We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUIRKY STAY!”
Review of Motel Schmotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel Schmotel
Ranked #34 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“QUIRKY STAY!”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Hotel Schmotel is fab - really quirky and Paul and Amsy are both very lovely hosts - we were made very very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
Our breakfast was fab, in fact quite the best fruit salad (to start!!!) I've ever had and so nicely served.
We will definitely stay again - a little gem!!

Room Tip: We had the ground floor room and it was lovely, just the bathroom was a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esmerelda337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    177
    57
    19
    12
See reviews for
61
443
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

we stayed for one night in a groupon deal, the date we originally booked for was when it snowed and we didnt want to risk driving in it and amsy was happy for us to book another date and extended the deal for us ! could not be in a better location beautifully decorated , breakfast in bed was lovely everyone so helpfull offering maps etc , we stayed in room 3 it is small but had exactly what you need for a couple nights away with little extra touches , would definatly reccomend and will no doubt stay again in future !!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed overnight and was very pleased with the hotel.We were warmly welcomed and made us feel at home immediately.The room was excellent(room 1) with very comfortable bed.We filled in our breakfast preferences that night and asked for 9-30 breakfast.However,we thought it was a bit late and put a note under the office door asking if we could change to 9am.In the morning our breakfast was ready for 9am,excellent service in my opinion.We shall definately stay there again.It is in a great location and very handy for the beach,the lanes,Brighton Pavilion etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GND888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2012

When wanting to visit brighton with my other half, we shopped around a lot for hotels and came across motel schmotel, we actually got a better deal by booking directly through the hotel which was great as lots of hotels in brighton have minimum stays of 2 nights at the weekend and are greatly more expensive!
The owners greated us on entry and couldnt be more helpful, showing us on a map where everything was including their own suggestions. Our room was just the right size for us both, and although right near the main entrance and stairs it was not overly noisy! Cute little quirky touches such as the motel schmotel rock made us smile! - and what a comfy bed!!!!
There were plenty of breakfast options and the portions were huge. Esepcially nice to have the option of breakfast in bed or in the breakfast room - we chose to go to the breakfast room and im glad as it showed another funkily decorated space to chill out in. Nothing was too much and you felt so welcome.
Should we ever return to Brighton we would 100% come back to here, you can tell how much they value their customers and really go all out to make you enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for our anniversary for one night during the start of march. Really welcoming and cosy bnb. Greeted by paul, instantly new we would love it. Great room, small but beautifully decorated and had everything we needed plus more. We booked really last minute but were told if we mentioned it was our anniversary they would have upgraded us. Breakfast was lovely. Could not fault it. Will be returning again soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAMILLA_1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Early mother's day trip away led us to Motel Schmotel. Warm welcome from Paul. Room 5 cosy but adequate! Paul was very helpful with info on where to go/eat/visit. Parking on site was a bonus. Breakfast in bed was a real treat - the full English was great and boiled eggs personalised - a lovely touch! Loved the whole experience - We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed here in Jan 2012 for 1 night on a Sunday as we got a deal from Groupon valid Sun-Thurs (£34 for the night)

We stayed in room 3 which is on the first floor at the top of the stairs, the room was advertised as a double but it was extremely small, now I know the hotel has small doubles so I cannot imagine what those are like. It was good for one night but if we were to stay longer then I probably wouldn't have been totally happy. The bed was extremely comfortable, I can't stress how comfy it really was - heavenly! It was also very cosy due to the size of the room, and because we was away for a romatic night we liked this.

Considering the price that this room is under normal circumstances - we wouldn't pay it.

We liked that the hotel text us on our date of arrival, to which we replied to let them know we was going to be slightly early and could we leave our bags, but when we got there the room was ready so this was a plus.

In room 3 the bathroom was in the 'cupboard' but we thought it was pretty cool. Only one little niggle, and this is purely so that they can improve on this, was that the bathroom door could only be pulled to, what it needed was just a little latch on the inside to keep it there, sometimes it crept open, it was ok for us but maybe not for others.

They were also very accomodating as we brought champagne with us and had asked via email previously (they responded within 2 mins- brill!) if they could supply ice bucket and glasses. When we were there and in our room they text to say can we bring the ice bucket up.

We didn't go down to the breakfast room but we had selected our breakfast and hung it on the outside of our door on the day that we arrived and asked for it to come at 9.30am the next day which it did. Even though you can place an order for tea on there ours didn't come, just the orange juice, not sure if this was because we had in room tea making facilities?

The food was delicious!!!!!! Also liked the little mini fridge in room which had milk and water and was big enough to fit our champagne in additionally.

Hotel is in very good location to everything.

We would return if the price was a bit more reasonable.

Room Tip: Bare in mind that we found room 3 advertised as a double very small so consider this before booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milli447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.1 mi away
Brighton Inn Boutique Guest Accommodation
0.0 mi away
Churchill Brighton
Churchill Brighton
#42 of 94 in Brighton
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whitburn Lodge
Whitburn Lodge
#23 of 94 in Brighton
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#38 of 94 in Brighton
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.6 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Schmotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Schmotel

Property: Motel Schmotel
Address: 37 Russell Square, Brighton BN1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on pretty Russell Square, smack bang in the centre of it all, you will be 2 min. walk from the main shopping centre, Brighton's fantastic beach, car parks, The Lanes, Hove and The Brighton Centre for gigs and conferences. All our rooms are en suite (en suites refurbished in May 2008), with clean fresh bed linen, fluffy white towels, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk. Free view and Wi-Fi are in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motel Schmotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Schmotel Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing