We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our needs for one night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel Schmotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Motel Schmotel
Ranked #35 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Met our needs for one night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We found the service,room & location very satisfactory. My only complaint was the soft mattress which increased the pain I suffer from arthritis. Otherwise we were happy with everything,I enjoyed a full English breakfast in my room,excellent!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k-mg-suffolk-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    174
    55
    19
    12
See reviews for
59
437
35
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This bed and breakfast has a great central location, ideal for the beach, shops, bars and restaurants. The staff are very friendly and helpful (they even posted my phone charger, which I had accidentally left in the room, back to me). The rooms are very pleasant and for only £10 you can park all day. The highlight is the amazing breakfast which you can have in your room or in the dining room. The choice and quality are exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here over the Easter weekend and it was perfect for what we needed! Cosy, clean rooms, with wi-fi, TV, fridge and en-suite.

It's perfectly placed to explore Brighton ideally placed near to The Lanes, Seafront and City shopping.

The breakfasts were amazing and the full English, with a hint of 'coolness' attached to it probably would have cost at least £10 each in the restaurants and cafe's near - AND it was brought to our room to have in bed!!!

We will stay here again next time we have a weekend/break in Brighton.

100% recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I loved the name of the place and the fact that it was rated so highly.
The proprietors are lovely people who really put an effort into their business. The place is hardly luxurious so if you are looking for the Hilton then book the Hilton. This is a one of a kind boutique Bed and Breakfast with a great ambience and nice location.
I took a girl I had not seen in a decade who had just dropped back into my life...three days later we were looking for rings. Not saying this place is magically romantic but she was pretty impressed. See how it works for you.

Room Tip: The very top room is tiny...it was all they had left but we only needed a bed and a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirkevin1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from a weekend at motel schmotel, we had a lovely warm welcome from Maja. we stayed in room 4 with the balcony
perfect for a crafty ciggie. perfect spot to stay as shops are 2 mins away and beach/pier is just round the corner. I would recommend the breakfast in bed but the breakfast room is lovely and snug.. maja and her little Spanish friend cant do enough for you. ... All in all a perfect little base to stay.. oh almost forgot to mention that there is a pub 25 yards away.. Happy days.

Room Tip: Room 4 has the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

,Maga who greated us was a welcome face after a six hour trip,really nice rooms good nights sleep and breakfast in bed wow i dont remember the last time we had this sort of service ,makes a nice refreshing change,hope to retunt to brighton and when we do we will be booking in here again,Thanks Maga,,,,,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We have just had three nights here and it has been a perfect base for a visit to Brighton. Central but so quiet and everything you need......the breakfasts set you up for the day. We hope to return again later this year.

Room Tip: We had room 5 and it was so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Middleagedcouple25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cecil House Hotel
Cecil House Hotel
#64 of 97 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oriental
The Oriental
#11 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whitburn Lodge
Whitburn Lodge
#24 of 97 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#14 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Schmotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Schmotel

Property: Motel Schmotel
Address: 37 Russell Square, Brighton BN1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on pretty Russell Square, smack bang in the centre of it all, you will be 2 min. walk from the main shopping centre, Brighton's fantastic beach, car parks, The Lanes, Hove and The Brighton Centre for gigs and conferences. All our rooms are en suite (en suites refurbished in May 2008), with clean fresh bed linen, fluffy white towels, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk. Free view and Wi-Fi are in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Motel Schmotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Schmotel Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing