We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotel experiences, thank you Stefan!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Pier Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Pier Guest House
Ranked #36 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best hotel experiences, thank you Stefan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I feel compelled to write my first ever review, as feel that some of the comments are a bit unfair, since the Grand Pier is advertised as a guest house, not a luxury 5* hotel.

My boyfriend and I spent one night here, and our expectations were not very high after reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but it was bank holiday weekend and finding an affordable room in a central location would have been a challenge, so we decided to go for it anyway.

As soon as we arrived, we were welcomed by Stefan (the manager) who was expecting us, and showed us to our room straight away.

Our room was a standard double, although small, very clean and tidy, dark modern furniture, egyptian cotton sheets and an absolutely immaculate bathroom. My boyfriend also manages a hotel, and he can be quite thorough, but he agreed that everything looked new and spotless.

When we came back from dinner, we were in for a very nice surprise!
Stefan knew that I was celebrating Easter that week according to my religion, and we were amazed to come back, and find that he left a bottle of wine and a card in the room for us, to say Happy Easter! What an incredibly nice gesture!

The location couldn't have been better, exactly opposite the Brighton Pier, 5 minutes walk from the bar/shop areas, so it was very easy for us to go out and enjoy the evening out, and not have to worry about a long walk back or taxis.
We didn't really need it, but we noticed a Tesco Express literally a minute away, which can be quite handy for longer stays.

We had a very good sleep, the mattress was comfortable and the room temperature was just right.

The next morning for breakfast we found a vast selection of yogurts, cereals, orange juice, tea, coffee, as well as the choice to go for a full english, which we did. Stefan went out of his way to make sure all the guests are happy, and even offered to make new toast for us, as I am a slow eater and he was worried that the first one got cold!

In the breakfast area, we could also hear the other guests talking about the nice experience they are having at the Grand Pier.

Overall, I can honestly say, after travelling throughout the UK, and staying in various places, ranging from 5* hotels to small B&Bs, that the Grand Pier is one of those places that rises to the highest standards in terms of service quality, but maintains a personal touch that makes you feel like a guest, rather then a customer in a hotel. Next time we're in Brighton we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Thanks again Stefan, and looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ofelia861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    78
    23
    9
    12
See reviews for
32
150
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights as we were running the Brighton marathon. We were a bit worried as we had struggled to find anywhere with availability but these fears were completely unfounded. The room was a good size, clean and Stefan was an excellent host, who went out of his way to accommodate us.

The previous year we had stayed at one of the big hotels on the sea front and struggled with traffic noise - not a problem here. The location is excellent for exploring the city.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room, which was a good size for a guest house. Didn't struggle at all wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Booked a room here online last year for Goodwood Festival of Speed but when we turned up they said they didn't have our booking, despite my having email confirmation (and I had called ahead to say we would be arriving mid evening). This on one of the busiest weekends in the year, arriving at 9pm on a Friday evening! To be fair to them they refunded us on the spot, were very apologetic and tried very hard to accommodate us in another nearby property (which I refused) and they offered us verbally a free stay next time we were in Brighton. But inevitably the promised email never materialised...

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Smithies_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for one night, we booked the day before.
The location was great, close to the shops, restaurants and attractions.
The room was comfy and clean. Advertised complimentary chocolates, which was a 'fredo' the frog bar - bit strange but never mind!
The breakfast was nicely cooked, although we had a little bit of trouble making the young man serving understand.
If we come down for another weekend, I would certainly use this guest house again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruciebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I booked the Grand Pier the day I was due to arrive in Brighton and got a great deal. I wasn't arriving til late in the evening and Stuart was quick to ensure that I had his contact number in case I arrived after the doors were locked. When I arrived,Stuart had very kindly upgraded me from the room that I booked and I was impressed with the room. A nice touch to have bottles of water and a sweet treat,and there were tea and coffee facilities also. I was out for the evening and was really just there to sleep,which I had no problem doing. Breakfast was great in the morning and I can not fault Stuart's hospitality. The location is great and I would happily return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank car0_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

booked in at the Grand Pier Guest house and for £100 for a night i was expecting better. we booked online and i must say it looked very pleasant.the review said it had been recently refurbished this must have been in 1948 as our room was very tired we had trouble seeing through the windows they were so dirty. the light had live wires showing also everything was thick with dust.the sheets on the bed were stained. we never even unpacked we found a very pleasant hotel two streets away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 674PAUL_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

just got back from grand pier.stayed 2 nights.room was ok.bit warm...but cant compain really as the weather was rather cold.stuart who runs it,made us very welcome and cooks a lovely brekkies.no parking but didnt expect it.cheap parking down the front by the wheel.someone mentioned it smells of smoke there.i am a non smoker and would soon moan if i smelt it.i couldnt.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#13 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Brighton
Sea Breeze Brighton
#23 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Snooze
Snooze
#12 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bannings at Number 14
Bannings at Number 14
#10 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pier Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pier Guest House

Property: Grand Pier Guest House
Address: 11 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pier Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Pier Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pier Guest House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing