We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love Brighton...”
Review of Motel Schmotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel Schmotel
Ranked #36 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2009

...then you will love Motel Schmotel.

As other reviews have noted, the building has been converted from a dingy run down B&B in a delightful Square to a quirky B&B that caters to anyone with a slightly quirky nature.

There was so much to like about the place - amazing location (two minutes from the seafront and Churchill Square plus cheap parking), great hosts, super breakfast, comfy beds, even a small balcony - that I feel mean only giving it three stars (so wanted to give it three and a half) but it wasn't cheap, the bedroom was small, the pillows too hard and the bathroom both tiny and lacking in anywhere to put anything.

So not a place for everyone but ideal for a night or two with someone you don't mind being cozy with.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamhornets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2009

This is a great affordable place to stay in Brighton. It's a converted five-storey Regency townhouse on a quiet square, but is right in the centre so very handy for the shops, bars, beach etc. Our room was small (the smallest they have I think) but well designed, clean and comfortable. Though the en-suite bathroom was tiny it had all you needed with a great shower.

There was a great choice of breakfasts, from fruit and muesli to a full English, you just had to fill in your requests on a card and leave it on your door and you could have it delivered to your room or downstairs on the communal table in the dining room.

The owners are friendly and welcoming, and there are are lots of nice touches like DVDs to borrow, big jars of tea and coffee and Penguin biscuits in the rooms, and chalkboard weather forecasts in the hallway. Highly recommended if you're looking for somewhere with character and great service.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucyd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Motel Schmotel was the ideal hotel for our trip; a short walk from the train station, town centre and sea front, its location is also ideal as it is in a quiet square off the busy main roads. The staff are really friendly, offering helpful tips about the city and restaurant recommendations. The rooms and decoration of the hotel reflect the feel of the city and the breakfasts are incredibly tasty and well presented. A definite for next time I visit Brighton!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Stayed here for three nights and had such a lovely time. Breakfasts were sensational and different - I was in fish finger sandwich heaven! Also a really good choice and all tastes catered for. Our room was small but perfectly formed, very quirky, comfy and spotless.

The welcome was fab and genuine, and Amsy and Paul were a mine of information about excellent places to eat. All in all, we had the best time and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Stayed for 6 nights and was made to feel extremely welcome from the very start. We were shown where to go for eats and drinks in Brighton and where to avoid as well! Couldn't have been more well looked after. Breakfast is fantastic and the building is charming and unique. Will certainly come again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thischarmingman_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Motel Schmotel is a charming little B+B in an excellent location. The welcome is warm, efficient and genuine. We stayed in room 7 which is on the top floor and one of the small doubles. We expected the room to be small and indeed it is! However it has everything you need and the bathroom is thoughtfully arranged. The shower is pretty small and although I coped pretty well being over 6 foot, I wouldn't have fancied being any larger. Room was clean and shower hot and decently powerful. Do bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper as we could hear normal volume conversation in the room next door like they were in our room, and the seagulls are can be particularly raucus at 3am in the morning! Breakfast was great and the owners are very accomodating with regards to leaving bags. Would return but probably for a larger room and would bring earplugs!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

From the friendly and warm welcoming to the warm goodbye This is the B&B I recommend to you all. Our room was small and so was the showerroom, so what. The atmosphere, the helpfulnes, the cheerfulnes, nothing seemed to be impossible. Motel Schmotel will be our choice when we visit Brighton the next time, say 2010/11.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#15 of 43 in Brighton
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#13 of 95 in Brighton
625 reviews
0.0 mi away
Churchill Brighton
Churchill Brighton
#40 of 95 in Brighton
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Oriental
The Oriental
#12 of 95 in Brighton
677 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grey's Hotel
Grey's Hotel
#18 of 95 in Brighton
502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#14 of 95 in Brighton
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Schmotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Schmotel

Address: 37 Russell Square, Brighton BN1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £68 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on pretty Russell Square, smack bang in the centre of it all, you will be 2 min. walk from the main shopping centre, Brighton's fantastic beach, car parks, The Lanes, Hove and The Brighton Centre for gigs and conferences. All our rooms are en suite (en suites refurbished in May 2008), with clean fresh bed linen, fluffy white towels, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk. Free view and Wi-Fi are in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel Schmotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Schmotel Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing