We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky gorgeousness!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artist Residence Brighton
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed as our daughter was running the half marathon and is at uni here. We've tried many of the Brighton hotels, with some success and some real duds. Really wish we'd had more than one night -the welcome was friendly and easy, our room was perfect (not sharing that as it'll get too booked!) and we had a wonderful view towards the sadly depleted West Pier. Breakfast, which is included if you book direct, was a triumph of mini-yumminess with fresh local ingredients and small-batch coffee. We will definitely return and even said that when our daughter graduates this year, we'll make excuses to come back. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hi Melsky

Thank you for your wonderful review, we look forward to seeing you again and hope you manage to find lots of reasons to visit in the future! We are glad your enjoyed our new breakfast menu!!

Don't forget our returning guest discount :)

Kind Regards

Chamane & The AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Lovely old building in site of the sea, shops round the corner.
Great friendly staff and excellent breakfast included in the price.
We were staying for 2 nights and here worked out about a 1/3 the cost of Hotel du Vin!
£35 to stay in car park opposite.

The only downsides were every time I turned over in the night the bed was so creaky it woke my wife, and the shower was poor.

Recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms are described honestly. A "tiny double" is indeed tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hi Graham T

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Artist Residence, sorry to hear about the bed and the shower, this is something we will look into.

Hopefully see you again in the future, maybe you can try one of our larger sea view rooms next time :)

Kind Regards

Chamane & The AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I booked this quirky hotel for Valentines weekend/Brighton Tattoo Convention with my boyfriend, and we could not have wished for better! The brilliantly decorated room was compact but with everything we needed to hand and a gorgeous view of Regency Square and the West Pier. We received complimentary drinks in the hotels cocktail bar which we had in the comfy lounge room, and set our evening off nicely!. The breakfasts on both mornings were outstanding (free as we booked direct) and served in the lovely setting of the gallery. The staff were all friendly and couldn't have been more helpful! The hotel location was excellent, with everything you need in walking distance.
We will definitely be back again soon!!!

Room Tip: Book direct for the free breakfast and ask for a sea view...well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahmina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hi Tahmina I

We are glad you and your Boyfriend enjoyed your valentines stay in Brighton, we are very lucky to have such a beautiful view our to the sea front!!

See you again soon, make sure you take advantage of the returning guest discount!!

Kind Regards

Chamane and The AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This B&B is suitable for anyone of any age who likes attention to detail. It combines arty, with quirky and traditional. The staff, service and location are excellent. Great place, Great location, Great service, Great attitude. Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend (Feb 2014)
When booking I phoned to request 2 of the “arty rooms”, and when we first checked in I was slightly disappointed that both couples got “traditional” style rooms. Nonetheless the accommodation, service, staff attitude, style, décor etc etc could not be faulted and to quell my disappointment they offered us complimentary breakfast. Our rooms looked out over the garden to the sea (23 &25, 2nd/3rd floor) but check that the lift is working if you have heavy bags. Bed really comfortable. Everything was just that bit better than most B&Bs/Hotels, even down to 2 sets of hooks in the bathroom!! Fresh water and biscuits every day. Even though AR was fully booked the staff were relaxed and nothing was too much trouble, we got back too late on the Saturday night to take advantage of the bar, but the staff had no hesitation to satisfy my needs for a cup of coffee and a piece of cake!! The bar manager had also gone out of his way to obtain a couple bottles of cider for my husband. Brighton is a fantastic venue for a break it has something for everyone, lots of arty places, shops and galleries, so many restaurants and cafes and when we visit again we will definitely stay at the Artist Residence (AR)

Room Tip: If you want arty/quirky ask for email confirmation to avoid disappointment. Room 23 on 2nd floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitewitch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hi Whitewitch13

Apologies that you did not get a chance to experience our Arty rooms but we are glad that you enjoyed your stay none the less.

We all take great pride in providing the best possible experience for our guests and are really happy that you we're not disappointed with our hospitality.

See you again for some more cider and cake!

Kind Regards

Chamane & The AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Original wood floors, vintage chairs and decor, a beach shack bar, what's not to love !
we we're originally meant to stay in November but I broke my leg, after they were so polite and understanding in giving a refund we vowed to return. Once we did we had one of the most enjoyable experiences of any hotel we've ever stayed in ! we enjoyed the company of the barman whilst we drunk cocktails, The rooms are well decorated along with nice fixtures/fittings and of course the murals on the wall are just astonishing. The breakfast choices were unique and amazing, american pancakes with yogurt and berry compote yum ! all of this for £63 for two people on a Thursday night. Stay here, not doing so will be your biggest mistake !

Room Tip: No special view to the rear rooms, the standard doubles aren't particularly spacious but didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TogunRaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hi TogunRaby

Thank you for your review!

We are glad your stay was worth the wait and that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future, perhaps you can try one of our larger sea view rooms next time!

Kind Regards

Chamane & The AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Possibly the best hotel experience I've had in the uk. This hotel is full of character - it's clear that a lot of love has gone into creating, not only the rooms, but the whole adventure of staying here. There are imperfections in the building, but they only added to the overall character of the place for me, and never had a negative effect.

Loved the cocktail shack - definitely a place to go for a cheeky pre-evening drink, and Ally knows his creations really well.

I would advise booking directly through the hotel as the rooms are completely individual, and they might be able to help you find the one which suits you best. I stayed in the Mel Sheppard room.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank C_M_W_B187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hi C_M_W_B187067

Thank you for your kind review!

We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the design and experience we have created.

We hope to welcome you again soon for some more of Ali's cheeky creations :)

Kind Regards

Chamane & the AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Living and working in london, the man and I decided Friday morning to take a weekend break to Brighton, its an hour or so from where we live so it was an easy decision where to go.. booked on booking.com (- go direct!! you get a free brekkie!) so no free brekkie for us, although it did look and smell delish! the hotel and rooms are beautiful and quirky and the lady on the desk was so helpful and friendly. We walked the lanes, had dinner at Bills and had an amazing short break.. only problem - met wind warnings. As we had a balcony on our room, my decision when booking, we could hear the wind howling all night, thank goodness the bed was so comfortable otherwise that could have been the worst the nights sleep of my life. If you're into quirky and friendly staff, this is the place, its a short walk to everything and parking right on your doorstep, you cant go wrong! now, i have just received my 10% off voucher for my next visit, which I will be booking again, as soon as I finish this review...

Room Tip: Dont take a room with a balcony, the wind will keep you up all night - although we did go when the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puddle_Jumper88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hi Puddle_Jumper88

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and managed to sleep through the awful weather Brighton was having!

Be sure to book direct next time so you can try our breakfast and maybe try the balcony again once we have some brighter weather :)

We look forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards

Chamane and the AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,091 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 43 in Brighton
1,042 reviews
2.2 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 43 in Brighton
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Residence Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Brighton

Address: 33 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2GG, England (Formerly Malvern Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range: £92 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Artist Residence Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun and quirky rooms with imaginative design, featuring award-winning cocktail bar and two restaurants in a unique double-fronted townhouse hotel in the heart of Brighton. Located on the seafront in historic Regency Square this hotel is a 10 minute walk from Brighton train station. Dine at one of Brighton's best restaurants The Set, which features seasonal British tasting menu's, or opt for the more casual Set Cafe for a selection of small plates and craft beers. Each of the 23 guest rooms at Artist Residence are either individually designed by an artist or by the house and feature vintage and retro furniture, limited edition prints, graphic murals, flat screen TVs and en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms have sea views overlooking the West Pier. All rooms and communal areas have free Wi-Fi and there is also a ping-pong room which doubles as a meeting room. In addition to being a home-from-home and unique place to sleep, The Artist Residence serves as a gathering place and hub of community activity for locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artist Residence Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing