We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
51
54
52
39
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
54
52
39
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared facilities four poster bus stop brighton centre rottingdean pounds
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We arrived on the Friday after booking a superior double room with ensuite in January. The room was actually a twin room as the room we expected doesn't exist despite being FALSELY ADVERTISED on 3 online booking sites for an expensive cost. It is NOT the online advertisers responsibility to make sure your rooms are correct on there IT IS THE DOWNS HOTELS MANAGEMENT THAT SHOULD CHECK ITS CORRECT . They did however put a double mattress on the 2 single beds pushed together. On the Saturday morning I had a coffee using the kettle on the floor as there were no plug docjers elsewhere and then we went down for breakfast which was bland and unappealing ... so glad it was free as not worth paying for. As we left to go out the housekeeper asked if she could clean our room so I let her in as we left. On returning the quilt had been put back crumpled on the bed and the pillows were still exactly how we had left them. My coffee cup and jug of milk were still on the side and no replacement anything had been left. I put the cup and milk outside the door and it was still there when we just left today (monday). The view out front was lovely but was on a very busy loud crossroads. The other side window and bathroom window both overlooked the sloping car park so therefore the curtains couldn't be opened as everyone wad at the level to look in. The whole experience was very disappointing and I would not recommend here at all.

The management need to take a good look at their customer service housekeeping and how their property is FALSLEY ADVERTISED.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank julierT8489CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

We came here today as a group of 9 with 6 of them being children. The newly refurbished dining area looks lovely. The adult of our party had the chefs special carbonara, and a cheese burger. Both of which were amazing, and very filling. The children’s meals were big and their clean plates say all that needs to be said. They were very good value for money. All finished off with ice cream sundaes all round. Thank you for a lovely lunch!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

There are good and bad parts to be said for this place. It’s cheap and has parking compared to expensive places in Brighton centre. A regular bus from outside takes about 15-20mins into centre. Taxi back about £11-12.
The sheets and towels were clean and beds comfortable. The shared bathroom was a bit rough around the edges, mouldy in places and reminded me of a camp site.
There was a lot of loud banging doors quite early in the mornings which disturbed the sleep. ( Along with the seagulls outside, of course expected at a seaside resort but the room was too warm not to have the windows open ).
We did discover an old pizza box, kebab tray and fish and chip wrappers in the cupboard under the sink in the room. And a pair of socks from the last person?
Breakfast was pleasant, not the best but the the worst either.
It was fine for a weekend away if it’s just a place to crash whilst enjoying the rest of Brighton.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank allyallymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here on the 8th until the 9th and made good use out of the hotels great location to have a wonderful day out in Brighton, catching the sunlight. The pints are lively, the hotel is situated as it’s own bus stop name so is easy to locate by bus and there are regular connections going into and out of Brighton town centre. The bus ride is approximately twenty minutes away from the pier- great! The room was nicely made up and there was enough space for two, we thoroughly enjoyed the range of channels on the TV and after a long day out was able to find our favourite programme to our surprise. There was an alteration with the booking due to Google’s missdvertisement but when we arrived, the owners dealt with this in a professional manner which we were relieved with as we were confused ourselves with how the matter may have been handled or whether we would lose the room or have to pay surplus. I don’t think some of the previous reviews are fair, considering this is a family run local business you are bound to get punters visiting and this is what makes the pub much more homely. All of their food, we noticed, was handmade and it sounded quite nice although we chose to skip on dinner due to the blazing heat. The hotel is next to very handy shops, including a co-op, a fish and chip bar, a petroleum station and an Indian take out store. I think me and my partner would come here again, even if we paid the full price of the room, because it is homely and a nice atmosphere and the rooms were actually cosey. We didn’t have any issues with shared facilities and this is clearly included in the description before you arrive so I don’t think it’s fair to judge them for this as it isn’t a massive deal. I’d say overall, perfect for a weekend stay and ideal for couples or a lads weekend maybe.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hazellouise1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Staff and owner very friendly ,room was clean but no soaps and shampoo.Tea making items in room. The public rooms could do with an extra clean the breakfast was fine .This pub has great situation could be a wonderful place to stay,needs to be updated a bit
As i said the owner was very nice and the staff friendly and helpful ,we fined we never get every thing we think we need but nice people are a bonus

Room tip: choose the room with 3 beds
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jean h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews