We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything we needed for our stay.”
Review of The Downs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Downs Hotel
Ranked #78 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“everything we needed for our stay.”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My partner and I arrived tuesday afternoon on a lovely day and had no problem parking. We were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to our room right away. Lovely bright room with everything you need. Very warm at night, comfortable sleep and had en-suite with a hot shower. The floor of our room was rather squeaky, which didn't bother us as such, but did cause us to concern about those around or underneath us. (There wasn't a view from our room as we faced the carpark, but we didn't go there to go gazing out the window, so we weren't fazed by this at all.)
Although above a pub, it did shut by 11pm, so no problem with any noise. In the morning we had a choice of breakfast which was included in the price of our room, we chose to go for the full english and was not disappointed. Very delicious. Had it with a very well made cup of tea too :)
We were thanked upon leaving and given a very friendly farewell.
For us it was everything we needed. A comfortable nights sleep and friendly service with good food. Will definitely stay again.
Location was great too, only a 20 minute bus journey to the sea front. Bus stop was across the road from the pub too which was rather handy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    47
    44
    35
    42
See reviews for
37
66
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here 1st March with my two daughters following a great evening seeing the Overtones at Brighton Dome :). It's a straightforward pub with ample parking. We booked a room for three but were kindly given a room for four so we all had our own bed; four-poster double and two singles. The room was comfortable, warm, decent bathroom, tv. Looked onto the main road but that was no problem. There is a bus stop right across the road & the bus takes you into Brighton centre. The cab back was 12 pound, after midnight & about 15/20 minutes so happy with that. Lovely breakfast in the morning. The staff we encountered were all pleasant & helpful. This hotel was just right for our visit & I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just got back from a good weekend at the Downs Hotel. Food and service were excellent - my friend Mandy and I were taken to our rooms straight away. We had a really good portion of fish and chips in the bar there when we arrived on Friday. Breakfast was excellent - cereals, toast, fruit juices, coffee or tea and 7 other items (tomatoes, mushrooms, bacon, eggs, hash browns, beans and a sausage) included in the full English breakfast - better than another hotel I stayed at last year. The pub has a nice relaxed atmosphere with good views over the Downs to the sea on a clear day. Rooms were really clean and everything in the rooms was in perfect working order. Slept well on 2 out of the 3 nights. Only down sides - shouting and banging from other residents particularly on Saturday night when I was kept awake until 3 am, also shouting and swearing from other residents on Friday night around 8.00 p.m. Also was kept awake a little by traffic. Would just like to politely request that in order to accommodate families with children that it could have a no swearing policy upstairs and that if people go to bed late or come in late from pubs elsewhere that noise upstairs be kept down to a minimum.

Room Tip: For want of a perfect night's sleep ask for a room not overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sightseercumrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

do not go there! 1st room was so small we had to unplug bedside light to plug in kettle which had to balance on a chair.no heating! staff packed up all our personal items and moved us to another room while we were out! 2nd room better but still no heating or hot water! there was a peeling damp patch in the ceiling.Went to breakfast and asked for a pot of coffee,unheard of.eventually brought out a pot that was covered in dust!when I complained waitress came back with a damp cloth and started to clean the dust off,which was falling into my breakfast and she didnt like it when I asked for a fresh one!Most items seem to be the lowest and cheapest quality they can obtain. bed was so low it was difficult to get out of and the mattress was so thin,that our legs were banging against the wooden side all night.Corridor door slammed every time someone passed through until early hours.evening meals were short on choice,but excellent value.except for when I ordered steak and trimmings and emphasised I was allergic to mushrooms and please do not give me any.the meal turned up with mushrooms.Admittedly it was taken away and completely redone,and the chef apologised which was very good.We were allowed the meal free as compensation It was a pity that the very dated accomodation was not of a better standard. By the way,check the sell by dates on the sauces,the mint sauce pakets were 9 months out of date!

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilobrighton, Owner at The Downs Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We are very disappointed by your comments, however we do firmly believe that feedback is vital to help us improve our business and so we thank you.
I would like to add my own comments to yours. I am unsure why you would unplug the lamp to plug in the kettle as it is a double socket, and the kettle did not need to be put on a chair as it is already on a small round table. You complained to our staff that you wanted to change rooms as you were not happy and we were keen to put this right. We did move your belongings because you went out and the only other room we had suitable meant we had to accommodate other guests in your room and it would need to be serviced. We did tell you that we would move you over, however there must have been a miscommunication as we thought you would pack your own belongings, normally we would NEVER touch anything. I am sorry you were given a tea pot not a coffee pot, we offer cups of coffee and do not normally sell coffee in pots. I must respectfully disagree with your comment about our breakfast being of low quality, our sausages are locally sourced ( Sussex, usually a farm in Ditchling)& our beans are Heinz. I haven't ever had a comment about the bed being low, however after this review I went and laid on the bed and it wasn't the most comfortable of beds.
Thanks to your comments and me lying on the bed I am happy to confirm that we have bought a new mattress for that room its a deep filled orthopaedic one and is super comfortable. There are only 2 other rooms in your wing and no passage way other than to get to the other 2 rooms, I can only assume that the 3 people staying in the other rooms kept coming and going in the night. Our menu offers over 14 main dishes and usually 7-8 daily specials however our chef is always happy to cook anything you wish provided we have the ingredients, I may add this to our new menu so guests are aware that we are happy to cater for your special requirements. I checked all of the sauce sachets and my goodness on the mint sauce you were absolutely right 2 months out of date, totally unacceptable, thanks to you it got us thinking and we are completely doing away with the sachets and offering guests proper bottles of Heinz ketchup etc... and special sauces such as mint sauce are now served with your meal in individual ramekins. I do feel the title of your review is unjust, we are not perfect but we really do strive for perfection and all comments are totally taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

my fiance(suffering from 3 brain tumors), myself, and baby Zachery(10weeks old) and 4 dogs were moving back to Brighton from Yorkshire to be around family to support us through my fiances illness. we arrived back in Brighton too late to collect the keys for the house couldn't stay at family as they had no room and also had animals themselves. but the Downs had room for all of us. and no ordinary room a 4poster bed, cot, and bits for the dogs, and the best bit seeing as my fiance is a Yorkshireman a cold pint of john's smith to mellow him out after a 6hour drive xx again many many thanks
xxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: only saw the one room and it was lovely. looking towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My friend and I recently stayed at The Downs Hotel and at a glance we were very happy. We walked into the very welcoming, friendly bar/pub and was greeted by friendly staff. The rooms were spotless and the decor was beautiful. We were both very happy with the rooms and the price, then the following day the breakfast just topped our stay. We will definately be returning soon and I have recomended this hotel to my family and friends

Room Tip: The four poster bed rooms I feel were the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Reasonably Priced especially to say where it is located, Good Hospitality and the rooms are of a fair to good quality and nice and clean, Breakfast is Excellent and the landlady is good looking which always helps, I would certainly stop here again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigarfo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
3.4 mi away
Cecil House Hotel
Cecil House Hotel
#62 of 94 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Gather Inn
The Gather Inn
#43 of 94 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
2.8 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#64 of 94 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge
Innkeeper's Lodge
#54 of 94 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
5.7 mi away
Clifton House Brighton
Clifton House Brighton
#65 of 94 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.7 mi away
Waynes Place
Waynes Place
#53 of 94 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downs Hotel

Property: The Downs Hotel
Address: Warren Road | Woodingdean, Brighton BN2 6BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Downs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Downs Hotel is set on top of a hill overlooking rolling countryside down to the sea. We are family run and pride ourselves on offering guests a warm welcome. With a bus stop outside that takes you into the centre of Brighton within 15 minutes you can leave your car in our FREE car park and enjoy our beautiful city leisurely. We have a traditional English bar which is popular with locals and has a pool table & darts board. We serve a variety of beers & ales (inc locally produced ones), alongside this our inviting restaurant offers homemade traditional dishes, and our head chef Brendan creates some wonderful weekly specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Downs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing