We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grapevine Seafront
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Loved the location here,right on the famous Brighton Waterfront. Of the room on the first floor above the bar/restaurant I was not impressed. Stayed in summer last year and suffered with the noise from below, well into the wee hours and by then it was time to get up! The six bunk room it self was clean and comfortable and the bay window superb to people watch. May be better by now but the lack of Wifi in the room was annoying. More so as it was available in the office and kitchen/lounge both of which were apparently closed at around 9pm until 8am. May have changed by now of course. The staff and fellow guests were all very helpful and friendly. Trying to find my way around difficult as the corridors all looked the same! Would stay here again but not above the bar!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the room above the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwiolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

We booked to stay in Brighton for a Birthday and didn't want to spend to much on accommodation as we would be out most of the time. We came across the Grapevine on Hostelbookers and paid £35 per person on a friday and sat night. We read the reviews on TripAdvisor after we had booked and was slightly worried. When we got there, we checked in and seen the room. We had a 6 person dorm with ensuite. The room was clean but very basic. We had a seaview as well which was a bonus. We had a great weekend. The hostel is opposite the beach and seconds away from all the night life. Not sure what all the fuss is about on tripadvisor but we had a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Keys didn't work in locks, smelly, stained mattresses (bogies all over the mattress too..nice) , broken showers, some cages broke, filthy windows and sinks, one shared toilet between..??!! Rude staff (one was anyway) god help if ever there...Shower are in a bad state of the old cabin should be replaced
Must be improved cleaning staff personal sheets on the bed should be clean and change often...not refund money if you canceled to stay in this crappy hostel:( I have changed the hostel after complain not hot water after two nights I found a better hostel after I did not receive money back although I had paid for a whole week.never again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TOMPUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Booked into Grapevine as part of a 6 person hen party.paid 30 quid each per night so really didn't expect the ritz,but Grapevine does what it promises.its a cheap bed for the night smack bang in the centre of Brighton.so easy to get to all the clubs and restaurants.can't beat the location.some people have complained about the noise outside,but for hens,stags and birthday parties it really doesn't make a difference once you've had a skinful.the 24 hour cafe downstairs was actually a god send for us,we sat down there for an hour or so at 4am before going up to bed at the end of the night and came straight back down for a fry up first thing in the morning!the rooms are basic and grubby,with way too many beds crammed in,but if you need somewhere cheap who cares?!the pillows were thin and the duvets were pointless but we were there when the weather was sweltering so none of us complained.the only real issue we had was a lack of power sockets -only one for a room of up to 8 people.the bathroom was grotty and the shower was rubbish but it wouldn't ruin anyones weekend away.we actually found the whole experience very amusing,we did however feel sorry for the poor french girl who was put in the room with us even though I had explained that we were a hen party when I booked the room and the guy on the phone had even joked about expecting "a rowdy lot"!for anyone booking this who wouldn't want to be in the same situation as that poor girl maybe request not to be bunked in with any hen or stag parties....

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHepworths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed in a few hostels over the years but this one wins hands down on grot factor. Keys didn't work in locks, smelly, stained mattresses (bogies all over the mattress too..nice) , broken showers, some cages broke, filthy windows and sinks, one shared toilet between..??!! Rude staff (one was anyway) god help if ever there was a fire there! Sleep on the beach..its comfier..and quieter!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grabonzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Very nice and clean hostel with helpful staff. They provide a weekly rate and a box in the kitchen for long term stays. They often hold events like Fajitas night and they serve a free Sunday Roast.
Good Wi-Fi signal. We met some very interesting people during hour stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Despite being close to The Lanes, Brighton Pier and the City Centre, the hostel surrounding is quite sketchy and home to a few pubs/bars/clubs. It gets really noisy at night till around 1-2 am and it's fine after.

The room was crowded with bed bunks and you can barely move around properly inside, what more with your luggage (if you have large ones and don't really need them, just leave them at the reception if you're staying for a short time). The pillows are really thin. The beds are thin. Make sure to just clean your bed, just in case if there's anything. The bathroom smells as there's no ventilation. The shower has a window directly looking inside, but there's a shower curtain. The whole building is congested, stairs are really narrow, again, just leave the big luggages at the reception if not needed.

Overall,
The staff are friendly.
The location is great.

Noisy at night, can't sleep.
Congested rooms.
Not so good toilet and shower.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shurraj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostelpoint-Brighton
Hostelpoint-Brighton
#38 of 43 in Brighton
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home Brighton
Home Brighton
#20 of 26 in Brighton
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smart Brighton Beach
Smart Brighton Beach
#19 of 26 in Brighton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
#3 of 26 in Brighton
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baggies Backpackers Brighton
0.7 mi away
Seadragon Backpackers
Seadragon Backpackers
#6 of 26 in Brighton
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grapevine Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grapevine Seafront

Address: 74-76 Middle Street, Brighton BN1 1AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Brighton
Price Range: £11 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grapevine Seafront 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grapevine Seafront overlooks the vibrant and popular seaside between Brighton's two famous piers. From here we offer shared rooms for 2, 3 or 4 guests, with showers and toilets conveniently located just outside the rooms. Private rooms also available with en-suite showers & fabulous sea views. Our relaxed and friendly team is always ready to welcome you and to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay in our vibrant and diverse city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grapevine Seafront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grapevine Seafront Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing