We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the bad reviews this hotel was fine”
Review of My Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
My Brighton
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ignore the bad reviews this hotel was fine”
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I nearly didn't book this hotel, based on the bad reviews, but I am glad we did.

It was situated in a lovely and convenient part of Brighton.

We had the superior double which had plenty of room. The rooms were simple, but because everything was modern and funky it made it feel more expensive. The frosting on the toilet door was totally not an issue, it's not like you can see through it, you can just see outlines.

We took our 9 month old baby and were unsure of the space in the room to set up a porta cot, but when we got there there was plenty room.

Totally recommend this hotel if you are young and don't want to stay in a dated hotel. Which seems to be a lot in Brighton.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    678
    290
    94
    64
See reviews for
165
1,265
77
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Really don't understand the negative reviews! Stayed in a standard double at the weekend, room was clean, large and depite a very busy bar downstairs, no noise traveled into the 3rd floor room(but could hear some noise at the lifts). Bathroom 'pod' may not take everyone's fancy but was private enough for me. Shower was great and did not believe it steamed up the room.

Location great, with lots of shops and cafes close by and the beach 5 minutes or so walk away. Try Bill's for breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easty100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

do not stay at this hotel it is awful cheap and nasty! very noisy, blinds that let all the light in, windows dont open , air-con pathetic after 2 room moves, heat from shower fills the bedroom due to open plan. view of library 6 feet from window. hot and stuffy. This hotel is above 2 resturants and bars with a 2am licence and music to match. for top money you expect the best this hotel doesnt not delivery a break as advertise tranqil, feng shui, karma, a retreat. forget it!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

I stayed at MyHotel over Brighton Pride weekend with a few friends. It was my second stay in the hotel and it didn't disappoint. The rooms aren't luxurious really, but they are stylish and funky. My friends and I had a fabulous time partying in the rooms, they have in-room sound systems and great colour-changing lights. The staff were very accommodating, allowing us to take champagne flutes up to the room. We didn't disturb any other guests either, as the rooms appear to be well soundproofed. I ate in the restaurant and ordered room service from 'TABLE'. The food is of a good standard, and reasonably priced. I will definitely stay at MyHotel again, with friends and with my partner.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

This was the worst room I have ever stayed in. The room was tiny and the bed was way to small. The 'view' out my window was of the side of the building 6 feet away. The windows don't open and the room made me feel sick. If you're looking for a nice hotel in Brighton, you'd be better served staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mateo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Southsea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Essentially, MyHotel is a Premier Inn on speed. There is no doubt that the surroundings, the rooms and the amenities are funky and fun, but scratch below the surface and it becomes quickly apparent that the funkiness is simply a facade. The fixtures and fittings are cheap and badly built, and although the design is refreshingly cool, it doesn't always work from a practical point of view. Other people have commented on the blind for example, - what is the point of a funky blind that lets in the early morning sun? Having said that, there are plenty of things that did make the visit enjoyable - the location is perfect, being able to plug in our i-pod was a real bonus and the bar is top-notch. The most disappointing thing was that a full English breakfast was not included in the price - at £175 for the night, I thought this was taking a liberty somewhat. Having said all this, if you are looking for somewhere 'different', in a fun and lively part of Brighton, you could do a lot worse than MyHotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_m00g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

This place is so ridiculous and over-priced to be believed. It's noisy (largely due to the number of drunken hen nights in the hotel). The rooms are unncomfortable and you can't keep the morning sun from waking at six and it overlooks what passes as a public library, but looks more like a minimum-security prison. The hotel restaurant is not bad, but not great. If you want any privacy in the loo, go elswhere. It's all open plan in there through to the bedroom. The colour scheme also leaves one feeling a bit queasy.

I've stayed in boutique hotels all over the world and this one is just trying way too hard. Brighton is notorious for either seedy hotels or over-priced new entries. Give this one a big miss. In fact, give Brighton a miss. It's become really depressing and tatty.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Wudja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,038 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Brighton

Property: My Brighton
Address: 17 Jubilee Street, Brighton BN1 1GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#6 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#7 Family Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — My Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Celebration of Brighton's Renegade Creativity Head into the heart of Brighton's beachside cultural life, the buzzing North Laine, and you'll find us - the naughty little brother of My Hotels. Inside we've combined the aesthetic ideas of New York designer Karim Rashid with cool artist studios created by local artisans to offer a futuristic and native flavour. Outside, the welcoming warren of creative independent shops, bars and eateries will have you dreaming about moving here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your My Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myhotel Brighton Hotel Brighton
Myhotel Hotel Brighton
Brighton Myhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing