We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect guest house for a few nights away.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kemp Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kemp Townhouse
Ranked #31 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect guest house for a few nights away.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Booked this hotel for our recent stay in Brighton for the marathon.

Staff very friendly and helpful, room clean and tidy with attention to detail.

We booked the tiny double and it is tiny, wouldn't recommend for anyone over 6ft tall but cannot fault on this alone as we knew in advance what we had booked and it served our needs perfectly.

Breakfast on both mornings or our stay was excellent, good quality food and service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vix-K76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Owner at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Vix

Thanks so much for staying with us and for sharing your thoughts. We very much look forward to seeing you again.

With best wishes,

Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    115
    49
    21
    8
See reviews for
35
321
44
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Had a fabulous time staying at Kemp Townhouse with my daughter - we wanted to hit the Lanes and vintage North Lanes of Brighton for some retail therapy time, so staying at the Kemp Townhouse was perfect location - day 15 mins walking distance to everything we needed.

The room, facilities and attention to detail equal some of the best 5* hotels that I have stayed in all over the world - Nespresso coffee machine, homemade complimentary bisques, dressing gowns, slippers and 'quality' shower gel, body lotion etc.

Breakfast was excellent -offering the traditional full english, eggs benedict, florentine and also a vegetarian option - superb - the complimentary 'smoothie shot' of the day a lovely touch.

Congratulations to Kemp Townhouse on excellent customer service and happy helpful staff.

Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Teri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Owner at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Teri,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing such a lovely review. The team were really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

With best wishes,

Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed last night in room 002. Very warm welcome, was upgraded and the room was decorated nicely.

What I would say is that on arrival the glass of the front bay window next to the front door was filthy as it was in our room and the breakfast room. Various light bulbs in the dining area were out and whilst I'm sure it was perfect when it opened they just need to keep on top of those small jobs. The plants on the small breakfast room balcony were also dead and the pavement directly outside was littered with rubbish.

The breakfast was lovely as we're all the staff we encountered.

I probably wouldn't stay again due to the size of the rooms however a little TLC and I'm sure for one night most people would stay and be happy here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DamienDavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Mr Davenport,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write you review. I'm glad to hear you liked your room. In regards to the other points mentioned, they are well appreciated and taken on board. But would just like to clarify that we do have a company who cleans our windows twice a month, and due to the recent weather, as you can understand wears out very quickly. This will be rectified immediately however. We do have many other larger rooms should you want to revisit us, as we would very much be happy to welcome you back again. Thanks again for you comments, highly appreciated.

Kind Regards
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had high expectations and weren't disappointed. The welcome was professional, the room was stylish and had nice touches throughout. The only comment I would make is that I'm not that keen on wet rooms and prefer a bigger bathroom, but having said this the finishes were good, the shower was good and it didn't detract from the experience. Staff were friendly, breakfast was good, bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. We had an early wake up call due to noisy dustbin men at 6.30 am on a Monday morning!
All in all, we'd stay again.

Room Tip: We had a 4 poster room and whilst it's not a 4 poster as I think of one in an old traditional ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Richard,

Thank you for your time to write this review and thanks so much for such kind words. We were honored to have you stay with us and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon again.

Best Wishes,
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I had a brief overnight stay in Brighton planned. Just myself so I booked a small single room at the Kemp Townhouse, Brighton's only 5* Guesthouse.

My room was tiny (they highlighted this) - very like a small ship's cabin - but the room was stylish with a comfy bed, neat wet room, desk and everything you'd need if you're in for a short stay.

The breakfast made it. After an early morning run along the seafront, the staff served a lovely breakfast with a complementary little smoothie to take your mind off the full English guilt.

I probably wouldn't pay full price for a short 12 hour stay but with a latebookings discount it was lovely to stay in a private cool guest house seconds from the seafront.

Room Tip: The small single is definitely a single!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnOs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for your time in writing this review. I am please to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Just returned from a great weekend in Brighton at the Kemp Townhouse.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming, whilst the room was very stylishly designed and the bed extremely comfortable.

A generous choice of cereals and pastries at breakfast was complemented by an excellent selection of hot dishes.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carbonguilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, General Manager at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear carbonguilt,

Thank you for staying with us. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we very much look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Had a lovely stay at the Kemp Townhouse. Good attention to detail, the port in the room, slippers & bathrobes. Loved the décor in the bedroom and in the breakfast room, very tastefully done.
The breakfast was delicious , lovely touch having a smoothie of the day.
Staff were very helpful and friendly.
Unfortunately the only downside was the bathroom was also a wet room, the water never drained away after having a shower so the floor stayed wet all day.

Room Tip: If you want a have some sort of view ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasperCasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Owner at Kemp Townhouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed the extra touches and we look forward to seeing you again.

With best wishes,

Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#15 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.2 mi away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kemp Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemp Townhouse

Property: Kemp Townhouse
Address: 21 Atlingworth Street, Brighton BN2 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Kemp Townhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kemp Townhouse: "Brighton chicest new hotel. The IndependentKemp Townhouse offers luxury boutique accommodation at affordable prices. All 9 bedrooms have stylish en-suite wet rooms and boast their own individual features such as bay windows with sea views, beautiful antique fireplaces, free standing bath or indulgent four poster beds. The Regency style listed property is found in a quiet location, just off the seafront, close to the beach as well as restaurants, shops and Brighton’s thriving nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kemp Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemp Townhouse Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing