We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay, but not great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of A Taste of Sahara

A Taste of Sahara
Ranked #22 of 1,113 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Lebanese and Persian restaurant on Brighton���s busy Western Road, Taste of Sahara gives seaside dwellers a taste of the exotic at a very reasonable price. With its d��cor created with care to reflect the atypical Middle East of story books and holiday brochures ��� all pierced tin lanterns, heavy wood and rich colours ��� Taste of Sahara has a look which reflects the diverse flavours of its immensely flavourful menu. From kebabs to tagines, all one���s Middle Eastern favourites are offered by the Sahara kitchen, along with some lesser known dishes that will tempt the more adventurous diner. In particular, the restaurant���s mezzes prove popular, the sharing concept somehow suited to this kind of cuisine, particularly when accompanied by the BYO policy.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Okay, but not great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nice meal here on Friday night, didn't book but was able to be seated quickly.

Lovely friendly staff, but, food was only a little above average.

Great that you can BYO and food was reasonably priced.

Not sure I would go again I'm afraid.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newtotravelnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    119
    31
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent, affordable, fresh food...a great dinning experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked for a hen party of 19 and had a brilliant time! The contact with the owner/manager from the initial inquiry through to booking through to payment at the end of the meal was easy, friendly and enjoyable-thank you Sabri! The service from the other staff was attentive, quick and equally as friendly-quite a task on a very busy Saturday night! The was food was lovely and we had a selection of sharing platters which made the meal feel really communal and eliminated the need to pre-order lots of different meals. The food was fresh and really well cooked, very tasty and lots of the hens commented on how lovely it was. The decor and atmosphere were great, something a bit different for everyone I think. As a bonus we could take our own wine which added to the affordability of the experience. I would absolutely recommend for a similar occasion :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hen Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hen party of 35 - we had an excellent time, good service, food and worked really well with the platters of food for the evening event. Lots of comments from guests on how well it all worked out. Would recommend for another similar type of event. Thank you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

had the pleasure of dining at this little gem in the boarders between brighton and hove. service was simply amazing with food quality to match I am pleased to say

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simon-darcy-ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

great, fresh food - wonderful hospitality - flawless. Have been twice and normally expect a deterioration in the second visit! Not here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Taste of Sahara also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to A Taste of Sahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing