We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO expect high quality service!”
Review of Motel Schmotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel Schmotel
Ranked #35 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Valladolid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“DO expect high quality service!”
Reviewed 30 August 2009

LOCATION: Russel Square is really close to the sea, to a quite big shopping centre, and just a few minutes walking to the Pier.

ROOMS: we stayed in room #9, which was supposed to be a small-type. It was small, but it had everything we needed. It was clean, there was a small wardrove and a complete bathroom (small but really nice and well decorated). There was also a small fridge with water and milk. The only problem we found was that the mirror was too low and it was difficult to see yourself without combing your legs :-)
The bed was really comfortable. There was a small TV with a DVD inside, and fresh flowers which smelt very well.

SERVICE: it is a 3*** hotel, but the service they provide is really higher. Everyday guests need to leave a piece of paper at the out-side of their room door saying what they´d like for breakfast AND, whether they prefer to have it in the Breakfast Room downstairs OR at their own room!! They serve your breakfast in a tray in your room at the time you choose for no extra charge. This service really fulfilled any kind of expectation!
They also have a collection of DVDs which you can borrow to watch in the TV in your room.
As I mentioned before, in the rooms there´s a small fridge with 2 retro-style bottles. One of them full of water and another with milk. It is included in the price of the room.

Ignacio&Ignacio

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacNacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    177
    56
    19
    12
See reviews for
60
440
36
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

...then you will love Motel Schmotel.

As other reviews have noted, the building has been converted from a dingy run down B&B in a delightful Square to a quirky B&B that caters to anyone with a slightly quirky nature.

There was so much to like about the place - amazing location (two minutes from the seafront and Churchill Square plus cheap parking), great hosts, super breakfast, comfy beds, even a small balcony - that I feel mean only giving it three stars (so wanted to give it three and a half) but it wasn't cheap, the bedroom was small, the pillows too hard and the bathroom both tiny and lacking in anywhere to put anything.

So not a place for everyone but ideal for a night or two with someone you don't mind being cozy with.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamhornets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

This is a great affordable place to stay in Brighton. It's a converted five-storey Regency townhouse on a quiet square, but is right in the centre so very handy for the shops, bars, beach etc. Our room was small (the smallest they have I think) but well designed, clean and comfortable. Though the en-suite bathroom was tiny it had all you needed with a great shower.

There was a great choice of breakfasts, from fruit and muesli to a full English, you just had to fill in your requests on a card and leave it on your door and you could have it delivered to your room or downstairs on the communal table in the dining room.

The owners are friendly and welcoming, and there are are lots of nice touches like DVDs to borrow, big jars of tea and coffee and Penguin biscuits in the rooms, and chalkboard weather forecasts in the hallway. Highly recommended if you're looking for somewhere with character and great service.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucyd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Motel Schmotel was the ideal hotel for our trip; a short walk from the train station, town centre and sea front, its location is also ideal as it is in a quiet square off the busy main roads. The staff are really friendly, offering helpful tips about the city and restaurant recommendations. The rooms and decoration of the hotel reflect the feel of the city and the breakfasts are incredibly tasty and well presented. A definite for next time I visit Brighton!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Stayed here for three nights and had such a lovely time. Breakfasts were sensational and different - I was in fish finger sandwich heaven! Also a really good choice and all tastes catered for. Our room was small but perfectly formed, very quirky, comfy and spotless.

The welcome was fab and genuine, and Amsy and Paul were a mine of information about excellent places to eat. All in all, we had the best time and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Stayed for 6 nights and was made to feel extremely welcome from the very start. We were shown where to go for eats and drinks in Brighton and where to avoid as well! Couldn't have been more well looked after. Breakfast is fantastic and the building is charming and unique. Will certainly come again!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thischarmingman_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Motel Schmotel is a charming little B+B in an excellent location. The welcome is warm, efficient and genuine. We stayed in room 7 which is on the top floor and one of the small doubles. We expected the room to be small and indeed it is! However it has everything you need and the bathroom is thoughtfully arranged. The shower is pretty small and although I coped pretty well being over 6 foot, I wouldn't have fancied being any larger. Room was clean and shower hot and decently powerful. Do bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper as we could hear normal volume conversation in the room next door like they were in our room, and the seagulls are can be particularly raucus at 3am in the morning! Breakfast was great and the owners are very accomodating with regards to leaving bags. Would return but probably for a larger room and would bring earplugs!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Churchill Brighton
Churchill Brighton
#43 of 93 in Brighton
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whitburn Lodge
Whitburn Lodge
#23 of 93 in Brighton
434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brighton Inn Boutique Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 93 in Brighton
916 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oriental
The Oriental
#14 of 93 in Brighton
665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#40 of 93 in Brighton
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Schmotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Schmotel

Property: Motel Schmotel
Address: 37 Russell Square, Brighton BN1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on pretty Russell Square, smack bang in the centre of it all, you will be 2 min. walk from the main shopping centre, Brighton's fantastic beach, car parks, The Lanes, Hove and The Brighton Centre for gigs and conferences. All our rooms are en suite (en suites refurbished in May 2008), with clean fresh bed linen, fluffy white towels, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk. Free view and Wi-Fi are in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel Schmotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Schmotel Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing