We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, cosy, welcoming with loads of love..”
Review of Motel Schmotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel Schmotel
Ranked #35 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 May 2010

After much searching and looking at many reviews, i would have to fully agree with all the postings on trip advisor about motelschmotel! I spent a weekend solo in Brighton and after cancelling one night originally because of time restraints, I rebooked the second night as soon as I arrived! I cannot sincerely congratulate Paul and Amsy on such a successful B & B. I felt like I was at home with the warm hospitality, fabulous information...funky rooms and decor...bright and colourful...just felt like I was at home~!! Thanks guys as you have put so much effort and love into an experience that I will never forget and i assure you I will rave about you when I get home to Australia. I just loved the boiled eggs with the smiley faces and tea cosy!! :) For other travellers..the only other place I could make similar is the Beehive in Rome..just gives you some comparison. Great location, good price and fabulous breakfast. :0 10/10

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeybee7651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
There are newer reviews for Motel Schmotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2010

We booked in at the Motel Schmotel for two nights on the 25th & 26th April after reading the fab reviews on Tripadvisor and were delighted that our stay lived up to our expectations! We were met by Paul who gave us a great idea of places to eat and drink in the area that had been tried and tested.

Our room was clean and colourfully decorated and the bed was huge.

We opted for breakfast in bed both mornings which was great little touch when dealing with a hangover and the food was scrumptious! We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelbo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We have travelled a fair bit and stayed in many small hotels. What we will say sincerely is that this was central to everything you need, clean, and the service offered was fab.. We would highly recommend this to anyone for a great comfortable stay in a fabulous resort.
Thanks Paul and Amsy x

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexLoubilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

I have just returned home after a lovely stay at the Motel Schmotel. I must say that I totally agree with all the wonderful things people have said about this B&B before me; it is absolutely an amazing B&B. In fact, it is the best I have ever stayed in. I love everything about it - the location, the service (Amsy and Paul are the best host couple ever, thank you so much for being so very helpful and nice), the rooms (small, but cozy), the decor, the breakfast. I will definitely stay here next time I travel to Brighton. Undoubtedly, you need not look any further for a B&B, choose this one.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel1484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Lovely little B&B in a great location. We had the back room on the ground floor which may be a little on the small side for some, but we found it just right, especially at £65 per night! Amsy & Paul are very pleasant and the breakfast is lovely. Hopefully we'll be back later in the year.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Eastenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Just had a great weekend in Brighton where we stayed at the Motel Schmotel. Just loved the very friendly atmosphere and very comfortable room. Our host Amsy recommended some great local eateries and things to do. Completely loved the breakfast in bed - a luxury definitely worth repeating ! Schmotel is brilliantly located close to all good things in Brighton - we are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevtobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

From start to finish our stop at Motel Schmotel was a complete dream.

Perfect location, beautiful décor, delicious food and more importantly two completely lovely hosts in Amsy and Paul who went out of their way to cater for our every whim

Quite literally a home from home.. we will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweepie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Churchill Brighton
Churchill Brighton
#44 of 94 in Brighton
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#12 of 94 in Brighton
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whitburn Lodge
Whitburn Lodge
#23 of 94 in Brighton
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Paskins Town House
Paskins Town House
#20 of 94 in Brighton
512 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grey's Hotel
Grey's Hotel
#16 of 94 in Brighton
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Schmotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Schmotel

Address: 37 Russell Square, Brighton BN1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £69 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on pretty Russell Square, smack bang in the centre of it all, you will be 2 min. walk from the main shopping centre, Brighton's fantastic beach, car parks, The Lanes, Hove and The Brighton Centre for gigs and conferences. All our rooms are en suite (en suites refurbished in May 2008), with clean fresh bed linen, fluffy white towels, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk. Free view and Wi-Fi are in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel Schmotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Schmotel Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing