We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't look any further”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel Schmotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Motel Schmotel
Ranked #35 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saarbrücken
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't look any further”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

You can't go wrong here. Must have been one of the smallest rooms I ever stayed in, but it was newly refurbished, nicely decorated, lovely bathroom and with all the necessary amendities. Enjoyed lovely breakfast in bed. Perfect location since very close to beach, lanes and shopping centre. Lovely hosts! Would go there again!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reiselustig79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    174
    55
    19
    12
See reviews for
59
437
35
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

MM38
London

22 Dec 09. Just returned home following our third stay at Motel Schmotel. Great to see that Paul and Amsey continue to put so much hard work and love into this great little place. On arrival we were welcome with hot mulled wine and mince pies.
We opted for a small double again as we found it perfect for our needs last time. The bed is comfy, ensuite spotless and room altogether well designed. On our second morning we tore ourselves away from breakfast in bed to experience their new breakfast room and have "Breakfast on The Beach!"
Motel Schmotel is the perfect base for experiencing Brighton. The beach (very cold this time!) the shops and the Brighton Centre where we had a fab time skating (and falling) on the indoor ice rink!
Merry Christmas Paul and Amsey and Happy New Year!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

We stayed here in the king size room for 2 nights in January and really enjoyed it. I booked Motel Schmotel based on the Trip Advisor reviews, so I had high expectations. These were all met.
We were welcomed by Paul who was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay, recommending restaurants and places to go based on what we said we liked to eat and do. The room was quite spacious, with a huge, comfortable bed, tasteful furniture, a fridge, tea & coffee facilities (and Penguin biscuits!) and a flat screen TV and DVD player. Everything was very clean. The bathroom was a small but perfectly formed, it really wasn't a problem. We had breakfast in bed both days, trying different things off the menu and it was all lovely and very filling.
I would definitely stay here again - it's a lovely place for a bit of style on a budget, in a great location with a very friendly welcome.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohhellospain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

foreword: although we were not the best guests and did have some issues this review is written as impartially as possible.

arrival at the motel schmotel was on a terrible icy winters day but was made warm by the invitation to help ourselves to mince pies. the place is pretty hard to find without satnav and would probably benefit from a larger sign, the room itself (1) was of a nice size and well decorated the biggest issue with the accomodation was the size of the bathroom which although usable was by no means up to the size i would expect for a larger double room.
the other issue was with the location of the room itself because the accomodation is built in to a town house we were unfortunate enough to have the room that was next to the main entrance and though this is handy for getting in quickly and quietly we were awoken by the coming and going of the other guests especially in the mornings. ( no chance of a lay in ).
we attended for breakfast on the first morning and although hungover from a heavy night we were unimpressed by the breakfast considering the amount of reviews mentioning it and also the point of the AA listings on the hotels website.

on the plus side the location of the motel schmotel was fantastic although very close to all the shops and shopping centres the square it is located in was very quiet, there is also loads of parking locally and at fairly reasonable prices.

my partner and myself have stayed in different accomodation over the years visiting brighton and feel that this hotel was average.

p.s. i am pretty sure that the owners may know who this review is written by and feel we should appologise for any inconvienience we caused and was a little to embarassed to appologise in person upon leaving.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank frankyp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

We popped down to Brighton for a romantic break just before xmas - and Motel Schmotel was just right for us. It was very cold when we arrived so we were pleased when Paul greeted us with a glass of Mulled wine - he also added a small bottle of bubbly when we told him it was our anniversary; a nice touch. The room was bright and quirkily furnished, the whole place has an arty feel. The breakfast in bed was delicious and we found Paul and his wife very friendly. There was massive snowfall, so we decided to stay another night which was not a problem at all and we were offered the same rate as the thursday night, when it should have been a weekend rate.
All in, we would highly recommend MH and would love to go back in the summertime!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyMessias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2009

Called up last minute due to the catastrophe of Eurostar's attempt to poop on our short X-mas break. Very friendly and accommodating from the start. Flexible for us and on arrival the room was brilliant. Excellent use of space and really close attention to detail in the decor. I really liked the fun, relaxed vibe that came from the place. Brilliant communication so that we could text our breakfast orders in and have breakfast in bed.

The breakfast was amazing. Massive fresh wedges of toast, the parsnips and vegan sausages were so filling. Useful advice about where to go, how to get to places.

DVD player broke and a new one was in our room in a jiffy.

Also on arrival the bedroom tea cups were accompanied by chocolate Penguins....... Ahhh, the little things in life......... I also really liked the milk jug shaped like a cow, and the elephant cookoo clock.

I would really recommend it if you're looking for a friendly, interesting, well decorated, fun place to stay with close proximity to the best parts of Brighton

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2009

This is our third time at Motel Schmotel. We go to Brighton for a small break away from London, and even at this time of year it was fantastic. With our 3 boys we are always welcome and looked after.
The new rooms are as wonderful as the others and the decor in the breakfast room is fun, warm and welcoming. Everything is so nearby, it's in a perfect location.
The owners are so lovely and helpful.
We look forward to going again, hopefully in Spring!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cecil House Hotel
Cecil House Hotel
#61 of 97 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oriental
The Oriental
#11 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whitburn Lodge
Whitburn Lodge
#23 of 97 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#14 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Schmotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Schmotel

Property: Motel Schmotel
Address: 37 Russell Square, Brighton BN1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on pretty Russell Square, smack bang in the centre of it all, you will be 2 min. walk from the main shopping centre, Brighton's fantastic beach, car parks, The Lanes, Hove and The Brighton Centre for gigs and conferences. All our rooms are en suite (en suites refurbished in May 2008), with clean fresh bed linen, fluffy white towels, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk. Free view and Wi-Fi are in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Motel Schmotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Schmotel Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing