We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be warned! NOT good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grapevine Seafront
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I stayed here with friends and we were left devastated by our experience. The staff were unhelpful and impolite, our room was dirty and our door could be opened with just a quick shove, no key needed. The windows were stuck open so we all enjoyed the sounds of Brightons nightlife until 6am even though we'd retired to bed hours earlier. For the price I'd expect far better. The location was no more than a silver lining to a very dark and gloomy cloud.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

A terrible hostel. We had rubbish pilled up outside one of the rooms we had, a door that didn't lock, pillows and duvets that were falling apart and a wire mesh rather than a window in our room. All in all a terrible experience and I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATP_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

A truly abysmal establishment. The staff are rude and very unhelpful. The building is dilapidated and tiny, with the rooms an absolute disgrace. There was no power from the sockets to charge a mobile telephone, bed bugs rampant with litter strewn around. The room did not lock either and could be opened without a key, which would echo the sentiments of others who have been the victims of crimes here. Overpriced in the extreme, £35 for a bunk bed for one night potentially with strangers. I would urge people not to stay here. The small crumb of comfort, amongst a sea of crumbs, is the location. It pains me to say it, but the location is excellent, and if you are on a stag/ hen weekend you could probably make do.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbaAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

After calling to advise we would be late due to traffic we arrived to find no one at the hostel. We waited outside for an hour until the security guy appeared with our keys - not a great start!
But our room was separate from the main rooms & reception - right on the sea front. 2 minute walk from the pier with restaurants, bars and clubs all on our door step. Perfect location for Pride!
We stayed in a 2 bed private room with shower & loo for 2 nights. Room was clean - towels, bedding etc in room. We were free to come and go as we pleased which was handy as both nights we didn't get in till gone 4am!
A bit noisy and not much of a view! But overall the stay was pleasant and to be fair you get what you pay for - it is a Hostel after all!
Would advise to park at Marina where you can park for free - we parked in the central multistory and paid £25 for just over 10 hours!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

It was a terrible trip. We arrived about 15 minutes late due to traffic and the woman on reception was so rude to us. She tried to refue us entry, then reluctantly allowed us to pay (£70 a night for a twin room). She then made us wait a further 1o minutes whilst she moaned at her colleague about all the other guests and how hard her job was! The room key we were given was broken, and I had to practically force someone to come and help us. The room was tiny, the window only opened a crack, looking out over a concrete wall covered in seagull waste. The bathroom had a bath, but no plug and the shower was just a hose, not attached to the wall, meaning we had to crouch in the bath and hose ourselves down (again, £70 a night, minimum 2 night stay!). It was vaguely clean but I wouldn't say spotless. All the other things wouldn't have mattered had the staff not been so rude, unpleasant and unwelcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louedwards87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here for a hen weekend in June 2011. We had requested 2 No. rooms for four people in each, but when we arrived we were all lumped into one room together. That's right - 8 women in one tiny room with bunkbeds and only 1 bathroom/toilet between us!

The room was at the top of the building, so it was a long walk up there, with no lift.

The bathroom was clean but the shower was just a trickle of water, and the temperature of the water was so hot it scalded us. The cold tap did not appear to work!

The rooms were clean which was a pleasant surprise, and the views were outstanding, looking out onto the sea.

HOWEVER - the worst part was "Buddies Bar" downstairs. It is a 24 hour bar which kept us all awake each night of our stay. Not just loud drunks, but taxis beeping their horns, and police sirens. I would really recommend taking earplugs.

I would not recommend for anyone to stay here, unless youre a group of blokes who dont mind slumming it a bit, or you are a backpacker.

Even though it's cheaper than most other hotels, it's really not worth the money!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank SuzHasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I booked The Grapevine because it was seriously cheap (£15 per person per night) fo 8 girls for 4 nights. Then I read the reviews and wished I hadn't. However, IT IS NOT AS BAD AS PEOPLE ARE SAYING. If people think it is bad they clearly haven't been to many hostels. You get exactly what you pay for, which is exactly how it markets itself, 'budget accomodation'.

We didn't have an en suite but had 2 showers and 1 toilet shared between 3 rooms. Which sounds like a nightmare but really wasn't. It was clean and the showers were hot. Only on the last day did we find ourselves having to wait for toilet / shower as people were starting to arrive for the weekend.

Our room was very basic, but for £15 what are you expecting. The bedding was clean and the bed very comfy (although we did have to stick things under the bed steads to stop the bunks wobbling). We had a sink and mirror so didn't have to use the communal bathroom for that.

Becasue we stayed midweek the noise level wasn't too much of a problem, however I can see that if you stayed at a weekend it probably would be. We took earplugs / mp3 players and all slept fine. Again, if you book a hostel in the middle of the bar / club area of Brighton it's not good expecting a peaceful stay! The location really was perfect. Near all the bars, straight opposite the beach, 15 min walk from train station. Ok there is no parking, but we pulled up outside the hostel to dump our bags then parked in the train station car park. Easy!

Every member of staff was perfectly pleasant and helpful.

As I said, if you are looking for a cheap and convenient place to stay for a good hen / stag week this place is absolutely fine. If you are worried about the noise, take ear plugs = problem solved. Worried about sharing a toilet, take antiseptic wipes = problem sorted. I would stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostelpoint-Brighton
Hostelpoint-Brighton
#38 of 43 in Brighton
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home Brighton
Home Brighton
#19 of 26 in Brighton
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smart Brighton Beach
Smart Brighton Beach
#20 of 26 in Brighton
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
#3 of 26 in Brighton
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baggies Backpackers Brighton
0.2 mi away
YHA Brighton
YHA Brighton
#2 of 26 in Brighton
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grapevine Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grapevine Seafront

Address: 74-76 Middle Street, Brighton BN1 1AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Brighton
Price Range: £15 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grapevine Seafront 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grapevine Seafront overlooks the vibrant and popular seaside between Brighton's two famous piers. From here we offer shared rooms for 2, 3 or 4 guests, with showers and toilets conveniently located just outside the rooms. Private rooms also available with en-suite showers & fabulous sea views. Our relaxed and friendly team is always ready to welcome you and to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay in our vibrant and diverse city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Grapevine Seafront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grapevine Seafront Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing