We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel - excellent design, style & location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of My Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
My Brighton
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel - excellent design, style & location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

I have some regrets with writing this review as I want to keep MyHotel Brighton as a "best kept secret", but that seems unfair to everyone else looking for a great base in Brighton! Im always amazed at the variety of dated/unclean/overpriced hotels & guesthouses in Brighton, and sick of having to trawl through website after website searching for somewhere decent to stay for a short get away. Hopefully that is now all behind us after staying at MyHotel. The rooms are individually styled, so if your looking for timber veneer cupboards, locks on the bathroom and plastic shower curtains, then stick with the PTInn. The style of this hotel flows from the front door, through the bar, and right into the room. The Superior Double room was well equipped with audio/visual, a fantastic bed, and other personal amenities. The location doesnt give you anything close to a foreshore view, but is right on top of the Lanes and numerous bars/restaurants are within short walking distance (just the thing if its a wet & windy Brighton weekend!). It turns out with MyHotel that "Brighton", "modern" and "value for money" dont have to be exclusive terms!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandCAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    659
    286
    92
    63
See reviews for
163
1,242
75
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old South Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

Booked this hotel as a treat for my partners birthday, what a disaster!. We were looking for a relaxing chilled out weekend on our first trip to Brighton.
When we entered the room it looked liked Changing Rooms meets Student Digz,,tacky.
If an open plan bathroom and bedroom is your cup of tea, great. Every time someone needs the loo the bathroom the light shines through the hole between the bathroom illuminating the bedroom area. Absolutely no privacy at all in the toilet as the door is just a etched glass door with no lock and there is no door to the bathroom whatsoever.
Beware allergy sufferers a feather duvet left my partner feeling awful as he has mild asthma. Blinds on windows let in daylight at the crack of dawn (not ideal for a relaxing weekend). An in house DJ at weekends keeps going until 2AM. We were told that unfortunately this is because of Brighton Live and maybe Brighton wasn't ideal for a romantic weekend, even though I had booked a Romantic Weekend Package at £195 a night.?? We left early feeling totally shattered after 4 hours sleep,(Can't wait to go back to work)
If a proper designer had been involved in this project the first thing they would have realised is the amount of space wasted to create an 'effect'.
We'd go back to Brighton another time under better circumstances.
Save your money find somewhere else!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ladygoogoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

At £250 a night for a "more superior" (for which read perfectly average sized cats-can-be-swung) double, this place is the Emperor's New Hotel. Everything it does well - plenteous hot water, comfy bed, pleasant and helpful staff, copious fluffy towels - should be taken as read from a good hotel and, indeed, is provided by the average Travelodge at a third of the price. But a very considerable premium is charged - and for what? - for 'groovy' decor which includes no comfy chair (instead you sit in an uncomfortable window seat on display like an Amsterdam lady of the night), a window roller blind such that your choices are (a) exposing your nudity to the square below or (b) having no natural light in your room; round beds, square baths and a leaky central-in-the-room shower (these three in a colleague's upgraded room) and (another upgraded colleague) a pointless merry-go-round horse in the room. This must be what the premium goes on as it's not a hot breakfast (charged extra! at £250 an night!!) or the promised "shoe shine" which no-one at Reception initally knew anything about but which turned out to be a very nice man delivering a duster to my room.

If this hotel had a digestive tract it would be so far up it as to be invisible; it is a gigantic con-trick played on "style" victims and Wallpaper* readers. If you are a rich one of these I recommend it highly, otherwise the Travelodge will give you everything myhotel will and leave you with plenty of spending money to really enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOldTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

A little hard to find at first but after driving round the block a few times we finally got there. We arrived slightly earlier than stated so our room wasn't quite ready. We were directed towards the bar where we received our free complimentry drinks. My other half was so impressed with the set up he used this time to take pictures and have a good wonder round. We were given a free upgrade which was fantastic.

Our room was amazing! Very furturistic, modern, minimal, clean... perfect!

The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough. We will def be staying at MyHotel gain, no questions asked!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London South East
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

cannot fault the place. We had a standard double on the 3rd floor away from the lift (this I requested prior to arrival) no view though but that was not a problem. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant - Table - the food and service was excellent especially the Maitre D' and it didn't break the bank! Can't wait to go back to Myhotel. A really fun place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LPALONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

i was looking for a hotel for about 2 weeks and was being quoted £115 upwards for places i wouldn't pay £50 but 3 days before travelling myhotel appeared £99 a night and just far ehough away from the noisey main seafront roads, it looked a bargain and after our stay all i can say is this place is fantastic on arrival the staff were very helpful and friendly the room we had was on the 3rd floor and even a blindman would notice the colours splashed around the wall, it just cheers you up.the room was a good size no view to speak of out of the window but that doesn't matter to me the shower was fantastic, the bed was very comfortable, having come back at around 1am we entered the hotel and the bar downstairs was packed & buzzin' but could not be heard from our 3rd floor room, a complimentery continental breakfast buffet was perfect and we were not rushed to finish and the 12 o clock check out is ideal for the people who don't want to leave that early.the girlfriend also booked a spa treatment and even though the therapist was late she gave her another treatment free, which judging by her face she really enjoyed, i cannot recommend this place enough a complete bargain compared to most others and would love to go back
enjoy

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flopoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

My partner and I stayed at this superb hotel ideally and centrally located for her daughter's wedding and reception which took place in a restaurant near the Brighton Dome.
From the minute we walked into the impressive foyer it truly reflected excellence.
The continental breakfast also exemplified very good quality and value with the reasonably priced room rate.
All the staff were most helpful and complimented the true excellence of this Hotel.
Highly recommended. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnaby777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Brighton

Property: My Brighton
Address: 17 Jubilee Street, Brighton BN1 1GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#6 Business Hotel in Brighton
#7 Family Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — My Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Celebration of Brighton's Renegade Creativity Head into the heart of Brighton's beachside cultural life, the buzzing North Laine, and you'll find us - the naughty little brother of My Hotels. Inside we've combined the aesthetic ideas of New York designer Karim Rashid with cool artist studios created by local artisans to offer a futuristic and native flavour. Outside, the welcoming warren of creative independent shops, bars and eateries will have you dreaming about moving here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Lastminute, Prestigia, Hotelopia, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your My Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myhotel Brighton Hotel Brighton
Myhotel Hotel Brighton
Brighton Myhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing