We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic breakfast in a greeat location”
Review of Motel Schmotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel Schmotel
Ranked #34 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Nottingham, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast in a greeat location”
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Our double room was small, but had everything we needed (including fresh milk and Penguins), and was definitely big enough for two full grown men to wallow in their unexpected hangovers until 2pm on a sunny Saturday.

Amsy was very welocming upon our arrival and was happy to to offer suggestions of things to see and do. The breakfast in bed was fantastic, especially on hangover day, and the fish finger sandwich was a delight.

They do have a parking space available outside, which I think costs £8 per day, but book it early if you need it. We used the Russell Street NCP which, although at bit pricey at £15 per 24 hours, was very handy and just round the corner.

A wonderful and funky little B&B right in the centre of Brighton, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    177
    57
    19
    12
See reviews for
61
443
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2009

i would book to stay here again if I was going to be staying in Brighton. It has a lovely feel to the place and the owners/staff are very friendly. I already know Brighton fairly well, but when booking in there was information about the area easily available.
It was nice to have the opportunity to have breakfast in bed each morning, the food was lovely and everything needed was provided.
The room was clean and practical. The only down side was the small en-suite, you had to be careful when moving around it so that the doors didn't swing wide open, as there wasn't any way of locking them for privacy!!!
The situation of Motel Schmotel was also a bonus. It is easy to get in town and to have a wander along the seafront.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We felt very pampered; our host carried our delicious breakfast up the stairs to our top-floor room and they provided help and information whenever asked. Our small double was indeed small and we would probably ask for a larger room next time, but we would highly recommend and definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnnBeaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

This hotel is situated right by a main secure car park (Churchill) which although overnight parking was a huge £25, was extremely convenient when travelling with colleagues and a large amount of luggage.

On arrival in the hotel we were given our room numbers and we weren't disappointed. Although a couple of my colleagues rooms were a little compact they were excellently equipped and very nicely styled. I stayed in room 6 and had a fantastically huge king size bed and lovely large windows over looking Russell Square gardens.

There was wifi available to all guests although once in my cosy room I felt my work could probably wait till the next day.

I chose to have breakfast in my room although there is a breakfast room available for those who like to be more sociable. I didn't have a cooked breakfast but instead chose a bowl of cereal, some wonderful toast (I believe made with freshly baked bread), peppermint tea and was delighted to find an assortment of fresh fruit and a glass of juice for good measure.

Finally I would like to mention the owners. You will never be made to feel so welcome and experience such accommodating vendors. I had a mini crisis whilst my colleagues were out in the evening and Amsy and Paul were really great.

I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PebbleTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2009

This hotel is genuine, lovely and a pleasure to stay in. I've never felt so welcome in a hotel before and I'd definitely stay there again.
The room was very comfortable, breakfast was beautiful and the owners were friendly and helpful. You could not hope for a better stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aynsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We stayed at Motel Schmotel in August and just loved it. I just wish we could have spent a few more days there… Really nice rooms with perfect care of decoration and details, very friendly and relaxed welcome, gorgeous breakfast, fantastic location —close to eveything but very quiet little square— and very reasonable fare. We'll be back, that's for sure! Thanks Amsy, Paul and kids, see you next year!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

I stayed with my partner and a friend for just one night and we had a wonderful stay at Motel Schmotel. The rooms are modern and stylish, and we had plenty of room for three people. Amsy and Paul are warm, easy going hosts and the breakfast was absolutely delicious (we opted for Full English)! It's centrally located and an easy walk to all the local sights, like the Pier and the Lanes from Russell Square. We will definitely stay here again when we're next in Brighton and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Motel Schmotel to anyone looking for accommodation in Brighton.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepyanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.1 mi away
Brighton Inn Boutique Guest Accommodation
0.0 mi away
Churchill Brighton
Churchill Brighton
#43 of 94 in Brighton
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whitburn Lodge
Whitburn Lodge
#25 of 94 in Brighton
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#38 of 94 in Brighton
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.6 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Schmotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Schmotel

Property: Motel Schmotel
Address: 37 Russell Square, Brighton BN1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on pretty Russell Square, smack bang in the centre of it all, you will be 2 min. walk from the main shopping centre, Brighton's fantastic beach, car parks, The Lanes, Hove and The Brighton Centre for gigs and conferences. All our rooms are en suite (en suites refurbished in May 2008), with clean fresh bed linen, fluffy white towels, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk. Free view and Wi-Fi are in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motel Schmotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Schmotel Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing