size of the rooms - you should be out enjoying all that Brighton has to offer!

As a business traveller I have two gripes. Firstly, the desk in the room isn't huge and I struggle to work on my laptop at it but that's quite minor and Brighton has too much to offer for me to stay in the room much anyway.

The second gripe is that the "free internet" in the hotel is terrible and there is no option to upgrade. Again, that doesn't bother me personally because I carry a mifi dongle which works perfectly in there and is how I connect anyway.

The superior rooms are nice with a wardrobe, iron and ironing board and a bit more space but the standard rooms are perfectly adequate for my needs.

Breakfast is available but is just a cold buffet with pastries, juice, coffee/etc but there are a few cafes around that open at 8am so that's not an issue for me. You can also walk from reception straight into The Small Batch Coffee Company for an excellent morning coffee.

Just past reception is a fantastic Merkaba cocktail bar with some excellent staff who are very pleasant and knowledgable about the large range of spirits that are there.

Overall it's a great hotel to stay in (if you don't need the wifi or a large desk) and I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Personally I've never had a noisy room here - spring for an upgrade if you can :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earltubthumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    659
    286
    92
    63
See reviews for
163
1,242
75
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Booked this hotel again through Lastminute.com secret hotels. Location is very good, with nearby walk to the shops, eating places and waterholes. Also not too long a walk down to the sea front. Hotel lobby confuses itself a little, needs more identity as it feels like you are walking in to a trendy bar! Look for the small reception desk to the right as you go in. Staff are friendly and accomodating although didn't need to have too much interaction with them. We upgraded the room so not sure what the basic room would of been like, but stayed in 'more superior double' which is a bit misleading as it wasn't that superior, however for £20 can't complain. Nothing too much more to add as we simply checked in, slept and checked out. If you are after a good nights sleep, it can be noisy outside at times, the pillows were very flim flamsy and if you use the optional tooth brush, make sure it's not already been used!!! If you put the postcode in to a sat nav, it takes you to Regent Street running adjacent Jubilee street, so bear that in mind or you run the risk of doing a 360 in Brightons one way system. This hotel would of got excellent rating if it hadn't of been for the terrible parking charge. £19.95 PER NIGHT! Very extortionate considering the parking isn't too superior as it is shared with a local food delivery place which hog the spaces!

Room Tip: Floor 2 may be a bit Quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Si A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The design of the hotel is really outstanding. We booked a good rate on HotelTonight, otherwise it can be a bit overpriced, compared to the seaside chains, especially that there's no breakfast in the price. That's a big miss: no restaurant, no breakfast service at all. There's a chic bar, not noisy or good soundproofing. Coffee/tea making machine in the room. The room is huge, the bed is good quality. The bath is nice too. Really enjoyed the stay, shame that we need to go out to have breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank evakatona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel has an Inviting entrance, friendly helpful staff, trendy room which was very clean very comfortable bed. Felt totally relaxed whilst there and the hotel location was perfect. Definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelleyharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

he hotel is very well situated and appears to be a fresh, modern establishment. However, the rooms - or at least, those rooms on the third floor - are in desperate need of refurbishment. Considering it is a four star hotel and not cheap, my partner and I found the room tatty and far from spotless (eg tea stains in the coffee mugs). We moved rooms but found the same issues in the next room. The only redeeming feature was the bed which was very comfortable.

Be warned - the toilet door is frosted glass, does not lock and the door does not stretch from floor to ceiling so not particularly private!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Decided on Myhotel because it looked funky, was in the Lanes rather than on the seafront and wanted to stay somewhere diferent for a change having stayed in most of the main hotels in Brighton over the years.

What a great experience, great service, friendly staff gave us fantastic recommendations, a really easy stay from arrival to departure and made a birthday weekend extra special !

Can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Top floor for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here for my friends birthday night out in Brighton. Fabulous decor, fun and interesting. Staff friendly and good service provided. Security on the door at night also. Would definitely recommend, especially for couples or groups of ladies.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beccy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Brighton

Property: My Brighton
Address: 17 Jubilee Street, Brighton BN1 1GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#6 Business Hotel in Brighton
#7 Family Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — My Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Celebration of Brighton's Renegade Creativity Head into the heart of Brighton's beachside cultural life, the buzzing North Laine, and you'll find us - the naughty little brother of My Hotels. Inside we've combined the aesthetic ideas of New York designer Karim Rashid with cool artist studios created by local artisans to offer a futuristic and native flavour. Outside, the welcoming warren of creative independent shops, bars and eateries will have you dreaming about moving here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Lastminute and Booking.com so you can book your My Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myhotel Brighton Hotel Brighton
Myhotel Hotel Brighton
Brighton Myhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing