We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous BBQ'd kebabs”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A Taste of Sahara

A Taste of Sahara
Ranked #22 of 1,113 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Lebanese and Persian restaurant on Brighton���s busy Western Road, Taste of Sahara gives seaside dwellers a taste of the exotic at a very reasonable price. With its d��cor created with care to reflect the atypical Middle East of story books and holiday brochures ��� all pierced tin lanterns, heavy wood and rich colours ��� Taste of Sahara has a look which reflects the diverse flavours of its immensely flavourful menu. From kebabs to tagines, all one���s Middle Eastern favourites are offered by the Sahara kitchen, along with some lesser known dishes that will tempt the more adventurous diner. In particular, the restaurant���s mezzes prove popular, the sharing concept somehow suited to this kind of cuisine, particularly when accompanied by the BYO policy.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous BBQ'd kebabs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I love this place, easy and relaxed and bring your own booze too. The guys that run it are really friendly and accommodating and the food is simply amazing. I say that though of the ten or so times I've been I only ever had the Sultan's Mixed Kebabs. Although a friend went with me for the first time said the lamb chops were the best he's ever had in his life and he's a really fussy eater!

You only need to see the other review to know what a great restaurant this is.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    119
    31
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent for a hen party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a table for about 16 people for a hen party. The food and service was great and everybody had a fab time. We were definitely in high spirits, but the other diners didn't seem to mind, and even laughed and joked along with us which added to the excellent atmosphere. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better than Morocco!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I looked this up on here before coming to Brighton from East London. This is our last night for our visit and this restaurant and the food is very flavoursome with the right combination of spices. I had the chicken tangine and my partner the lamb, could not fault anything. Staff very welcoming and friendly. We will be defiantly be returning here when we come back to Brighton. Well done.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 38Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a difference a change makes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

What a difference a change makes! Our last visit to Sahara in Western Road was a tale of woe, and we really had the hump... we had always loved this restaurant, but we felt staff and standards had let it down last year. However, we decided to try it again as we knew that new staff had been brought in, and we had heard good reports that there was a change in the air.
Happily, it's back on top form again. Immediate welcome, attentive staff, sweet waitresses and a real management presence once again.
We were given time and not rushed, and as it's a BYO we had brought a couple of light reds, and had helpful advice on what to match them with. The mezze platter was stunning and huge - we loved the lamb parcels, the stuffed vine leaves and potato harare especially.
There was some lovely touches too: fresh flowers prettily displayed; a jug of water and fresh mint was topped up regularly; the front doors were left open at the front and there was a cool breeze on a hot Brighton evening!
For main courses we went to the Specials: Rouz Dajaaj - breast of chicken cooked with fresh garlic and coriander and served in a balti sauce with saffron rice. Loved the heart-shaped rice! Excellent, spicy and moreish.
The Shish Tawouk, grilled skewers of chicken marinated in garlic, lemon juice, olive oil, yoghurt, was very light, beautifully cooked, and the portion was fantastic for £10.95. The special sea bass dish cooked on charcoal also sounded great.
Staff were lovely but discreet, well managed by Mr Irwin who has worked there before and runs a tight ship. And a packed restaurant on a Tuesday night attests to its return to form. Will we be back? Absolutely. It just shows what a restaurant can do with a change of staff and decent management direction.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith_TripTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
184 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great food and Super Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We eat here as a party of four including one child. The staff were very friendly. The food was excellent and tremendous value. It was busy and I would advise anyone going to this small and atmospheric restaurant to book. It really is a delight to eat there. We shared the mezze banquet 2 of us veggie, 2 not. There was heaps of food all of which was very tasty. The byob policy is good and amazingly , no corkage charge. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who loves good , simple and tasty food. I will come again

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank paulgarynixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Taste of Sahara also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to A Taste of Sahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing