We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab weekend stay during Pride!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queensbury Hotel
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab weekend stay during Pride!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From reading some of the reviews we was dreading our stay during Pride but were pleasantly surprised... and will be returning next year!
The staff were all friendly and welcoming. Check in I thought was quite late but they let us leave our bags in a locked dining room whilst we waited at the local bar (I highly recommend Medusa along the street opposite the hotel, stawberry and lime Rekordling comes with strawberry and lime DELICIOUS great music and lots of food places around!) the main high street for shops (primark, topshop etc) is only a 2 minute walk away as well.
Breakfast was basic (as expected) but plenty of it, all fresh juice, bread for toast etc
We was the 3rd floor, no lift...no guilt for missing the gym! Fantastic view over the sea/garden and no noise complaints.
Only complaint is there was no mirror in the bedroom so between 3 girls was a pain but other than that I slept well all weekend!! Thank you!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 - great sea view, looks like a new shower room and no noise complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    70
    56
    34
    37
See reviews for
63
76
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Lets start with the pros:

The hallway and breakfast room was nice....

Cons:

Wet floor...
Extremely loud hotel guests until 5 in the morning..
Shower and sink in the twin bedroom with only half wall to separate it!?
Other hotel guests were smoking weed
It smells. Bad. Like damp and dodgy food...
Customer service was crap!!!!!
Beds were springy and uncomfortable


Hmmm.. Yep, I think that's it!

Room Tip: Don't go with the room with a shared communal toilet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A hotel / B&B not far from the seafront. It was slightly tired in places but not a bad price for somewhere central in Brighton in the summer. Our bedroom was a decent size and had an ensuite. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin_Mc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, MI
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Queensbury for two nights. The hotel was okay but not manged very well. The one bright side is that Carly did an excellent job with helping us. She was fairly new there but went above and beyond with directing us to dinner, etc. Five stars to Carly!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tornadomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

we booked this said Hotel at the last minute for a 2 night break, the 1st time in 20 years my husband and i have been away without the children, for just under £200 e as expecting a hotel not an outdated bedsit, it was meant to be a superior room, chandaliers etc, it had none of this, the whole place is outdated, very scruffy inside and out, l, i think the hotel part is a mis print and as meant to spell hostel, we were on the very top floor, it as so stuffy that at 5.30am sunday morning we went out. total waste of money and spoilt our whole weekend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I read the other reviews on here and was dreading my stay - but actually it was quite pleasant.
I stayed in the family room which is quite plain but well equipped with a double and single bed, wardrobe, dressing table and more mirrors than you could possibly need.
We did find a spot of blood on the mattress which was a bit gross but apart from that all was good.
Breakfast is simple but there's loads of it - cereal, toast, ham and cheese.
For the price it was ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Awful! We went here for a boozy night in brighton so didn't want anything special just somewhere to lay our heads. Well we arrived to an entrance that smelt like gone off boiled veg, we were given our keys by a scruffy t shirt & jeans guy which like I said it didn't bother us as long as the room was clean. We went to our room on opening the door it smelt dust but again so what its just a place to sleep.
The bed had the Fresh blood stains over it, black curly pubic hair all in it, my friend looked like she had a poo splash on her bed.
The bathroom, was ok actually clean just a few pubes in the shower but we didn't care about that just wash them away.
The coffee cups were brown and big chips no spoons for stirring drink.
None of the electrical appliances were PAT tested so use at ur own risk.
All in All we are not fussy and have stayed in some right dives but this tops the lot. Its not even hostel standard.
This place would only be fit for back street brothel usage. Im not joking its disgusting! Check out my other reviews im not a moaner. But We paid £100 for a 3 person room I wouldn't of paid a fiver I would of rather slept in the car or beach. Even if ur reading this after booking on a .com site get a refund, forfeit ur money. I feel like after sleeping in that bed im gonna need an mot from the clap clinic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lianne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.2 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#22 of 44 in Brighton
1,266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
2,174 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queensbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensbury Hotel

Property: The Queensbury Hotel
Address: 58 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queensbury Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Queensbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing